Holidays. Thoughts. Blueberry Shrikand: A recipe

Shrikhand recipe

There was a grub on the marigolds this morning. A fat happy chappy, curled up and content. I couldn’t help laughing. It was almost as if I could hear his contentment and tiredness after munching through a dozen flowers, eating all of the petals. What an appetite Mr. Grub has. I took him and left him in another part of the garden where he can eat undisturbed – his munching won’t leave such detailed signs, and Mr. Bird Always Looking For Food is less likely to spot him.

There is a happiness in eating good food cooked with love, isn’t there. I felt really happy today. Once upon a time I cooked a vegetable soup. It had 13 vegetables and herbs in it. It left me feeling so warm and happy that I named it “13 Treasure Happiness Soup”. It is one of my classics and I will post it this winter.

Today I made TBC’s Rasberry Shrikand from the last of the thick thick yoghurt, and had it for breakfast. Who would have thought that yoghurt and honey could taste so fine? Then I had some home made paneer in the fridge waiting patiently, and I made the best Mint Paneer for lunch. I felt so incredibly good afterwards. So light and happy. Dancing inside.

Shrikhand recipe

So I made some home-made yoghurt for the first time. Making paneer successfully took several attempts to get it consistently good. But today the stars must be all aligned, because my yoghurt is wonderful.

I continue to be amazed by the wonderful shadows of Autumn. Usually I say that I love the light, but actually it is the shadows I love. Cast by low sun, mellow after the summer blaze. Sometimes it takes my breath away. Light shining through trees. Roots exposed in shade and light. How flowers grow longer and lankier at this time of the year, and that causes them to swish and sway in the breezes. As I am driving, light plays in between buildings, spilling out onto the road in shards of sun.

I am obsessed at the moment by the shadows. You may have noticed. There is a silence in them, a pause. Like that pause at the top of your breath, so empty, so necessary, serving to highlight your in or out breath. Like the silence Arvo Part uses in his music. Perfect. Necessary. Shadows. So it is with light.

Shrikhand  recipe

I saw a lotus today, too. An Amazonian lotus of huge proportions. And with that, a Blue Nile lotus, not yet open. Sacred to the Egyptians who believed that god sat at the centre of the lotus.

Shrikant Recipe

There is also a lotus pond in our Botanical Gardens, currently going through its decay cycle. I love the pond, and often run into Indian people there. They visit because the lotus is sacred for them too.

Shrikant Recipe

I visited a spice farm once, in Goa. There were no clocks there, only several types of lotus. The workers all lived on the property. Their days were ruled by the opening and closing of the various types of lotus – when to start work, when to stop for lunch, when to resume work, when to finish for the day.

My day started with the Shrikand. I tweaked it a bit from TBC’s version, but not much.

Shrikant recipe

Blueberry Shrikand

Source : inspired by The Budding Cook
Cuisine: Indian
Prep time: 10 mins + draining time for yoghurt
Cooking time: 0 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
0.5 cup drained, thick yoghurt (obtained by straining a cup or so of yoghurt for at least 2 hours and overnight if possible. See this post for details.)
2 Tbsp organic honey
20-25 blueberries, pureed (they can be frozen blueberries)
A pinch of cardamom powder
A pinch of salt
A few cashews, broken into small pieces

Method
Mix all the ingredients together and chill before serving. Top with the cashews and whole blueberries. The cashews are essential, a wonderful contrast to the creaminess of the yoghurt mix.

Eat and enjoy!

Shrikant recipe

Read some more:

Ways with Yoghurt:

The Holiday Series

From The Dairy Series

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

crab apple jelly recipe Baked Strawberry Strawberry Recipes This Week in November


More Food, Recipes and Cooking:

Creme Fraiche Recipe Pears and Thick Yoghurt (How to make thick yoghurt) Roasted Rosemary Pears Recipe Yogi Tea Chai Recipe Gratineed Tomatoes with Cheese Recipe Tempting Recipes Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Baked Chickpea Snack Recipe Making Roasted Garlic Oil Play nice with Rice Month of Shopping Tomato Paella

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 05 Late Autumn, Blackberries, Breakfast, Dairy, Dessert, Indian, Spices and Herbs, Thoughts, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Holidays. Thoughts. Blueberry Shrikand: A recipe

  1. victoria says:

    It’s so interesting to read your posts about autumn while in Seattle we are (trying) to have spring. Yes, shadows make autumn, well, autumn. And the smell of leaves. You mentioned Arvo Part. Last December we heard a couple of his pieces sung by Seattle Pro Musica, Seattle’s world-class choral group. You are right, his music is more suited for the long-shadowed autumn. Wonderful photos.

    Hi victoria, it is wierd when you are reading about the opposite season. I have been a huge fan of Arvo Part for about 15 years. I have mixed feelings about it being performed. Sometimes the silence in his music is not understood or given credence by the people performing it. But when they get it right, oh it is so good. And thanks for you lovely comment.

  2. lakshmi says:

    How beautiful – the lotus bloom and close to indicate what its time for. I am looking forward o your 13 Treasure Happiness Soup.

    Food is indeed a joyful experience. I still remember as a toddler whenever we visited our ancestral home, I’d be over enthusiastic to get ready and go to have breakfast at our neighbour’s place – Akka, as I call her, makes the most wonderful idlis that one could have ever tasted. A couple of clouds scooped from tiny moulds especially for me and bit of coconut chutney on the side. That’s how my love for food began.

    Hi Lakshmi, I loved your story about idlies getting you hooked on food. I can understand why.

  3. notyet100 says:

    UR POSTS ARE ALWAYS GOOD,..AWESOME PICS,..ND YUMMY RECIPE

    … and you leave lovely comments. Your fabric work is so lovely – I am glad we ran into each other.

  4. Cham says:

    Beautiful lotus picture…. Lovely twist to srinkand!

  5. wow!! is that good or what! i’ve been seeing shrikhand recipes all over the blogs, its high time i tried one! :-) love your creative writing and ofcourse the pics too!

  6. Aparna says:

    I love the colour of the shrikhand.
    And the shadows in the park.

  7. I will definitely make this joghurt Jennifer! I also love making my own joghurt, usign bio-ingreidients..that way I know what I’m eating. this recipe looks and I’m sure, is delicious. Your mood is very autumn too, content and serene, noticing the negative space around you(art term), which defines the obvious beauty we see first. Your photos convey that beautifully. Especially in your joghurt shoot where the shadows are prominent. Beautiful!
    Ronell

    One of the things that is really nice about holidays is that it gives you the space to think about things that you would normally not have time to do. I have been thinking a lot about photography and my frustration with food photography is that it is so “bland” and uniform in many many respects. Bring in the shadows, I say. The contrast. The lusciousness of the dish.

    Unfortunately, when my hols are over, I will be back to the quick shoot whenever I get time to cook, rather than having the luxury to chase the light. C’est la vie.

  8. arundathi says:

    fabulous and your play on the shadows is really great!

    Hey thank you so much arundathi.

  9. TBC says:

    I am so glad to see that you made the shrikhand and liked it! :-) I would definitely let the yogurt sit overnight the next time I make it. I used to make my own yogurt once upon a time till I started getting lazy!
    Did you know that lotus is the national flower of India?
    I like the name you have given your feel-good soup.: D …and love the pic of the shadows cast by the sunlight filtering thro’ the trees.

    Oh, I loved it! More yoghurt draining as I write. Do try making your own again – it is very very good. Thanks for noticing my pics. I had forgotten that the lotus was the national flower – isn’t the Amazonian one awesome?

  10. Pingback: Holidays. Thoughts. Thick Thick Yoghurt: How to make « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  11. michelle says:

    the color is beyond beautiful, and i love the shadows in the picture.

    even though we’re right in the middle of spring where i am, this post makes me long for autumn!

    Hi michelle. Thank you for your lovely comment. Yes, autumn is so special here. And an incredibly long season. Winter still has not hit, and I hope that continues for a while yet. I am not a lover of cold weather.

  12. ranji says:

    beautiful photos!!!blueberry shrikand has an such a pleasing color..loved it:)

    Thank you! The colour is amazing against the black and white, isnt it? I just had a look at your mango kulfi. Mmmmm Yum.

  13. I am glad that my shrikhand inspiration passed on from TBC to you :) You & TBC did well adding your own twist on the shrikhand. Your shrikhand photos are also vibrant & lovely!

    Yay! Glad you dropped by and let me know. I will add your link to my post. This is a real find for me and will become a regular. Thank you so much!

  14. [PS] This is a fun blog, I’ll have to check it often. We have a perfect day to enjoy shrikhand today, so later!

    Thanks Mango Power Girl – I deleted your twin comment as requested. I think the link works Ok.

  15. Kevin says:

    That looks really good! What an amazing colour!

    Hi Kevin. Yes, an extraordinary colour, isn’t it? I made it a second time and it is just as rich in colour the second time round.

  16. amberjee says:

    You wouldn’t believe how far the Happiness Soup has travelled. I’m always meeting up with people, who say, oh by the way I cooked VegeYum’s happiness soup the other day – it’s the best soup ever!
    Amazing. I must cook it soon.

    Really? Wow. It is a wonderful soup and I can’t wait for it to be cold enough ….

  17. Pingback: Travel Thursday #12. The folding lotus. « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  18. journeykitchen says:

    I made strawberry Shrikhand and loved it. if blueberries didn’t cost arms and legs I would make some of this!

    Love that you use honey.

    http://journeykitchen.blogspot.com/2009/12/shrikhand-duo.html

    PS. I’m loving you blog!

  19. Pingback: August 3rd 2013. On Indian Curd, Yoghurt and Buttermilk. Demystifying these Indian ingredients – very different to what you might be used to | Heat in the Kitchen

  20. Pingback: Aug 30, 2013. Citron Melons, Pie Melons, Paddy Melons and Jam Melons. As Country as you can get. | Heat in the Kitchen

  21. Pingback: December, 1998. Two Recipes involving Berries and Kirsch. Investigating The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  22. Pingback: December, 1998. Three recipes for Baked Fruit with Marscapone. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  23. Pingback: June, 2003. A Yoghurt Curry. Yodelling around The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  24. Pingback: Rose petals and yoghurt: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  25. Pingback: Thick Yoghurt Tahina Dip with Herbs: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  26. Pingback: July, 2005 and September, 2003. Two Payasams – Indian Vermicelli and Sago. Paddling in The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  27. Pingback: July, 1999. Anise Baked Pears or Apples. From The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  28. Pingback: What is Deepavali / Diwali?: Kheer, a recipe. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  29. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for May: wherever you are. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  30. Pingback: Strawberries with a Mint Raspberry Sauce. December 25th, 2013. | Heat in The Kitchen

  31. Pingback: Suggestions for Foods for Pancha Ganapati: A Festival in December | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  32. Pingback: Food: A Note on Halva/Halwa. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

