The drinking of herbs and juices: Recipes for drinks

Summer

It is hot hot hot HOT weather here. Summer. Dry. Today, as I write (a couple of weeks before posting), it is over 40 C for the third day in a row. Last I heard it was 42C. The forecast was for 44. Now that is hot.

But is so quiet in the mornings. There is something about hot weather that subdues noise. Have you noticed? The morning is so peaceful – but still full of joy and expectation for the day.

In those peaceful couple of early morning hours, my thoughts turn to what to drink during the day. Is there ice in the freezer? Spring water available? What flavour of drink for today?

Here are some of the beautiful things that I drink in summer. Some simple, some sweet, some salty and some spicy. Enjoy.

Simple lemon, lime and mint

Fill a large jug with water. Add two large branches of mint, 2 slices of lemon (no need to peel) and/or lime.

If you have a gorgeous unblemished red chilli, add that as well. It gives the water a lift but does not make it chilli hot.

If you have any around, add a little lemongrass, lemon verbena or kaffir lime leaves.

Chill and drink in the hot afternoon while lazing over your blog.

Watermelon Juice

When watermelons are cheap, throw a heap through the juicer with some mint. Add some ginger too if you like. Serve over ice.

Other juices

Any summer fruit combination through the juicer is wonderful. Herbs that can accompany the fruit are parsley, mint, lemon verbena, kaffir lime leaves, basil. Ginger. Slowly with the herb quantities at first until you are used to the combinations.

Peel oranges and lemons before juicing. Everything else goes in skin and all.

Summer Cafes

Iced tea

Make any herbal tea, make it quite strong, pour it over ice in a large jug and put into the fridge to chill. Serve with mint in the glass.

Ginger Cooler

Passionate About Baking put me onto the joys of making coolers out of ginger. Have a look at her post. Ginger is SO SO healthy, you wouldn’t believe. Have a look at just how healthy here. Then there is Cook Almost Anything, who wonderfully posted a ginger and barley cooler.

To make a hot day drink, simply seep a lot of ginger and some lemon grass in boiling water, add sugar, black rock salt (a pinch), water or sparkling mineral water, jaggery or sugar and the juice of 0.5 – 1 lemon or lime. Chill and sip in the heat.

The black rock salt really does make a difference, but is not strictly necessary. If you have some sea salt add a pinch of that. Salt will help to replace your electrolytes that you lose in hot weather.

You can add to this any fresh tasting herb – mint, lemon verbena, kaffir, basil, even a pinch of fresh parsley will be nice. A fresh unblemished chilli as above.

Or for a twist, add cloves, cinnamon, cardamom, even cumin. Star anise, fennel, liquorish root.

A pinch of ground black pepper.

Or just keep it very simple. Ginger. Black Salt. Jaggery. Lemon.

Quince Cordial

Back last autumn when the quinces scented my house most wondrously, I made some quince syrup. Now it has come into its own – with tonic water or soda water and a slice of lemon or lime. Luxurious. Pink. Delicious.

Salt Lassi

Here in Australia everyone knows the Mango lassi, but salt lassi is so unknown. I love it, and it has grown on me over the years so that I can’t drink mango lassi any more. I love my salt lassi. This is how you make it.

Take some yoghurt. If yoghurt in your region is thin, let it sit in some muslin for 30 minutes to drain off some moisture. If yoghurt in your region is sour, you might like to add a tspn of sugar to this recipe.

To the yoghurt, add a few mint leaves that have been chopped, and blend them together. Add 0.5 tspn of cumin seeds that have been dry roasted in a frying pan. Add salt, 2 pinches black pepper, 0.25 cup mild and mix. Add ice cubes and serve cold.

Jal Jeera

Take some mint leaves and grind them to a paste.

To 4 cups water, add salt, 2 tspns dry roasted cumin powder, 1 tspn garam masala, 0.25 tspn black salt, pinch red chilli powder, 1 tspn amchoor powder, and the juice of 1 lemon. Stir well. Add ice cubes and serve cold. Yum.

Some optional additions to Jal Jeera are jaggery or brown sugar (1 tspn), green chillies, fresh ginger, coriander leaves (cilantro) added to the mint when making a paste, curry leaves, replace the water with watermelon juice.

Other Great Coolers

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Gin and Chilli Golden Saffron Tea More on the Making of Teas


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Top Twelve Sambar Spices Eggplant and Miso Its a Wrap 071217-003a.jpg Gin and Chilli WoYoPraMo Bread Pumpkin and Red Pepper Soup Asparagus Pesto Thick Thick Yoghurt and Strawberries Yogurt and Feta Dip

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 01 Mid Summer, Spices and Herbs, Teas, Drinks and other liquids, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The drinking of herbs and juices: Recipes for drinks

  1. Namratha says:

    Yum, I’m thirsty now!!! Thanks for all the recipes :)

  2. Mansi says:

    Those are good, I made the Lime Mojito recently, and also the Beetroot-Cucumber and Ginger juice:) these drinks are so refreshing, I must say!:)

  3. sra says:

    Vegeyum, this is a really nice post. I do understand what you’re saying about summers seeming to subdue noise.

  4. maritasays says:

    These sound great. It’s supposed to be the cool season here, but I’m not experiencing any of that here in Bangkok, so will certainly be trying out some of these refreshing drinks suggestions.

  5. I’m going to SA in February..and I’ll be taking along all these recipes to do them there, February being the hottest month in SA…thanks for this post!
    Ronell

  6. Cynthia says:

    You have just made me parched and dry and longing for these drinks! Go to get my hands on some black salt.

    I have a ginger and lemongrass gingerale sitting in my fridge :)

    I have just got back from holiday, part of which I spent in Cambodia. It was H O T there. So I visited the local market (only non-local person there) and bought some ginger, lemon grass, kaffir lime leaves and limes. I borrowed a (blunt) knife from the kitchen of the hotel, and in our room, cut up chunks of ginger and lemon grass, added half a lime leaf and a slice of lime, put them into a tea cup and poured hot water over it. It was our afternoon drink of choice, and was very very yummy.

    When I got to India and asked for ginger tea, they knew exactly what I meant, and often added tulsi mint to it. Yum.

  7. hannehanne says:

    As a winter-sufferer at the moment, I should resent this post, but I don’t. Thanks for a roundup of great ideas. I’m saving them all for summer when I can appreciate them (the ginger cooler looks especially delicious).

  8. Neat idea. Lucky you at the beach!

  9. N Q says:

    This is my favorite one. Dhaka can hit up to 48 degrees in summer, and there’s nothing more refreshing than a cool drink. Something that i always have in the freezer is my concoction of pineapple extract (with pulp)+lime juice+beet salt+mint leaves+sugar+ice. Its very refreshing. You can even cut up grapes and put them in the drink.

    I absolutely live on fruits. I can never get enough of Bangkok’s Guavas. Amazing stuff I tell you. And something that is very popular in Bangladesh is mango juice. You take unripe mangoes, burn them in the oven. The skin peels off easily. Then you mash them up and put them in the blender. Add green chili paste (to your level of liking) and lime extract. You’re gonna have an olive green substance. Take like 2-3 tablespoons of that for one glass and mix with water, beet salt and sugar. We have festivals for these kinda drinks.

    You should come to Bangladesh soon, mango season starts in a few weeks :)

    Naureen.

    I can’t believe it can be 48! That is so H O T. I must investigate beet sugar, because I have not used that before. Your pineapple drink sounds very good.

    Also, I have never heard of burning unripe mangoes and using them as a drink WOW. So glad that you dropped by. I can see that we will have lots to talk about. Do you have a blog?

  10. N Q says:

    I do have a blog, but I’m not a blogger. I logged on to wordpress completely randomly, and I have that free blog that you get along with registration. However, if you want, you can email me at [removed].

    This beet salt thing might be otherwise known as black salt, I’m not sure. It comes in large chunks of brownish reddish blackish shade and you have to grind it…you can also get it ground, but I prefer grinding it just before I need to use it so that I get that fresh beet salt taste. It’s much like a tangier version of salt.

    Next time I’ll tell you all about the fascinating date juice and the different things you can do with it :)

    Naureen.

  11. Thanks for refering my post dear. Worth a try! And this post is a keeper for this approaching summer. Thanks!

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

