Take a Tomato: A recipe for soup

Tomato Soup

I must admit I love cooking with tomatoes.

I don’t eat them raw often, very willingly, although they can be nice. Yech. Too many poor salads as I grew up.

But they can be nice. Think tomato and avocado sandwiches. Think tomato and pesto salad. Think raw tomato tossed through hot spaghetti with a chilli and some olive oil. I do eat them raw, I guess, but I love cooking with them too.

Recently, I have been oven baking them into a wonderful sauce for pasta. For stirring through a vegetable hot pot. For baking beans in a la Tuscan Baked Beans (but use the juicy baked tomatoes instead of water). For use in curries. The juicy roasted sauce can be frozen as well, for use in some later delectable dish.

I bake them whole with a couple of slits made with a sharp knife. I bake them with onion, garlic, chilli, lime or lemon. Perhaps some herbs. They cook at 100C to 150C all afternoon on a cool day. Every couple of hours I give them a prod and a stir, and the tomatoes give up their juice and the accoutrements soften and collapse into the sauce. So Yummy. And they scent the house as they bake.

Hailing

Tonight, a thick, quick, Greek-style soup. The weather is turning cooler now. It hailed today. My soup genes were activated and as the wind howled outside, I sipped soup and talked to my daughter in London on the phone.

Tomato Soup

Ingredient Notes

I used some fregola in the soup; fregola is an Italian hand rolled and toasted rice-sized or couscous-sized pasta made from semolina. But it is not necessary – you can leave it out, use very small pasta such as Risoni or Ditalini, if you have children add some alphabet noodles :-), or use small Greek noodles.

Recipe Notes

I am not one for peeling tomatoes and removing seeds. In this soup it is the bulk that the gives it a rustic and wonderful texture and flavour.

There are two methods that can be used. My usual one is to chop the tomatoes into small chunks about 0.5 cm and use in the soup. Just before you add the stock, use your blender or hand held blender to zap the tomatoes, and magic – no skins.

The second method is to grate the tomatoes. This is a little known secret. Take your grater and place it in a large bowl. Using the larger grating holes, hold the tomato by the stem and grate. What happens is that the skin splits and does not grate, and the pulp of the tomato is released into the dish. You end up with just the tomato skin and stem in your hand, and you can discard these. The seeds remain in the soup but this is a Greek rustic soup and it is much better with the seeds in.

Rustic Tomato Soup with Feta

Source : inspired by The Glorious Foods of Greece
Cuisine: Greek
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 15 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
1 Tblspn olive oil
750g or more tomatoes, fat and juicy
1 red pepper, chopped into small pieces
1.5 – 2 cups water
handful of small pasta or tiny noodles (optional)
0.25 cup approx Greek feta, crumbled
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

method
Heat the olive oil in a saucepan over a medium heat and add the grated or chopped tomatoes. Cook for 10 – 15 minutes.

If blending is required for a smoother soup, blend in a blender or with a hand held stick blender.

Add the water and season with salt and pepper. Don’t over-salt as the feta will be a little salty.

Bring to the boil, and add the pasta or noodles if using. Cook until tender, about 7 minutes.

Add more water if the soup is too thick.

Serve hot or warm. Top with a drizzle of excellent olive oil and crumbled feta.

Cuppa Soup

This post goes to the wonderful Maninas from Food Matters, for her event One Perfect Ingredient. Want to enter? Check the rules and guidelines here.

[Update!] I won! I won! See the roundup of dishes here and the winners announcement here.

People are Saying:

Just in time for fall and the sore throat that showed up for me yesterday: Rustic Tomato Soup with Feta. Mmmm.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Golden Dal Its a Wrap 071217-003a.jpg Simple Tomato Salad - YUM A Tomato Feast Tomato Paella Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Recipe

More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Rainbow Pilgrim Hotels Baked Strawberry Eating in India Autumn leaves Pomegranate Salad Taking Stock Net Friends Girls at Coffee Yellow for Bri Tempting 7 Crumpet Recipe


About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 04 Mid Autumn, Capsicums, Greek, Soups, Tomatoes, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Take a Tomato: A recipe for soup

  1. Peter says:

    The soup is velvety and I can’t say anything bad…there’s feta cheese there!

    Peter, you have to know that you are the person who has turned me on to including feta a lot lot more in my day to day food. I have to thank you a lot. This soup with feta was amazingly good. The feta just melts into the soup and provides a wonderful creaminess. This one was from a good Italian shop, but I am looking forward to trying a lot of different types of feta.

