Bruschetta al Pomodoro: A recipe

Just right for Autumn (and Spring)

Just as I finished saying in a recent post that I did not like raw tomatoes, I realise that I love raw tomatoes. What I do not like are those limp wedges of tomatoes that sit on top of limp greens in a salad that has been left too long in the heat. People! Will you ever learn to look after your food!

So, I confess. I L O V E raw tomatoes. But you can keep the wilted greens with wilted tomato salad.

There is a thing about Autumn and tomatoes, I am now realising. Sometimes these things are in your consciousness, but far far down below, and it takes something to prod us to dredge the depths of the fourth dimension of consciousness and bring to the surface something we have always known.

I L O V E Autumn tomatoes. I love them cooked and I love them raw, maybe with a little sugar because they are past their sweetness peak. But they are still high in taste and delicious in eating.

So, today, after some wet and windy weather, it is warmish again. Let’s pile those luscious tomatoes onto bread, sprinkle with some good oil and salt, pour some beautiful Australian white wine, and call it lunch for two.

If you want to make some home-made bread (highly recommended), you can try a no-knead, 1-hour focaccia, all-day focaccia or some tuscan yum bread.

NoKneadFocaccia All Day Focaccia Tuscan Bread

Bruschetta al Pomodoro

Source : inspired by Twelve, A Tuscan Cookbook
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 5 minsCooking time: 0 mins
Serves: 2 – 3 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
6 medium juicy tomatoes
6 basil leaves, torn (sometimes I will use rocket or baby spinach, both of which I love with tomatoes)
1 tspn dried oregano
extra good quality, extra virgin olive oil
6 thick, large slices of country style bread, colour no matter – white, brown, rye
1 large garlic clove
(Celtic) sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

method
Dice the tomatoes and put them in a bowl. Add the basil, oregano and season with salt and pepper. Mix through 1 – 2 Tblspn extra virgin olive oil. Allow flavours to infuse.

Grill (broil) the bread slices on both sides. Rub one side of each piece with the whole garlic clove. Drizzle the slices with a little olive oil. (Hint: if you have some mustard oil, two drops of that per slice is wonderful.)

Divide the tomatoes between the bread slices, placing on or over the bread. (I like the tomatoes along side the bread.)

Add another drizzle of olive oil and serve.

Bruschetta

Read some more:

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

NoKneadFocaccia Simple Spaghetti 071217-003a.jpg Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Beach Channa Chat New Year Rangoli Click! Baked Strawberry Tomato Soup For the Children Greek Deli Simple is Best Sydney - Observe Yellow for Bri Tempting 7 Crumpet Recipe

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 12 Early Summer, Bread, Breakfast, Fast Food, Italian, Salads, Spices and Herbs, Tomatoes, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bruschetta al Pomodoro: A recipe

  1. sagari says:

    beautifull bruschetta

    Thanks, sagari. I love the look of your stuffed eggplant recipe. I have been meaning to try something like this for a long time, so might be tempted now.

  2. Lucy says:

    Yes, I think they are infinitely more flavourful once the raging heat of summer has passed. They need little more than this recipe to show them at their beautiful best .

    I hear you – those soggy salads make me want to run a mile…

    Hi Lucy, oh glad it isn’t just my imagination. And those salads, they should be banned.

  3. TBC says:

    I love tomatoes and basil together in a salad. They’re just meant to be. :-)

    Thanks, TBC, it is a wonderful combination. Especially if you can pick them both from your own garden!

  4. Arundathi says:

    That looks delicious – and thanks for the link to the no-knead bread. Might brave a shot!

    I hope that you do try the bread. It is so easy!

  5. Seena says:

    Love them , would make a similar one.. :)

    Hi Seena, great to find another tomato lover!

  6. Ginny says:

    Looks delicious! now I’m craving some but the tomatoes won’t be good enough for at least another month or two.

    Hi Ginny, hang in there, the tomatoes will come. I know that awful waiting period.

    I see that you have announced your Dollar Duel event. Can’t wait to see the results.

  7. Elle says:

    That looks delicious!

    Thanks Elle.

  8. Mansi says:

    bruschetta is my all-time favorite! nice pics!:)

    I love it too, esp if I am craving something fresh and simple.

  9. I dont know how i found your site but i really enjoyed the info provided. Thanks a million.

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

