Holidays. Thoughts. Thick Thick Yoghurt: How to make

Pears and Thick Yoghurt (How to make thick yoghurt)

I washed the large quilt today and did some more bookwork. I picked up a couple of chairs for my new outdoor table. And I thought about journaling. Writing each day. I thought about how it is a synthesis of thoughts, an unplanned outpouring. A tapping into the subconscious. The way that things come together in ways that are not planned, or thought about. One thought leads to another, leads to another, leads to another.

I thought about how I love that free flow of associations, how sometimes sentences are not needed, the joy in discovering associations amongst ideas, thoughts, happenings that had not been apparent. I thought about what it teaches me about me, about how to be a better me, about how it sometimes settles me, grounds me.

I love having the time to play with ideas. There was a part of my life where I was busy, but in a quieter way, and often I would play with a word for a day. Or two. Or more. And then write about how I now understood that word in a very different way. It is a great practice that can totally change your outlook. You find yourself undoing the word in layers. Any word will do. Here are some to start with. Efficiency. Tolerance. Fear. Gardens. Corners. Travel. Contemplation. Parents. Choose one word, only one, and stay with it, spend a week with it.

Journaling takes time, at least 20 minutes at a time. It takes that time to draw the thinking from the depths of the mind, form thoughts and translate them onto paper. However it should not involve a lot of thinking and planning. It is a fairly fluid process.

Words do it for me. I like to play with words. For others it is pictures, or strings of words without form. or mindmaps. or collages. anything that is an expression, is done daily, is given time. and attention. and focus. It brings in a natural contemplation.

I thought about the time that I used to write a lot more. About how it would be nice to do that a lot more. It takes space. I don’t allow my self that space. Those punctuations in the day.

I thought about Simplicity and Stillness, my two favourite mantras. I thought about how my journey to them is very very slow. I thought about the richness of simple things. The joy of a telephone call from London. The sun rising. A smile. A comment on my post.

I thought about how much I love pears. Then I made a thick thick yoghurt.

I wanted to make The Budding Cook’s Rasberry Shrikand. I got as far as making the yoghurt and found it so incredibly wonderful I ate it as it was. On scones with jam. On crumpets. On some chopped fruit. It is so very very good. I am going to think about it all day tomorrow.

How to make thick yoghurt

Thick Thick Yoghurt

Take a tub of yoghurt. Tip the yoghurt into something that will allow it to drain for at least 4 hours. I lined a sieve with a piece of muslin and sat this over a large bowl. A double layer of paper towels is Ok. Even coffee filters! A clean teatowel.

Allow the yoghurt to drain for up to 24 hours in the fridge. The whey drains off, and can be discarded or used in other ways you would normally use whey (in soups, bread baking etc). The amount that drains is surprising.

24 hours produces a very thick yoghurt, more like a soft soft cheese. 6 hours produces a thick but still liquid yoghurt. Choose the thickness to suit your taste and the way that you plan to use it.

Use as is on fruit, in place of cream, on muesli or porridge, in icecream, curd rice, yoghurt curries etc. Or, like The Budding Cook, make Rasberry Shrikand.

How to make thick yoghurt

Ways I have used Thick Thick Yoghurt:

Other Ways with Yoghurt:

People are saying:

I just saw that on tastespotting yesterday, had to check it out on the blog, looked so good…! http://vegeyum.wordpress.com/2008/05/21/thickyoghurt/

The Holiday Series

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Rice Pudding Recipe Baked Strawberry Pink Strawberry Frappe Summer


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Roasted Rosemary Pears Recipe Yogi Tea Chai Recipe Gratineed Tomatoes with Cheese Recipe Tempting Recipes Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Baked Chickpea Snack Recipe Making Roasted Garlic Oil Coffee in India. Yum. Travel Recipe Strawberry Recipes This Month - September Pane Di Prato Semolina No-Egg Pasta

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 05 Late Autumn, Breakfast, Dairy, Dessert, Greek, Indian, Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Salsas, Purees, Pates and Dips, Sunday Afternoon at Home Cooking, Thoughts, Tips and Techniques, Tofu, Yoghurt and Paneer, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Holidays. Thoughts. Thick Thick Yoghurt: How to make

  1. Peter says:

    Nicely done and explained. This is what Greeks make Tzatziki with…overnight is best.

    Thanks Peter! I thought it might be Greek as well. I will find many uses for this, I am certain.

  2. notyet100 says:

    looks delicious..wann try soon…..

    Come, come – I will make you some.

  3. victoria says:

    I know this to be called “yogurt cheese” and it’s so easy to make, isn’t it? Sometimes I add a bit of salt and fresh herbs to a batch. Better for me than cream cheese and I like the tangy-tart of yogurt. I have also done this with goat’s milk yogurt. Lovely shot of the pears.

    Hi Victoria. Mmm Yogurt cheese. I can see why. Salt and herbs, even a bit of garlic or garlic oil would go so well. This will be a staple in my kitchen now.

    Thanks for commenting on the pears. Isn’t the light in autumn wonderful.

  4. dee says:

    Nice penning of thoughts !! first time on ur blog.. yogurt is soul food for me…

    Thank you dee. And welcome….

  5. ranji says:

    yogurt looks so thick ,fresh and just perfect!!!great job.

    Thank you! So glad that you like it.

  6. Lisa says:

    Have not made my own yogurt yet, but this post certainly inspires me to try soon. I’m loving the thickness!

    Hi Lisa – great! Oh my goodness, the thickness is so utterly …… [sound of wordlessness].

  7. maritasays says:

    Hmm, that sounds really delicious. And I have some muslin waiting to be used in the kitchen. And some yogurt!

    Go to it, Bordeaux! Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  8. chiffOnade says:

    Well, everyone knows at least TWO things about me:

    (1) I am SENIOR ADVISER at SeriousEats where I advise dummies who know nothing about cooking. And, (2) I only eat Fage Yogurt.

    I would never eat homemade.

    But thank you for sharing your recipe.

    Thank you so much for sharing, Chiffonade. We know a lot more about you now. Share your knowledge with love.

  9. Cynthia says:

    It is amazing the amount of liquid some things contain.

    It sure is. This dripped and dripped and dripped.

  10. holybasil says:

    I think the way you described your yogurt is very nice – *thick* yogurt seems more descriptive than *strained* yogurt… it speaks of the texture – which is the best part. I’ve made this myself and realize it’s as good as fromage blanc in France.

    I love pears too. I’ve recently become hooked on Chinese Fragrant pears that come from western China — have you tried them? They have the crisp texture of Ya Li and other Asian pears but with a honeyed sweetness and a very floral fragrance.

    Oh but is so much more than “strained”. That makes it sound like it is in pain. This is thick thick and delicious. It is as good as fromage blanc, and as versatile.

    I have not heard of Fragrant pears – I will have to find out some more about them. I have not heard of Ya Li either – maybe we don’t get them here or they are called something different here? We have nachi pears – I have had these in Hawaii also but they are called something quite different there. I will look harder when I am at the markets.

    [update] Apparently Ya Li and Nashi are different names for the same pear.

  11. Swati Raman says:

    will have to try this.. thanks for sharing…

    Thanks, Swati. I look forward to hearing of your experiences.

  12. Aparna says:

    Yogurt is not only tasty but also very heathy stuff.
    And do try making the shrikhand. Its worth the effort. You can make it plain too, with only cardamom for flavouring.
    Being from Palakkad, this (like the filter coffee) is a staple in my home. I make yogurt everyday but drain the whey only if I need to make something from it.
    If you boil milk so it is very slightly reduced, allow it to cool till it is only just warm and then make yogurt with this milk, you get lovely thick yogurt.
    Of course, the texture depends on the milk and the temperature at which it sets!

    Hi Aparna, so glad you dropped by. I will make the shrikhand soon, I promise, once I get over the deliciousness of the thick yoghurt! :-) I am going to try making my own too. Your instructions are very clear. Thank you.

  13. Suganya says:

    I know you like to play with words. I totally admire you on that :)

    Oh thank you Suganya, that is so lovely of you to say that. Thank you.

  14. Pingback: Holidays. Thoughts. Shrikand: A recipe « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  15. Pingback: This Past Month in Review - May « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  16. Pingback: Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate: A recipe « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  17. Pingback: Spicy Rustic Red Lentil Soup with Thick Thick Yoghurt: A recipe « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  18. Pingback: Haydari: A Turkish recipe « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  19. Deeba says:

    YUM…my fave way to eat yogugrt. I usually leave it in the fridge in a steel sieve overnight & have even made a mango cheesecake of sorts with it recently. It’s my base for a dip to eat with chips & crudites, to make a sour cream & much more. I’m glad you discovered this!

    … I have some draining in the fridge right now …. Tomorrow, I will have some with honey and toasted pine nuts, I think….

  20. Suziwong66 says:

    drained yoghurt cheese is also known as labna, lebne, labnah, lebneh…a variety of spellings is apparently acceptable.

    I just put some in the fridge yesterday. i like to infuse mine with garlic pods & rosemary florettes….it’s fabulous with crackers.

    i put a tsp of salt in the yoghurt to help the draining/separation of curd & whey process.

    YUM….clapping in excitement about yoghurt cheese LOL

  21. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  22. Ganga – this was wonderful! I finally made some strained yogurt, mixed in honey, crushed elaichi (cardamon) and berry mix. OMG! So delicious. Will post pics!

    I followed this success with rasberry yogurt/shrikhand! I like this trend!

  23. Pingback: Berry Delicious Thick Yogurt! « Arun Shanbhag

  24. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  25. Pingback: May 8th, 2013. Cooking with Yoghurt | Heat in the Kitchen

  26. Pingback: June 7th 2013. What to do with a BBQ? And a Slow Cooker? AND a Dehydrator? | Heat in the Kitchen

  27. Pingback: August 3rd 2013. On Indian Curd, Yoghurt and Buttermilk. Demystifying these Indian ingredients – very different to what you might be used to | Heat in the Kitchen

  28. Pingback: Aug 30, 2013. Citron Melons, Pie Melons, Paddy Melons and Jam Melons. As Country as you can get. | Heat in the Kitchen

  29. Pingback: 1998, Breakfast Suggestions from The Archive | Heat in the Kitchen

  30. Pingback: July 2002. Spicy Roasted Parsnip Soup, from Delving The Archives | Heat in the Kitchen

  31. Pingback: Dec, 2002. Charles’ Coffee and Icecream Dessert. Foraging in The Archives. | Heat in the Kitchen

  32. Pingback: October 13, 2013. A Note on Salted, Pickled Lemons and Limes. | Heat in The Kitchen

  33. Pingback: June, 2003. A Yoghurt Curry. Yodelling around The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  34. Pingback: Spring here, Autumn there. Everyone Cooking. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  35. Pingback: Rose petals and yoghurt: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  36. Pingback: Thick Yoghurt Tahina Dip with Herbs: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  37. Pingback: July, 1999. Anise Baked Pears or Apples. From The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  38. Pingback: On Life, and a wonderful recipe for Drumstick Kadhi | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  39. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for May: wherever you are. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  40. Pingback: Pudla with Green Coriander and Mung Sprouts. Chickpea Flour Fritters for Brunch on 25th November, 2013. | Heat in The Kitchen

  41. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for December – Early Summer – Southern Hemisphere. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  42. Pingback: Monday Morning Vegetarian Inspiration: What is for Breakfast? | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  43. Pingback: Are Apricots what they used to be? Baked Apricots with Honey and Orange. A Recipe. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  44. Pingback: Salty, Garlicky Labneh/ Thick Thick Yoghurt | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

