Holidays. Thoughts. Roasted Rosemary Pears: A recipe

Roasted Rosemary Pears Recipe

I love the seasonality of the kitchen.

Not only Autumn and Winter, Spring and Summer. I love the day-seasonality of it. The morning season, mid season, afternoon season, night season.

I love the ongoing cyclic nature of it. The “I will make this thing now so that I can use it then” nature of it. I grind my own salt from course Celtic Sea Salt. I hand grind (mortar and pestle) my own pepper. I make paneer. I make up my chat masala (ahead of time, I am afraid, to save some time later) and other masala powders. I want to try to make my own besan flour! I make oven dried tomatoes and dried capsicums. I make my own tomato paste for winter tomato-iness. I dry any herb I can lay my hands on for teas and herb salts. You get the picture. Vanilla sugar. Strawberry syrup. Quince syrup. Crabapple jam.

I like to chop this in the morning for dinner tonight, put something in the oven at mid-day season to have toasty warm for dinner tonight. I drain the yoghurt in the morning for dessert at lunch or dinner or breakfast the next day. I soak my oats overnight for great porridge in the morning. I freeze this today for dinner in a month when, dead tired from the umpteenth day of more than humanly possible working hours, I just want to turn on the tv, collapse into bed, fall asleep and get rid of the hunger in my belly, all at once.

The hunger in my belly at those times, though, is not only the physical need gnawing at my body for sustenance. It is a need to be back in the kitchen working at my art the only way I know how.

At best in this life it is a compromise. A half job in the kitchen most of the time as I earn my keep the rest of the time the best that I can. It is a life, and a jolly good one. But ….

So you can see, holidaying at home is a little luxury for me. I can look at the yellow of the silver birch leaves across the road. Give Siva the freshest of flowers each morning. Gaze at the clouds enveloping the hills. Listen to music. Read. Oh, it is so good to be home.

So, after glazing apples and draining yoghurt, both for a future dish, let’s bake some pears with some afore-made rosemary powder – ground by hand with a little chilli and capsicum and a minor pinch of salt. If you have not had the foresight to make this yourself :-) you can use fresh rosemary, some sea salt and add chilli if you dare. I have made this dish with pears and plums, so don’t be afraid to experiment.

You can eat them with any other dish, or for breakfast with cheese. Maybe even a midnight snack!

Roasted Rosemary Pears Recipe

Roasted Rosemary Pears

Source : inspired by Gourmet Traveller Australian Magazine, April, 2003
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 15 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
3 firm, ripe packham or beurre bosc pears, unpeeled and cut into 6 wedges each – you can core each piece or for a rustic look, don’t core
2 Tblspn lemon juice
1 Tblspn finely chopped rosemary
1 tspn dried chilli chopped fine (optional)
0.25 cup brown sugar
30g unsalted butter, chopped

Place pear wedges, lemon juice, chilli and rosemary in a bowl and toss to coat. Place in a roasting dish, sprinkle with the sugar and scatter the butter over.

Roast at 200 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes or until the pears are tender and glazed, basting with juices once during the cooking.

Cool the pears in the pan, and then serve with breakfast, or with bread, rocket and parmesan for an amazing lunch.

Now, to clean up the mess in the kitchen …..

Roasted Rosemary Pears Recipe

The Holiday Series

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Tomato Bruschetta. Just right for Autumn (and Spring) NoKneadFocaccia Golden Dal Chickpea, Almond and Sesame Spread


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Gratineed Tomatoes with Cheese Recipe Tempting Recipes Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Baked Chickpea Snack Recipe Making Roasted Garlic Oil Coffee in India. Yum. Travel Recipe Tofu Squares Lunch at Danyses Making Stock This Week Autumn leaves Pomegranate Salad Travel Thursday Making Dosa

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 05 Late Autumn, 11 Late Spring, Breakfast, Dessert, Italian, Pears, Salads, Spices and Herbs, Thoughts, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Holidays. Thoughts. Roasted Rosemary Pears: A recipe

  1. Oh, these roasted pears I HAVE to make! They look delicious and I can already taste that sweetness that comes from the caramelization. I can think of so many ways in using them, but I’m sure they’ll disappear just like that off the pan. you photographed them beautifully.
    ronell

    They are GREAT. I have made them several times already. Also I have done plums and think that apples even bananas would be great done the same way. AND I have to admit to a secret. I had a small bowl of wonderful sweet porridge left over from this morning. I had it for dessert tonight with some of the pears and some apples glazed in the pan on the stove. Topped with a little lavender flower. It was so good.

