Cucumber Salad with Sesame: A recipe from Talimpu

Cucumber Salad Recipe

I was cooking my lovely stuffed tomatoes, and while they were baking I was catching up on reading my regular foodie blogs. I came across a post from Talimpu describing a Cucumber Salad with Sesame and I knew that I had to have this for lunch.

In the West we don’t think of sesame as a natural accompaniment for cucumber. Nor do we eat cucumber warm or cooked – cucumber is strictly a salad vegetable.

In the East and Orient their cuisines incorporate cooked cucumber, and in the Chinese influenced worlds, associate sesame with it as well. One of my favourites is rice wine and sesame oil with spring onions/shallots and cucumbers. You can even heat the oil a little before pouring over the vegetables.

This gorgeous recipe from Talimpu is a warm cucumber recipe. It involves sesame seeds, which add a touch of the dramatic to the dish. I didn’t have any peanuts on hand, so I used pinenuts for a delicious twist. I also used toasted sesame oil to accentuate the sesame flavours. Today, this salad was a wonderful starter before serving my stuffed tomatoes. Thank you Talimpu for posting it. Delish.

Cucumber Salad Recipe

Cucumber Salad with Sesame

Source : inspired by Talimpu ‘. You can see the original post here.
Cuisine: Fusion
Prep time: 10 mins
Cooking time: 5 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
3 Lebanese Cucumbers
1 Tblspn raw unsalted peanuts (or use pinenuts or hazelnuts for a different taste)
1 Tblspn black sesame seeds (use white if you don’t have black)
1 green chilli
1 tspn cumin seeds
a pinch of asafoetida powder
coriander/cilantro
salt to taste
1 – 2 tspn oil – toasted sesame, olive, or peanut

Method
Peel and chop cucumbers into small cubes. Remove the stems and finely slice the green chilli. Finely chop the coriander/cilantro.

Heat a small pan, add the sesame seeds and toast them for a minute or two. Watch carefully, as they overcook very quickly. Remove from the pan and keep aside.

Add the raw peanuts or pinenuts to the pan and sauté them until roasted. Remove them from the heat and crush the nuts with a pestle.

Heat the oil in the pan and add the cumin seeds and asafoetida. When the cumin seeds turn brown, add the green chilli, and remove the pan from the heat.

Add the cucumber, and salt. If it splatters too much, cover the pan until it dies down. Stir through and allow the cucumber to warm. You can put it over a very gentle flame for a moment or two but no longer.

In a mixing bowl, combine the cucumber mixture, crushed nuts, toasted sesame seeds and chopped coriander/cilantro. Serve immediately or at room temperature.

People are saying:

I wish I was … Sesame and Cucumber Salad

Normally, you think of cucumber as a cold ingredient, but there are dishes were the cucumber is served warm like in this Cucumber salad with sesame and pine nuts. Just looking at the pictures makes my mouth water. [A Life (Time) of Cooking]

Read some more:

The Cucumber Series

The Salad Series

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Simple is Best Cucumber Salad Zucchini Curry


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Making Roasted Garlic Oil Coffee in India. Yum. Travel Recipe Strawberry Recipes Pearl Hummus Salad Recipe Click! Seasonal Cooking This Month - September Pane Di Prato Semolina No-Egg Pasta More on the Making of Teas Dried Capsicums Beans Galore

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 05 Late Autumn, Cucumber, Fast Food, Middle Eastern, Salads, Spices and Herbs, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Cucumber Salad with Sesame: A recipe from Talimpu

  1. anusharaji says:

    that sure looks dramatic
    am glad u made it n loved it
    n cud u pls swap tamilpu with taLiMpu
    thx ;)

    Hi anusharaji, big apologies about the spelling. Thanks so much for the comment, the dish is gorgeous.

  2. Hetal says:

    Thats a very nice recipe..

    Hi Hetal, love getting your comments. I see that you are supporting Bri too. Let’s make a huge effort to raise the funds.

  3. bee says:

    dear g,
    the fundraiser announcement is up. hope you got my e-mail.

    bee

    Hi bee, I have been on holidays and away from phone and email. I will catch up tomorrow (Monday).

  4. Aparna says:

    Sesame seeds with cucumber is interesting. And if you like cucumber salads, you should try Kosmalli/ Kosumbari. There’s a version on my blog.

    It sounds delicious and certainly worth trying. Thanks for mentioning it, Aparna.

  5. Reemas says:

    havn’t heard of this combination, I will try this – looks good though, thank you, keep writing.

    Reemas,
    PrivateMarriage.com

    Thanks for dropping by, Reemas. Thanks you for your lovely comment, and do hope you can try it. Let me know how it goes.

  6. arundathi says:

    that does look refreshing and lovely…gonna be my lunch today! :)

    Oh, wait, I will be there for lunch … :-) Hope it turned out alright.

  7. What a great, fresh looking salad!

    Thank you! I am glad that image came across in the pics. Thanks to Talimpu… a great recipe

  8. lovely lovely!

    i can’t wait to give this a try.

    Great – let me know how it goes, Diva.

  9. gkbloodsugar says:

    It’s always refereshing to see a new use for Cucumber.
    Your colours are brilliant, and I can almost feel those textures.

    … ah, probably an ancient use of cucumber if the truth be told. Thanks for your lovely comments about the pics. I appreciate it a lot.

  10. The first time I heard about the cucumber and sesame combination for a dish. Sounds interesting. I should try this one. Thanks for the recipe

    I hope that you do. Don’t the black sesame seeds look great against the cucumber?

  11. I love this combination! And you’re right — I never would have thought to put cucumbers and sesame seeds together but it looks like such a natural pairing here. Great photos and recipe; thanks!

    Thanks, Angela.

  12. Hillary says:

    This is great! I love cucumber salads but have never seen one like this. Looks really tasty.

    Hi Hillary. Maybe it will become part of your cucumber repertoire.

  13. I love the photos. The sesame seeds make the cucumber look like kiwi at first. Trompe l’oeil, at least for me.

    Thank you! It does look a bit like kiwi bow that you mention it. Glad that you like it!

  14. FoodJunkie says:

    Great recipe, I will try it soon as I have loads of sesame lying around

    Great! You will love it.

  15. Kevin says:

    That cucumber salad looks good!

    Thanks, Kevin. It is quite amazing.

  16. How interesting! I’ve never tried warm cucumbers before. I’m going to try to squeeze this in before the end of cucumber season here.

    It is a beautiful recipe from Talimpu. Do try it. I could not bear it if you had to wait until next year.

  17. Bumped into your blog,while I was surfing for something different on cucumber apart from cucumber raita recipe. This looks great, never thought sesame with cucumber…but will definitly try this.
    I am referring your link in my blog..

  18. Rayhan says:

    yum yum

  19. Chef Felisha says:

    I love cucumbers in so many things and a little on the warm side with sesame sounds and looks delicious. Thanks so much for sharing this with us. I’m sure this will make it to someones table shortly. :-)

  20. Pingback: Early September, 2012. Orzo! Bless you! (A salad) « Heat in the Kitchen

  21. