Squared Tofu – What to do with Deep Fried Tofu: A quick recipe

Tofu Squares

These are tofu squares. In fact, it is Deep Fried Tofu, available from any Asian or Chinese Grocery.

For a quick snack, pan fry without any additional oil. Sprinkle with Sea Salt (preferable Celtic Sea Salt) and black or white pepper.

You can eat them as they are, or top them with grated carrot and daikon, and some bean sprouts. I like them on their own.

Eat. Enjoy. Yum.

Namaskaram.

From The Tofu and Paneer  Series


More Food, Cooking and Eating:

Net Friends Lunch with Danyse Soup Veges A Tomato Fetish This month in my Kitchen Rice Rolls Albino Tea Broadbean Pate Play nice with Rice Beach Channa Chat Happy New Year No Knead Focaccia

You Might Also Enjoy:

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 10 Mid Spring, Asian, Fast Food, Tofu, Yoghurt and Paneer, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Squared Tofu – What to do with Deep Fried Tofu: A quick recipe

  1. Suganya says:

    Hello VegeYum, Thanks for visiting my blog. I was searching for an ID to mail you, but couldn’t find one. Answering yr question, Thiruvadhirai falls on the 24th Dec this year, based on our Lunar calendar. I hope this helps :)

  2. shivapriya says:

    I get tofu but never tried this. sounds interesting, I’m not sure about eating plain but sounds good to put in a curry as this will save sometime from frying tofu and also some extra calories.:)

  3. bee says:

    gosh, gal, you make tofu look so glamorous.

  4. VegeYum says:

    Hi sivapriya, yes it would go great in curries, or even floating in a plate of soup! Make sure that you get “Tofu Puffs” or “Fried Tofu Squares” for this. Yummy.

    Hi bee, yeah, tofu is definitely under rated. I really like it.

  5. Bordeaux says:

    I’ve been craving tofu this whole week but could not think of something to do with it. Now I know. To the grocer I go.

  6. Pingback: Divine Cumquat Marmarlade « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  7. VegeYum says:

    Bordeaux, so glad I inspired you. Looking forward to hearing the results. VY

  8. milz says:

    VegeYum, thanks for visiting my blog. I followed to your blog and I love it!

    It’s funny, I am just exploring the variety of fried tofu in my Korean Supermarket. This is something you can get hooked with. They are so delicious that I couldn’t even write about it… I first had to digest :-) I’ll let you know when I have it posted.

  9. VegeYum says:

    hi milz. I am enjoying learning more about Korean food from your blog. I agree with you – you can certainly get hooked on all kinds of tofu. Love to know when you have posted it. Thanks for visiting.

  10. foodieguide says:

    Yum! We had fried tofu puffs yesterday, in a Chinese hot pot meal that I did at home. They’re my vegetarian husband’s favourite! Have a look at the photos – under How to Make Chinese Hot Pot…Helen Yuet Ling

    I have only just caught up on your comment, after all this time! Don’t you just love tofu puffs. I will revisit your post.

  11. Camila says:

    wow — thanks for linking to my blog! I’m glad you liked my goofy little recipe.

    I have been absolutely loving your travel pictures, by the way!

    I love your blog camila. Love reading all about your (mis)adventures! And yr explorations in food. Thanks for your lovely comments about my pics. I get such enjoyment out of reliving my travels.

  12. A-kay says:

    Thanks for linking my grilled / baked tofu. Love your pan-fry tofu – your pic is so nice. I wish I can eat it right NOW!

    Hi A-kay, we will have to stop meeting like this :-). I love fried tofu.

  13. Pingback: April, 2003. Sweet Chilli Sauce. Combing through The Archives | Heat in the Kitchen

  14. Pingback: September, 2001 and October 2003. Two Marvellous Tofu Recipes. From The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  15. Pingback: May, 2003. Tofu, Black Cloud Ear Fungus, Asian Herb and Sesame Salad. From The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  16. Pingback: The Rolls Rice: A Recipe for Cooking Rice Rolls (Banh Cuon) | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  17. Pingback: April, 2002. Tofu Burgers. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  18. Pingback: November, 2002. Tao Hou Tod (Fried Fresh Beancurd with Sweet Nut Sauce). From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