    Thanks for your lovely comments about the pics too, ronell. It means a lot from you – your photos are always amazing.

  2. Aparna says:

    This is a lovely way to eat pears and great for a simple dessert. I never knew this.

    Hi Aparna, this is the sort of dish that could be a savoury dish or a sweet dish. It goes really well with cheese, for example, or could be eaten with a salad (reduce the sugar a bit). But it can also be eaten as a dessert, with rice pudding, for example. Or thick yoghurt. Yum.

  3. shriya says:

    I Never Knew that pears can be used like this. Nice presentation . Love the recipe and easy way to make a great dish. Very unique one.

    Hi shriya, thanks! You have a great event going on – it looks like fun.

  4. TBC says:

    You know, I have never tried roasted pears. Don’t know why! :D

    The wedges look so good in the first pic!

    Hi TBC, I hope that you get to try them. They taste as god as they look!

  5. Susan says:

    BIG sigh. So very lovely and an ideal cozy comfort when having that home holiday. I’m not a huge fan of expensive, luggage-heavy vacations; dulce domum is my favorite destination.

    Hi Susan, yes it is quite special – and I re-learning how special. I love going away but I love being at home too.

  6. What a great idea! I have never tried to roast pears yet, rosemary sounds like a perfect match! :)

    Margot

    Hi Margot, it is so perfect. I can’t stop eating these pears.

  7. Susan says:

    Just when I think I’ve seen every possible way to prepare pears… awesome!

    Glad I could inspire you.

  8. Lucy says:

    Gorgeous dish.

    My favourite kind of holiday.

    I’m not a baker, but I am a maker of bits and bobs. Rosemary and chilli salt it shall be then…

    Great! I made some last year after it was mentioned in blogs, and I love it a lot.

  9. shivapriya says:

    Never heard of this combination. Always knew that pears are pouched in wine or grilled. I’m sure it tasted yummy but for me I just love to eat the fresh fruit.

    Hi shivapriya, thanks for dropping by – how is your move to NY going? Mmmm I love them fresh too, or juiced.

  10. Ginny says:

    I love pear with thyme…must try rosemary! :)

    Ooooooh, I am going to try thyme next thyme. :-)

  11. kathryn says:

    These are gorgeous Ganga, how did I miss the first time you posted? So glad you put the picture up on Flickr. I’ve never tried roasting pears, it wouldn’t even cross my mind to do so. I love your use of spices too, with that little chilli kick.

    I have a wonderful recipe for pears which are poached with rosemary, it’s surprising but delicious.

    • Ganga108 says:

      Hi Kathryn, I have been doing peaches poached with basil and thyme, plus orange and lemon peel and vanilla bean recently is a sweet syrup that can include a very dry wine (or leave the sugar out and use a very sweet wine). One of my tricks for summer fruits is to add some salt and black pepper as well. No one notices but it adds a certain something to the dish. Glad you like the pears. A very autumnal dish.

  12. Pingback: 35 Things To Make With Pears: {Recipes} : TipNut.com

  13. Pingback: 35 Pear Recipes | Life At The Big HH

  14. Pingback: Early September, 2012. Orzo! Bless you! (A salad) « Heat in the Kitchen

  15. Pingback: Aug 30, 2013. Citron Melons, Pie Melons, Paddy Melons and Jam Melons. As Country as you can get. | Heat in the Kitchen

  16. Pingback: July, 1997. Russian Peasant Pie. Frolicking in The Archives. | Heat in the Kitchen

  17. Pingback: October 1998 and March 2003. Two Rice Puddings. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  18. Pingback: March, 2002. Beans with Pecorino Salad. Pottering around in The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  19. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for November, Wherever You Are | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  20. Pingback: July, 1999. Anise Baked Pears or Apples. From The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  21. Pingback: What a Vegetarian does with a BBQ. Part 3 of a continuing series. Baked Pears, Strawberries, Grapes!! | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  22. Pingback: April, 1998. Pears Baked with Marsala and Cinnamon: Pere al Forno con Marsala e Cannella. From The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  23. Pingback: September, 1997. Baked Apples – 2 Ways. Mashing around in The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  24. Pingback: August, 1998. Apple Pies Caramelised with Honey. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

