Rizogalo (Greek Rice Pudding): A recipe

Rice Pudding Recipe

The other day Lucy from Nourish Me, in a comment asked whether I was enjoying the cold weather. My answer? I must be. I am cooking rice pudding.

This is another recipe from my old web site which I have cooked again for this blog. It was first cooked in my kitchen in 2003, by Lia who was staying with me at that time. It was a great hit.

When I cooked it this time, I added a vanilla bean and, at the last minute, a very small sprig of rosemary. These adjustments are optional but make a lovely difference.

Rice Pudding Recipe

Rizogalo (Greek Rice Pudding)

Source : from Lia, and my old Food_Matters web site, with a few twists.
Cuisine: Greek
Prep time: 10 mins
Cooking time: 30 – 45 mins
Serves: 3 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
1 litre milk
75 g jaggery or castor sugar
5cm piece orange rind
0.25 vanilla bean (optional)
1 small tip of rosemary sprig (optional)
100 g short grain rice
1 Tblspn custard powder
0.25 cup milk, extra
ground cinnamon

method
Combine milk, sugar and orange rind in pan. If using the vanilla bean, split it in two lengthwise and scrape the seeds into the milk. Add the bean to the milk with the tip of the rosemary sprig if using.

Stir the milk constantly over heat without boiling, until sugar is dissolved. Then bring to the boil, add rice and simmer uncovered for 30 – 40 minutes or until rice is tender. Stir occasionally.

Remove rind, vanilla bean pod and rosemary sprig. Stir in custard powder blended with the extra milk and stir over heat until mixture boils and thickens.

Pour mixture into serving bowls and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon. Serve hot, warm or cold.

Read some more:

  • Cooking in Calcutta has a post on Indian Rice Pud. It has different flavourings but a remarkably similar method.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Baked Strawberry Tomato Soup Buttery Steamed Rice Rosamatta Rice


Other Posts:

Cucumber Curry Chickpeas All Alone Beetroot Salad Tomato Bruschetta. Just right for Autumn (and Spring) Beach Channa Chat New Year Rangoli Pumpkin for Roasting Risotto! Tempting - Exciting Links June08 This Month May in Review Tempting in June

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 04 Mid Autumn, Breakfast, Dairy, Dessert, Greek, Lentils, Grains, Rice and Nuts, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Rizogalo (Greek Rice Pudding): A recipe

  1. Nice one..will try this sometime

    Hi Athisaya, hope you do. So easy. So tasty.

  2. Peter says:

    Very nice, kalo! I’m also diggin’ the earthenware…where did you get that?

    Hi Peter, look at the influence you are having on my cooking! The pot? A gorgeous present from a gorgeous friend.

  3. Lucy says:

    Oh, it’s just right, right now.

    Strangely, this is the first year, ever, that I’ve actually enjoyed rice pudding. Will give this a go when next we have loads of boys around – teenagers seem to love the carb-laden desserts!

    This rice pud is so easy and gorgeous. Glad that you are starting to like it. Usually I don’t cook a lot of desserts, but this year, well, I think it must be the rain.

  4. Zlamushka says:

    Gosh, I just love the rice bowl. where is that one from? Absolutely gorgeous.

    Its from Russia – St. Petersburg. Glad you like it!

  5. Arundathi says:

    What a great recipe – I love rice pudding! Now gotta try the Greek version! Lovely photographs.

    I think this is really nice. You could even add some cream to it for extra creaminess – and calories! :-)

  6. foodieguide says:

    Delicious! I must get my husband to make this for me. I could eat rice pudding every day – last week I had vanilla rice pudding with mango compote and toasted pistachio. For a restaurant version as opposed to home-made, it was rather tasty…

    Hi Helen, lucky you having a hubby who cooks. Can I borrow him? Love the pistachio and mango with the rice pudding. Nice.

  7. chuck says:

    For me, I think the only way to eat rice pudding is when it’s still warm. Yummy and delicious!

    Hi Chuck, my goodness, you have a great blog! Thanks for commenting so that I could experience it.

    Yes, hot rice pud is nice when the weather is cold outside. Yum.

  8. Miri says:

    I was always told that the sugar shouldn’t be added till the rice was cooked (not only in rice pudding but other dessert recipes using rice) since it wouldn’t allow the rice to cook quickly and well enough. Apparent,y , that isnt true – because your pudding looks delicious!

    Hi Miri, yes, I have heard too that you should add sugar later, but I don’t think it modifies the length of cooking by a lot. You can always try adding it later and see what happens.

  9. Karina says:

    Yum- love rice pudding! Especially since it is gluten-free. And with strawberries? Come to Mama!

    Thanks for letting me know that it is gluten free. I was going to have a “gluten free” category, but realised that I didn’t know enough about which foods contain gluten so did not go ahead. The strawberries are a real bonus, aren’t they?

  10. Ginny says:

    I’ve never made nor remember having- now that I think about it…the vanilla bean and rosemary seems like an excellent idea. Thank you!

    Hi Ginny, it is really delicious, and I so love rosemary!

  11. I see I like everything you like…rice pudding I love too and once again, the photo is simple and stunning!
    ronell

    We do! This Greek adaption is lovely.

  12. Oh, I have to comment on this new feature of wordpress..I’m not at all impressed. I posted some life drawings on my art blog and next thing I saw, was some other “life drawing” links as related posts. I was heavily upset. I would like to control any links from my blog myself.
    I switched mine off.
    ronell

    I have switched mine off too now. It was linking to non-veg recipes and posts that were conflicting with my site.

  13. Nandita says:

    Nice to see the treasures from the past…you do share such interesting recipes…
    Orange rind as in do i use the peel or just the orange part without the white sliced from the peel?

    Use only the orange part of the rind, the white is quite bitter. – Isn’t it interesting to see what you were cooking in past years? Also to see how cooking fashions change.

  14. Suganya says:

    How come the porridge is white with jaggery? Rosemary is something I gotta try.

    I often use jaggery, but this time I drizzled honey over the top. When I use jaggery it goes a wonderful delicious amber colour. yum.

  15. Pingback: greek puddings

  16. Pingback: Tried and Tasted : A Life(Time) of Cooking - Round up | Health Foods Blog

  17. Pingback: 1998, Breakfast Suggestions from The Archive | Heat in the Kitchen

  18. Pingback: October 1998 and March 2003. Two Rice Puddings. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  19. Pingback: July, 1999. Anise Baked Pears or Apples. From The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  20. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for October, Wherever You Are (Part 1) | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  21. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for December – Early WINTER – Northern Hemisphere. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  22. Pingback: September, 1997. Baked Apples – 2 Ways. Mashing around in The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  23. Pingback: August, 1998. Apple Pies Caramelised with Honey. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  24. Pingback: Ingredients: A Note on How To Cook Rice | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  25. Pingback: Monday Morning Vegetarian Inspiration: What is for Breakfast? | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  26. Pingback: Day 3 in Sydney – The Greek Shop: Travel and Food | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

