Holidays. Thoughts. Pomodori Gratinati: A recipe

nick-knight-floraPhoto by Nick Knight

I cleaned and oiled my wooden cutting boards today. I do that about 3 or 4 times a year. First, I cut a lemon in half and sprinkle the board with some rock salt. Then I scrub the board with the cut side of the lemon. The salt acts as a gentle abrasive. When finished, I wipe it down with paper towel, and then oil it well. The oil penetrates the wood, preserving it and giving it a lovely sheen.

Then I oiled the wooden handles of my French knives. They look so good now. In celebration I spent an hour chopping vegetables to make home made tomato paste. AND I made a gorgeous Indian eggless custard. The recipes will appear here in due course.

I had a conversation yesterday with a friend. He is an artist. No, really, he is a real artist – a person with a real gift for capturing emotional content from inanimate things in his camera. But he does not trust himself as an artist (my interpretation of him). So whenever he has an exhibition coming, or a showing, he wants to do fancy things with his work. My sense of art aches for him, because I think he has such a “pureness” about his work that it does not need fancy backings and layouts and formats. I just want him to let his work shine. He of course, argued with me.

But I realised afterwards that I am about letting things, people, work, shine – to be themselves and to glow in that. Even my cooking. It is simple, usually, and quick, usually. It is often rustic (I like rustic). But the joy of eating, whether that is sitting on the floor, watching TV, eating in the park, or at a formal dinner, is from the food – from the ingredients – not from the layers of complexity introduced. I have a friend at the moment going through a period of loss, and yet when she ate my garlicky ginger soup, the look of happiness on her face was truly amazing.

Simple. That’s me.

I don’t like trickery, whether that is in art, cooking, work, politics,books, life, love … No wonder I have a reputation in my work for getting to the heart of the matter and simplifying things so that people can understand and engage. Removing the layers of bu**#@%$ that people seem intent to build around things. Maybe it gives them power. When you remove your own need for power, wisdom and authority come naturally.

My meditation this month is on being aware of awareness travelling from one object of focus to another – niimf in Shum. Being aware of being aware is not a difficult concept to grasp but being aware of awareness as it moves from one area of mind to another is an amazing thing. Try it. Think about the last book you read. Now think about what you are going to do tomorrow. See? Catch it? Your awareness moving? Try it again. Book. Tomorrow. Book. Tomorrow. Did you notice your awareness moving? It is called niimf (nee-(i)mf).

I was reading over breakfast the book “Flora” by the photographer Nick Knight which captures in photographs the dried flowers of the Natural History Museum in London. (See the image at the top of this post.) In the Introduction he talks about his awareness of the plants he was working with in a way that really resonated with me.

I was struck by the fact that these plants didn’t look dead. Life was very apparent. I could see the movement of the wind blowing through their leaves and petals, sense the water flowing throughout their vessels and their flowers straining to turn and open into the sun’s rays. But these plants had one important difference – the fragility, the tragic urgency had gone and they had taken on a new certainty of being; a statement like boldness. They have escaped their fate.

So what to cook for you today while I am reflective and mellow? Why not tomatoes and melted cheese?

Gratineed Tomatoes with Cheese Recipe

Pomodori Gratinati (Tomatoes Gratineed with Cheese)

Source : inspired by Twelve: A Tuscan Cookbook
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 10 mins
Cooking time: 40 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
6 large ripe plum tomatoes
3 Tblspns chopped parsley
1 clove garlic, chopped finely
10 or so mint leaves
10 or so basil leaves
1 Tblspn freshly grated parmesan cheese
1 Tblspn grated fresh pecorino cheese
1.5 Tblspn fine breadcrumbs
6 Tblspn cold pressed virgin olive oil
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

method
Preheat the oven to 180C.

Wash and dry the tomatoes and halve them. With a teaspoon, gently scoop out the flesh and seeds without damaging the tomato shells. It may help to use a small knife to sever first, then scoop with the spoon.

Put the tomato shells into a baking dish cut side up, and season with salt and pepper.

Finely chop the tomato flesh and seeds and put into a bowl. Add the parsley, garlic, mint and basil. Stir in the grated cheeses and breadcrumbs. Mix well, and add half of the olive oil. Mix again.

Spoon the mixture into the tomato shells and drizzle with the remaining olive oil. Bake in the hot oven for 25 – 35 minutes or until they are lightly golden and cooked.

Serve warm or at room temperature.

Gratineed Tomatoes with Cheese Recipe

The Holiday Series

The Tomato Series

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Baked Apples Pumpkin for Roasting Tomato Bruschetta. Just right for Autumn (and Spring) Seasonal Cooking in May


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Baked Chickpea Snack Recipe Making Roasted Garlic Oil Coffee in India. Yum. Travel Recipe Strawberry Recipes Pearl Hummus Salad Recipe Broad Bean Pate Play nice with Rice Month of Shopping Indian Porridge Recipe Asparagus Soup Recipe Rice Pudding Recipe

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 05 Late Autumn, Breakfast, Dairy, Italian, Salads, Spices and Herbs, Thoughts, Tomatoes, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Holidays. Thoughts. Pomodori Gratinati: A recipe

  1. TBC says:

    That is what I like best about this space- the simplicity. It shines thro’ in everything you do here. The writing, the stories, the pictures, the recipes…I like ‘em all! :-)

    You seem to be enjoying day 3(?) of your home vacation. :D

    I am really enjoying my break, although I am finding that it takes some time to unwind. Simplicity, bring it on.

  2. arundathi says:

    oiling your cutting board? thats great! i’ve been meaning to do that… i love the photos – the tomatoes look delicious.

    I love oiling boards! I even oil boards at other people’s places. It makes them look fantastic, don’t you agree? As well as being very healthy for them. I just use olive oil. Do you clean them with a lemon too? The lemon acts as a mild bleach to take out any stains that might be on the board, from, you know, turmeric, beetroot, pomegranate.

    Thanks for your lovely comments about the photos, arundathi.

  3. zeynepankara says:

    I am new here. Just wanted to say hello. So hello! Zeynep xx

  4. michelle says:

    thanks for the reminder to oil MY cutting board.

    there is absolutely nothing bad that can be said about those tomatoes. gorgeous!

    Thank you so much, Michelle. Hope you get just as much kick out of oiling your boards as I do!

  5. bee says:

    what a spectacular dish. the relinquishing of the desire for power does bring in wisdom and authority. it’s a very difficult thing to achieve – yet so simple when you think about it.

    Thanks, bee. yes, the simple things take a life time to achieve. For me, it is a continual journey.

  6. Lucy says:

    What, I wonder, does it mean that I’ve been reduced to tears by your thoughtful, elegant meditation?

    Increasingly, I come here to rustle among your pages for precisely that sense of un-trickery, of aliveness, in your words and your food.

    May your artist friend be blessed with the clarity to believe in the beauty of simplicity. Perhaps he should consider blogging!

    I know exactly how you feel, Lucy. Sometimes things move us greatly – there is a receptivity that means we were ready for that message or needed to receive it. I am so thankful for your comments.

    My dear artist friend needs to walk his own journey and I need to let him. Sigh.

  7. This is a great post and echoing what I feel too. Allowing people, life nature, food..just to simply be what and who they are and enjoying it all exactly for that reason. thanks for the reminder.
    ronell

    Yes, we do need reminding some times, don’t we? My break from work is playing that role for me. Simplicity. So hard. We so layer on complexities when they are not needed. So silly – simplicity allows a lot of head space (and time) for the important things.

  8. ranji says:

    this looks yummmmmmm!!!great as appetisers!!!

    Hi ranji, these are great as appetisers, or as lunch with a salad. I love them a lot.

  9. helloworldbea says:

    That looks delicious! I will try this sometime!

    Hi bea, glad you dropped by and you like the tomatoes. Hope you enjoy them when you make them.

  10. Nicisme says:

    I love tomatoes – they truly are the food of the gods – and these look amazing! I can’t wait for ours to grow, I’ll be saving this recipe – thanks!!

    They sure are, Nicisme. Hope you enjoy making this.

  11. Suganya says:

    How long can you enjoy fancy food. A week? A month? Afterwards we are bound to come back to rustic goodness, a.k.a, mom’s cooking.

    I agree. Totally agree.

  12. this look nice. i like it.

    Thanks! Appreciate it.

  13. Chadha says:

    hi

    i love that type food……..

  14. Pingback: Early September, 2012. Orzo! Bless you! (A salad) « Heat in the Kitchen

  15. Pingback: 1998, Breakfast Suggestions from The Archive | Heat in the Kitchen

  16. Pingback: July, 1997. Russian Peasant Pie. Frolicking in The Archives. | Heat in the Kitchen

  17. Pingback: February, 2001. Caponata Siciliana. Eggplant and Tomatoes. Cavorting around The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  18. Pingback: September 2000 and March 2003. Three Recipes for Greek Grilled Cheeses. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  19. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for November, Wherever You Are | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  20. Pingback: Spring here, Autumn there. Everyone Cooking. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  21. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for May: wherever you are. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  22. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for December – Early WINTER – Northern Hemisphere. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  23. Pingback: January, 2001. Madhur Jaffrey’s Cream of Tomato Soup. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  24. Pingback: Plump Ruby Bites: A Recipe for Slow Oven Dried Tomatoes with Sumac | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  25. Pingback: Monday Morning Vegetarian Inspiration: What is for Breakfast? | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  26. Pingback: Tomato and Chilli Jam for whatever Weather: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

