A Life (Time) of Cooking

Mimicking URLs of Popular Blogs

April 20, 2008 · 3 Comments

Sometimes people leave comments on my site, but mis-type the link to their blog, and I have to do a bit of detective work or googling to find their blog. Some examples are – they leave out “.blogspot” or “www.” or “.com”.

However lately I have noticed some instances of a disturbing possible trend.

URLs of a couple of popular food blogs have been “mimicked” by either

  • removing the “www” at the beginning of the URL
    e.g. www.foodblog.org is a food blog,
    whereas foodblog.org is a “mimicked” URL of a site owned and operated by someone else, and not necessarily about food.

or

  • doing the reverse – adding a www. to a foodblog that does not have one in the URL (ie is a subdomain).

or

  • transposing two of the letters in the URL
    e.g. foodblog.blogspot.com is a foodblog,
    but foodblog.blogpsot.com is another site altogether.

Question?

Have you noticed any examples of this?

Be careful when entering a link to your blog

The reason that this works for the people who are “mimicking” the URLs is probably because we can be a bit careless at times when entering a link to our blog, especially in comments.

What to do?

Firstly, be really careful when linking to your blog – make sure you are entering it correctly. Periodically, test out your link to make sure that it goes to the site that you intended.

If a blogger notices that their URL has been “mimicked”, what should they do? What do you think?

I suspect it is not limited to food blogs. Looking forward to your thoughts.


Other Posts:

Beach Channa Chat New Year Rangoli NoKneadFocaccia This Week Dukkah Eggplant Curry Simple Spaghetti Baked Strawberry Eating in India

Categories: Thoughts
Tagged: , , ,

3 responses so far ↓

  • planetross // April 20, 2008 at 11:12 am | Reply

    I don’t think you can do anything about a mimicked blog url. Possibly the suspected mimicked url may have had their url first.
    A musician friend of mine has his music for sale on a site: he receives a certain amount of money everytime someone downloads one of his songs. He also receives a royalty for every click on his name (not much, but a few cents). Supposedly there is one musician whose name is very similar to a famous musician, and he has made some pretty good money from people mistakenly typing in his name: ie. Bryan Adams/Ryan Adams.

  • Romina // April 21, 2008 at 7:03 am | Reply

    I find for the most part it is due to a bit of ignorance on the part of commenters, they simply don’t know that there is a difference between say http://www.____.blogspot.com and http://____.blogspot.com. Many people are either not careful or simply don’t have the knowledge to understand the difference, they may be new to the blogging or internet worlds.

    I think you are right. I guess this post was a call to be a little more careful, and there are sites that are taking advantage of that, and of the power of google. Some of the sites that I have seen have been harmless enough, but one really did conflict with the ideologies of the owner of the food blogger.

  • Srivalli // May 27, 2008 at 8:59 pm | Reply

    Thank you for this post J. In my case, both with the www or without takes to my blog but the problem is, the blogspot is changed somehow. I know for sure I have never typed in wrong. Was looking at ways to curb this. Should investigate more on this!

    It is really weird what was happening to your URL. I always corrected it whenever I saw it. Hope you can track down the cause.

Leave a Comment