  2. Maninas says:

    Hey, you could enter this in my One Perfect Ingredient competition and if you win the prize have the book posted to your daughter in London. :)

    Oh, I could! I hadn’t thought about entering due to the location restrictions.

  3. Maninas says:

    ps. I agree, feta is fantastic in tomato soup!

  4. Maninas says:

    The restriction is to shipping only, really, not where the blog is from. Sorry I didn’t make that clear enough…

    Email is flying through cyberspace to you as we speak. :-) Thanks for thinking about me and clarifying the conditions to enter.

  5. Anjali J. says:

    soup looks delicious.

    For five minutes work, you get amazing taste.

  6. Dhivya says:

    The soup looks – one word – “perfect”

    Thanks, Dhivya – it sure is. Try some tonight!

  7. Srivalli says:

    wow..lovely…I think all your tomato pictures are yummy!

    Thanks, Srivalli, tomatoes are so yummy – right now I have stuffed some with a rice and cheese mixture and they are baking in the oven. YUM.

    BTW I had the same problem with your URL, so fixed it. If you type “blogpsot” instead of “blogspot” you get a very different site :-( Personally, I dont think these URL-Look-alike sites should be allowed.

  8. Lore says:

    We have the same weather now and your soup sounds wonderful! Canned tomatoes will have to do because all raw tomatoes are gone and I’m to blame :).

    Canned tomatoes would work, I think. Different, but still delicious. The weather is amazing, isn’t it? Today was in the high 20s Celcius. Last week was hailing. Go figure.

  9. Jj says:

    Tomatoes are so versatile; always looking for more wonderful ideas like these that you’ve posted, so thanks much for sharing.

    And tomatoes are so good for you, too!! :)

    Tomatoes are so great, aren’t they? Tonight I had some baked stuffed tomatoes. They were so very very good. Much better than I expected. A salad, and some poached dates to follow and I was in heaven.

  10. Cynthia says:

    Did I ever send you the tomato choka recipe? I am sure that you will love it espeically since you’re into roasting tomatoes. Let me know if I haven’t and I’ll send it right away.

    I would love it! Thank you so much for thinking of me. I think you have my address. If not, I will email you.

  11. Pingback: Bread in an hour? You’re kidding, right? « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  12. sushma says:

    hey thats a soup which i can gulp in one shot.. nice and different

    You can! I was really pleased with the simplicity and the taste.

  13. Kevin says:

    That tomato soup looks so good. The feta would go really well in a tomato soup.

    It really was very delish, Kevin. I want to tell you that I enjoy the photos on your blog. Your tabouleh looks nice.

  14. Pingback: One Perfect Ingredient - THE ROUND-UP! « Maninas: Food Matters

  15. Maninas says:

    And… you’ve also won the cookery book! :) Check out my blog for more details! CONGRATULATIONS!

  16. Pingback: Holidays. Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup: A recipe. « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  17. Nagma says:

    Soup look very tasty. And you have very nice photos. Thanks for your recipes:)

  18. Marissa says:

    I think I’m making this soup for dinner tonight. Sounds like it would go great with some grilled cheese sandwiches. Just a question… where does the red pepper come into this recipe? I see it called for in the ingredients, but it isn’t mentioned in the instructions. Do you put it in with the tomatoes at the very beginning?

  19. Bumble Lush says:

    Beautiful presentation! I love tomatoes, cooked or raw, and I love soup, so I’m definitely going to try this recipe. :)

  20. Pingback: December 4th, 2011. Time for Summery Tomato Soup. And Parsi Sev. « Heat in the Kitchen

  21. Pingback: Feb 25th 2013. Easy Summer Cold Soup with Spices. | Heat in the Kitchen

  22. party planning says:

    excellent blog!
    I look forward to updates.

  23. Pingback: July 2002. Spicy Roasted Parsnip Soup, from Delving The Archives | Heat in the Kitchen

  24. Pingback: January, 2001. Madhur Jaffrey’s Cream of Tomato Soup. Muddling in The Archives. | Heat in the Kitchen

  25. Pingback: April, 2003. Pea Soup, Zuppa Piselli. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  26. Pingback: April 2003 and September 2000. Two Roast Pepper Soups. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  27. Pingback: Poritha Kuzhambu: Greens Soup with Tamarind. Straight from Tamil Nadu. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  28. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for October, Wherever You Are (Part 1) | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  29. Pingback: December, 1998 and October, 2003. Two Recipes for Roast Pepper Sauces. Romping Round The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  30. Pingback: January, 2001. Madhur Jaffrey’s Cream of Tomato Soup. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  31. Pingback: Taking Stock: A Note on how to Make Vegetable Stocks | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

