Bread in an hour? You’re kidding, right? : A Recipe for No Knead Focaccia.

No Knead Foccacia

Well, maybe not in an hour, but just over. This is the quickest bread recipe on earth. And you know what? It is delicious.

I am a great fan of the slow rise, no-knead bread that takes all day or more to prepare and cook. Not that there is much to do to the bread dough during that time, but sometimes, just sometimes, all that fore planning, well, you know…. I just want bread NOW. Fresh. Hot. Just out of the oven.

Well, it is possible.

This is another of the recipes I have made for many many years. It makes a great central piece to a Sunday lunch with friends or a Sunday dinner in front of the TV.

I bring it to the table just out of the oven, two flat focaccias steaming and smelling of that wonderful just baked bread smell, sitting on a large bread board, placed in the centre of the table.

Serving Notes

The bread, sitting in the middle of the table, can be sliced, or cut into wedges or chunks, or if you cook it really really thin, allow people to tear a piece off to dunk into their food.

Serve my Beautiful focaccia with a bowl of home made soup.

Serve with a wonderful, filling salad with delicious juices that ooze over the plate and just ask to be soaked up by some hot fresh bread.
Oozing Juices
Serve surrounded by wonderful bread-toppings. Hummus. Home made strawberry jam. Olives. Thin slices of tomato. Fresh ricotta. Orange blossom honey. Pesto. Dukkah and fine olive oil. Roasted Red Pepper Dip. Cucumber. Lettuce and rocket and other fresh greens. Sultanas. Sliced banana. Baked Tuscan Beans. Oozey, goo-ey cheese. Char grilled eggplant slices. Chunks of roasted pumpkin and sweet potato. Oven baked tomatoes.

This is a “one-meal bread“. It doesn’t keep all that long. The next day it is likely to be a bit too hard for eating fresh, so slice it and grill it on the char-grill pan or under the broiler/griller in the oven. Smother with real butter and thin slices of cheese so that they melt over the hot bread.

Bread making is an awfully complex science. Just look at the recent post on Jugalbandi which did my head in. I always thought I was a reasonable baker of bread, but, depressed, I lowered my perception of my bread skills. I wonder what the scientific analysis of this fast no-knead bread is? And then there was my foray into baking from the Bread Bible. All the fiddling! But I made this bread again, and all was well in my bread baking heaven.

Recipe Notes

I have always used white plain flour for this, and added some gluten. White bread flour is ok too. However this time, the only flour in the house that was suitable was a bit of rye and a bit of wholemeal multigrain bread flour. I mixed them together and had just enough for the recipe. The result was wonderful.

Also, I made this lot quite thick, compared to what I normally would make. Often I make it quite thin.

Before I take the dough out of the bowl, I usually flour the top of the dough, and, as I lift it from the bottom of the bowl, I also dust a little there too. The dough is quite sticky so it helps remove it and work with it. Place flour on the bench that you will shape it on. I love a bit of flour on the bread :-) so I don’t worry about any left on the dough when it goes into the oven.

I bake it directly on an oven tray or maybe line it with some baking paper. I flour the tray or paper before I put the dough on it, to prevent it sticking.

I love to top the focaccia with sea salt. You can also use herbs or chopped olives. This time I topped with a mixture of rosemary that I had dried in my kitchen and ground together with some oven baked capsicums and a little bit of dried mushroom, along with salt. It was delicious.

One of the nice things about this recipe is that it can be cooked while the guests have their first pre-lunch glass of wine. Impress them with the smell of freshly baking bread, and it will be ready by the time their wine glass is empty.

Questions

I had a question from a reader about the use of plain (all purpose) flour without the addition of gluten. So I made the recipe using only plain flour. It is quite a tough bread – gluten gives the bread the strength to hold up the air within the dough. So I don’t recommend using only plain flour – either add gluten to it or use a bread flour.

No Knead Foccacia

My Deliciously Fast No Knead Focaccia

Source : I have had this recipe for years and have forgotten the source
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 15 mins + 1 hour rising time
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
3.5 cups pizza, focaccia or strong bread flour, or flour to which you add 5 Tblspn gluten
1.5 cups approx of tepid water
7g yeast
1 tspn sugar
salt

method
[Optional step] Mix the sugar, 0.5 cup lukewarm water and the yeast with 1 Tblspn of the flour, making a sponge, and let sit in a warm place for 15 minutes.

Mix the flour, yeast sponge and enough of the remaining water to make a sticky dough, or if you haven’t made the sponge, mix the yeast, water, sugar and flour together to make a sticky dough. Add additional water if you need it. The dough should be a little wetter than you would normally make dough.

Leave the dough to rise for 1 – 1.5 hours.

Place the risen dough on a bench and divide into two. Shape each on a tray with well oiled fingertips.

Brush the top with olive oil and top with your choice of topping – herbs, rosemary, garlic, salt, black pepper, olive paste, slices of olives, cheese and paprika, or any topping you like (or none). Bake in the oven at the maximum temperature around 10 – 15 minutes, or until cooked and lightly browned.

Eat while still warm.

People are saying:

I had some olives and thyme left over from the Fig and Walnut Tapanede I made last week so that also went in. While the bread was rising, I ran to the store to grab the brie and salad fixin’s. {} When I got back from the store, the bread was all ready to go. I threw it in the oven and fifteen minutes later, I had to use a great deal of self control not to burn my mouth. Thankfully, I have found that by the time you take some photos, your food is normal cool enough to eat. My roommates and I devoured it with the brie. A fabulous dinner! And yes, I even has some salad to feel semi-healthy, I swear!

Read some more

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Dukkah Bread Pane Di Prato Hot Olives Broad Bean Pate A Tomato Feast Crimson Beetroot and Berlotti Bean Fry Eggplant Curry


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Tomato Soup For the Children Rainbow Pilgrim Hotels Simple Spaghetti Baked Strawberry North Adelaide this Week Cumquat Marmalade Pepper Rice Recipe Tempting 10 Stewed Parsley

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 04 Mid Autumn, Bread, Breakfast, Fast Food, Italian, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Bread in an hour? You’re kidding, right? : A Recipe for No Knead Focaccia.

  1. Ginny says:

    Yummy! I’m always looking for more good bread recipes! Delicious!

    Glad that you like it, Ginny. Thanks for visiting.

  2. Madhuram says:

    It looks so rustic, like the ones you would get in some Italian market.

    Hi Madhuram, thanks for visiting – I am glad that I found your blog. Yes, they are quite rustic and love them this way. You can make this recipe quite thin – true focaccia style. But this time, I left them a little thicker and they were DELICIOUS. :-)

  3. Miri says:

    Looks great and sounds so easy! I just made posted a focaccia I made on the weekend and since it took so long, this one sounds very tempting! I don’t get gluten here though, so not sure whether it will work without gluten.

    Miri

    Hi Miri, your focaccia post is great! What fun you had. If you cant get gluten, use bread flour if you can get that. If not, you can use plain flour (all purpose flour). It will be different, but still very good. Actually, I made it with plain flour to try it out, and I did not like the result. Gluten is required to hold the bread up.

    If you want to make the dough ahead of time, that is also possible. You can let it sit until you are ready, or put it in the fridge if it is going to be overnight, for example. That way you can have beautiful fresh bread in the morning without getting flour under your fingernails :-)

  4. bee says:

    this sounds really easy and fantastic.

    Hi bee, but you and jai are the gurus of bread making, and I am totally in awe of you and the effort that you go to.

  5. sagari says:

    warm bread out of oven yummmmmmmmmmm

    yeeeesssssssssssss

  6. Pingback: Bruschetta al Pomodoro « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  7. Arundathi says:

    that sounds easy. i think it just might become my first attempt at making bread!

    That’s great, Arundathi! You will find it a LOT of fun.

  8. Angie says:

    This is beautiful and I want some now! I’m completely intrigued in the method, but I am wondering . . .

    When you turn this onto the board do you turn it onto a floured board? I noticed the bread looks floured, but don’t see where this step comes in.

    Also, what type of board or tray are you cooking this on? I know with the wonderful No-Knead Bread you use a heavy pot, but notice your method doesn’t use this step.

    I can’t wait to try this!!

    Thanks for the wonderful post.

    Hi Angie,

    Before I take the dough out of the bowl, I usually flour the top of it and, as I lift it from the bottom of the bowl, I also dust a little there too. The dough is quite sticky so it helps remove it and work with it. Place flour on the bench that you will shape it on. I love a bit of flour on the bread :-) so I don’t worry about any left on the dough when it goes into the oven.

    I bake it directly on an oven tray or maybe line it with some baking paper. I flour the tray or paper before I put the dough on it, to prevent it sticking.

    Good luck!

  9. Deborah says:

    Looks good! I think I will try that sometime soon.

    Hi Deborah, we both love quick easy bread. I thought you would like this one! Let me know how it turns out.

  10. Pingback: Zahtar for Me, Dukkah for You: Recipe « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  11. Pingback: Rosemary and her Focaccia Sheet: A recipe « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  12. lakshmi says:

    I am making this today. Will let you know how it turns out. New to bread baking. :)

    Hi lakshmi, thank you for sending me the email with the pic attached. It looks so very yummy and inviting. I am so glad that it turned out well, and that you are now a bread baker!

  13. Mama says:

    My son just made this bread and it is a triumph!!! It is a beautiful loaf of bread and so delicious!! I cooked it in my oval pyrex baking thingee with the lid. It is the same size I roast in. Thank you for this great site.

    Thank you for letting me know! I am so pleased that you enjoyed it. I love this bread too.

  14. Pingback: The Kitchen Gods Are Pissed! | Blah Blah Blog

  15. diana says:

    hi .. i was fascinated by the one hour recipe for focaccia … but it was on clear to me on the measurements i do not know things in grams .. only in cup measurements and teaspoons .. can you please send me the recipe to my email … with the right amounts please.. i am very new to making bread… this is exciting to me .. you really make it in a pan with a cover ? thank you .. diana

    • Ganga says:

      Hi Diana, good luck with cooking the bread. There are lots of sites on the web that will help you convert ingredients to the measurements that you are familiar with. Best of luck.

  16. Pingback: Lions & Tigers & Bears, Oh My! « Kurious Kitteh Kooks!

  17. Jesse says:

    I was just wondering… how long do you think this dough can be kept before baking? for example, could I make the dough one day and bake the bread later in the week?

  18. Anita Menon says:

    Beautiful looking bread. I am always looking for good bread recipes.

  19. Pingback: September 25th, 2011 in The Kitchen – Soup, Focaccia, Pumpkin Tahini Spread, Cumquats « Heat in the Kitchen

  20. KeithW says:

    this is an interesting looking bread recipe. For fast italian style bread i use a recipe that i adapted from a pizza dough replacing oil and water with milk and butter for a richer bread. The wole of the process takes roughtly an hour from start to finish with a 10-15 minute yeast development time about 5 minutes of kneading, A 20 minute rising time and 20 minute baking time. I suppose including prep time and getting the igredients out and measured th recipe takes me roughtly an hour and 15 minutes.
    Recipe:
    4 1/2 cups all purpose flour (or bread flour for a lerager lighter loaf)
    1 tsp salt
    4 1/2 tsp or 2 4 oz packages of active dry yeast
    1 tsp sugar
    4 Tbsp Unsaletd butter or margerine
    1 1/3 c Milk
    Method :
    warm the milk to about 100 degrees, melt the butter (i microwave it for about 30 seconds) add the butter to the warm milk, then add the sugar and yeast mix well and let set until the mixture develops a coarse foam (10-15) minutes. Add the salt then flour a cupful at a time until a flaky dough forms. Knead the dough into a firm ball. remove the dough ball from the bowl and lightly dust the bowl in fluur. Place the dough ball back in the bowl and set aside to rise until the dough size doubles. (approximately 20 minutes). Gently form the dough into the desired loaf. I bake this on a slightly greased cookie sheet lined with foil for eays cleanup. Bake at 375 for roughly 20 minutes, or until you can thump the top and a hollow sound is heard. After baking you can serve your fres bread hot, or to keep let it cool haflway(warm to the touch) wrapped in a kitchen towel, then put the loaf in a sealed ziplock style bag to finish cooling. remove the bread from the bag as condensation begins to form on the inside of the bag(this wil make a softer crust if you dont likr a hard italian stye crust) . place your loaf in a normal bred style bag for freshness will keep for a ittle better than a week.

  21. Bhakthi says:

    I’ve just made this bread and it’s BEAUTIFUL. I’ve never made bread before and it smells incredible and is very gratifying. Thanks so much for the recipe.

  22. Pingback: 1998, Breakfast Suggestions from The Archive | Heat in the Kitchen

  23. Pingback: August 1998. Three Focaccia Recipes. Love them All. Frolicking in The Archives | Heat in the Kitchen

  24. Pingback: July, 2002. Schiacciata with Cheese Topping. Diving into the Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  25. Pingback: July 2002. Pizza Dough. Rustling through the Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  26. Pingback: August 2002. Parmesan Toasts. Heaven from The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  27. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for October, Wherever You Are (Part 1) | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  28. Pingback: What a Vegetarian Does with A BBQ. Part 4 – Cooking Focaccia | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  29. Pingback: Monday Morning Vegetarian Inspiration: What is for Breakfast? | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

