This Past Month in My Kitchen in Review

Navrati

Coffee should be black as Hell, strong as death, and sweet as love

Turkish Proverb

This month, thanks to my new consultancy work that will take me right through to mid year next year. Nice to have a break from the multitude of activities that running your own business entails. Thanks so much to all involved in obtaining this wonderful work.

This month I (re)discovered …

  • How long it takes to get an Indian visa.
  • Stillness is a difficult journey.
  • Sydney! Oh Sydney I love you so! 4 days is not enough. I missed seeing some of my friends who were out of town, but did spend serious time with my brother and his family. Cooking. Walking. Talking. Being.

This Month …

  • This past month (actually, in October), it was Navratri. Hindus have festivals each week, nearly. Navratri is 9 days of being mindful of the feminine in each of us (my interpretation), and worshiping the Goddesses. Blessings from Navratri.
  • It was also Diwali, as anyone who reads any Indian blog will know. At Diwali, here we light a multitude of lamps, and eat stacks and STACKS of very sweet and ghee laden food. Diwali blessings for everyone. Diwali (for me) is about letting go of the old and lighting the way for the new in each of us. There are many many stories associated with it, but I like to simplify everything, and, for me, this is its essence.
  • This month I will have to go on a diet to get rid of the effects of very very sweet and ghee laden food which is a must during Diwali.
  • This month I have worked so much harder than in previous months. It is unusual for me to work in an office from 9 to 5. Three to four days per week. As a consultant, I am usually dashing into a client’s place, making a difference, dashing back to the office to make phone calls, write emails, send invoices, stirring the curry on the stove, then out again to another client. For the next few months I will be based at 1 client’s site.Not only that, I am walking to work and home every day. Oh, my body is thanking me.
  • This month has completed all of the big planning for my trip in January to Cambodia and India. Now just all those little things, what to take, organising for the plants to be watered, the mail to be collected…… I am so excited tho. See here for information. This is my third trip with Gurudeva’s monks. Watch the video – some of the photos are mine from my last trip.

Fast Fast Food

  • S A L A D S
  • Dinner at a friends place :-)

Hints and Tips for This Month

  • Check this out – a blog by Angela Turner that gives you restaurant-style good practice hints and techniques for the kitchen. She also has a web site. This link is a list of what to keep stocked in your kitchen. Place it on the fridge or on the inside of a pantry door.
  • Got a cupboard full of spices that you never use? Small remains in the bottom of a container? Nearly at their used by date? I love to mix all of these together in a small pot by the stove and I occassionally sprinkle a little into whatever non-Indian dish I am cooking. It gives the food an elusive flavour, hard to identify and difficult to replicate. People love the difference. And it uses up the spices.

Favourites from This Month in previous years

Gradually as this site develops, these recipes will appear. They are favourites from my old old site (see About). If you are desperate for any of them now, let me know and I will make them available.

  • Fresh Tomato Soup (adapted from Woman’s Day Step by Step Cookbook), 1102
  • Onion Salad 1198
  • Tao Hou Tod (Fried Fresh Beancurd with Sweet Peanut Sauce) (adapted from South East Asian Cookbook)1102
  • Potatoes with Cumin 1196
  • Saag Aloo (Indian Spinach and Potato dish) 1196
  • Potato Pallya (Nilgiris Sydney Indian Restaurant) 1102
  • Griddle Scones 1102
  • Baked Strawberries 1198
  • Any fresh fruit juice combination, with some fresh ginger. 1198


Possibly Related Posts:

This Month in My Kitchen September This Month in My Kitchen October


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Cucumber Salad Simple Tomato Salad - YUM Greek Deli Simple is Best Sydney - Observe Sydney here I come Zucchini Curry More on the Making of Teas Chickpea Chat This Week in November Dukkah

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in This Month, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to This Past Month in My Kitchen in Review

  1. kathryn says:

    What a lovely round up. Great idea about the spices – I’ve never thought to do that. However, I do have countless jars and packets containing tiny scraps of herbs and spices – I’m going to take your advice and join them all together. Thanks for that.

  2. Asha says:

    Great posts!! Love the wooden Devi there too. It’s called Diwali or Deepavali, we had such fun!!:))
    Enjoy your trip to India, never been to Cambodia. Have fun.

  3. The idea of spice powders is great! :) My daughter has sent me some dried herbs! After transfering them to my Tupperware containers, I forgot their names! So I use them as I like and this gives new taste to the dishes! :) The statue is lovely!

  4. VegeYum says:

    Thank you everyone! I am glad you love my Devi too. She is very special to me. Thanks for the correction, Asha – I will make that change. I am so looking forward to my trip.

    Enjoy your spice and herb mixes. I have done this for years now. Hate to throw anything out.

  5. swaroopa says:

    gr8 post!! enjoyed reading…

  6. hannehanne says:

    I love the idea of a monthly roundup. It’s interesting to see what you’ve been up to, and I imagine it’s nice for you too– you can accomplish so much in just 30/31 days! I can’t wait to see what you cook up next.

  7. Cynthia says:

    Sounds as if your life is full – in a good way. I’m happy for you and the consultancy that runs through to mid-next year, great!

  8. Please oh please keep writing! Your articles are wonderful!

  9. Maninas says:

    Your trip sounds wonderful! I’m sure you will have a great time!

    Hugs!

  10. Suganya says:

    When you write it down in one place, it is hard to believe that there are so many things happening at once. Have a great trip to India :)

  11. bee says:

    have a wonderful trip.

  12. That India/Cambodia trip sounds like its going to be a lot of inner growth.
    Wishing you the best :-)

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

