Pomodori con Riso – Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice: A recipe

Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe

I have made this a couple of times now. It is really easy, and I love the textures. Served with a salad, or some roasted or baked vegetables, this is a delicious meal.

Stuffed vegetables went out with the Ark, but are coming back now. The rice is cooked in the juice and internal flesh of the tomatoes which adds a wonderful taste to the rice.

Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe

Recipe Notes

Cooking this dish tonight, I replaced the water with some dry white wine. It was a nice twist. Also, as it is wonderfully Autumn here, I added some autumnal vegetables to the dish as it baked. Some large spring/salad onions (called scallions in the US). Some strips of long capsicum which was red and green. A couple of garlic cloves. A sprig of rosemary.

I used my recently made garlic oil to drizzle over the tomatoes before they baked.

Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe

Pomodori con Riso – Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice

Source : inspired by Twelve: A Tuscan Cookbook
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 10 mins
Cooking time: 40 mins
Serves: 3 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
6 ripe round tomatoes, medium sized
5 Tblspns olive oil
3 garlic cloves, chopped
250g long-grain rice (e.g. basmati)
1 cup water
1 stalk celery
4 Tblspn grated parmesan cheese
12 basil leaves or sprig of rosemary
breadcrumbs (optional)

method
Preheat the oven to 180C. Slice the tops off of the tomatoes and set aside. Carfully, scoop out the flesh of the tomatoes with a spoon, taking care not to break the tomato shells.

Put the tomato shells into a baking dish, without overlapping and leaving a little space between. Using a little salt, season inside and outside the shells.

Puree the tomato flesh with a stick blender or in a blender.

Heat 2 Tblspns of the oil in a small saucepan with the garlic. Add the rice and the celery, and stir in the oil for a minute. Add half a cup of water and the tomato puree and season with salt and pepper. Cook for 10 minutes on medium heat.

Remove from the heat, add the parmesan and the basil and stir through gently.

Fill the tomato shells with the mixture. The rice will swell a little during cooking so do not overfill the tomatoes. Replace the tomato tops and splash with a little more oil. If desired, sprinkle the tops of the tomatoes with breadcrumbs.

Add the remaining half cup of water to the oven dish. Cook in the preheated oven for 40 minutes, until the rice is cooked, most of the liquid has been absorbed, and the outside of the tomatoes are lightly and gorgeously golden.

Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe

People are Saying:

many people on long island look forward to growing tomatoes in the summertime. there really isn’t anything quite as good as a tomato eaten fresh from the garden. have you ever eaten fresh sliced tomatoes with mayonnaise on potato bread? go here for another delicious tomato recipe.

Tomato Series

Rice Series

Italian Series

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Hot Olives Play nice with Rice A Tomato Feast Tomato Rasam


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Making Roasted Garlic Oil Coffee in India. Yum. Travel Recipe Strawberry Recipes Pearl Hummus Salad Recipe Seasonal Cooking crab apple jelly recipe NoKneadFocaccia Tomato Soup For the Children Taking Stock Net Friends Girls at Coffee

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 10 Mid Spring, Breakfast, Italian, Lentils, Grains, Rice and Nuts, Tomatoes, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Pomodori con Riso – Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice: A recipe

  1. Peter says:

    Beautifully photographed and no doubt delish.

    Hi Peter, thank you! Very delish, without a doubt.

  2. bee says:

    this is gorgeous. can’t wait to try it when our tomatoes ripen.

    Hi bee, hope they ripen soon! That wait is an anxious one – when I used to grow my own even tho tomatoes would be available in the shops, the home grown ones don’t ripen until near Xmas (ie 3 weeks into summer). It is a long wait…

  3. sangeeth says:

    this is sooo yummy! i will try for sure :) thanks for sharing the recipe

    Thanks, sangeeth, perfect for Autumn or Spring, I think.

  4. TBC says:

    What a lovely meal!
    The pics are beautiful as always. :-)

    This is going to be standard fare at my place now. It is quite delish. Thanks for your lovely comment, TBC. I am so grateful for your support. Each comment makes my day happier.

  5. notyet100 says:

    as always,.again something new,…nice one..

    Thank you!

  6. arundathi says:

    this looks so delicious! will try it soon.
    btw, how long do you have to put the tomatoes in the oven after you put in the filling?

    Well spotted. Thank you so very much for reading so carefully. I will adjust the post.

  7. Melandroweb says:

    Post very interesting, congratulations, a cordial greeting from the south of Italy

    Greetings to you also Melandroweb. Thank you for your lovely comment.

  8. Aparna says:

    They look so beautiful. I like these and green bell peppers stuffed with spiced potatoes, but my husband and daughter don’t.:(

    I love the sound of the capsicums stuffed with spicy potatoes – yum! Your family sure is missing out. I love these tomatoes, and the texture of the rice against that of the tomatoes.

  9. Niamh says:

    Looks delicious!

    Thanks, Niamh. You like tomatoes too, I guess from the excellent postings on your blog.

  10. chiff0nade says:

    My problem is that I hate tomatoes. That’s pretty weird for a italian immigrant.

    We all have different tastes, i guess – me, I could not live without them.

  11. Shawn says:

    I saw your tomatoes on TasteSpotting, and I just love that this retro way of cooking is coming back! By the way, the spring onions I see in the baking dish photo–in the U.S. we call them scallions or spring onions. What we call shallots in the U.S. are small onions with brown skin and purplish flesh.

    Thanks for your comment and the info, Shawn. I will adjust the post. I love rustic cooking – it never went out of fashion in my kitchen, except perhaps I have not stuffed vegetables for a while….

  12. Srivalli says:

    G, that sure looks so captivating!…what a wonderful meal to enjoy!

    Thanks, Srivalli. I love this dish a lot. So easy too.

  13. Núria says:

    For me, rice is a basic and so is tomatoe… you made a simple and fantastic dish! Very nice :D

    Hi Nuria, I agree. where would we be without either?

  14. underexposure says : I absolutely agree with this !

    I think that means that you like it.

  15. Suganya says:

    You can also stuff these with bulgur. Chewy and nutty.

    Yum! Sounds wonderful.

  16. Pingback: Cucumber Salad with Sesame: A recipe from Tamilpu « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  17. Lily says:

    this sounds absolutely delicious! I put a link to this post on my blog today. you have a beautiful blog.

    Wow, thank you so much. Your photo of the tomatoes is wonderful.

  18. maritasays says:

    I like the idea of the rice cooking in the tomato. I have some friends who really don’t like stuffed veggies, but I’m a big fan and this is fantastic!

  19. Edward Lane says:

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  20. osta says:

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! :)

    I’m Out! :)

  21. Excellent Ganga I also love this dish it was cooked for me by a wonderful Italian friend in Roma last summer, the kind and caring Stella. Her version was a little different and always delicious. She baked them surrounded with potatoes. And yes indeed Yummie as yours look. Your photos are always luxurious!

  22. diamondpearl says:

    Hi! I really admire your little recipe there, I tried you recipe with basmati rice !!

  23. Pingback: August, 2012: Live Joyfully. Eat Well. Stay Healthy. Stuff those Tomatoes. « Heat in the Kitchen

  24. Pingback: How to: Tomatoes > Start Cooking

  25. Pingback: February, 2001. Caponata Siciliana. Eggplant and Tomatoes. Cavorting around The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  26. Pingback: Spring here, Autumn there. Everyone Cooking. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  27. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for May: wherever you are. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  28. Pingback: Ingredients: A Note on How To Cook Rice | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  29. Pingback: Plump Ruby Bites: A Recipe for Slow Oven Dried Tomatoes with Sumac | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  30. Pingback: Monday Morning Vegetarian Inspiration: What is for Breakfast? | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

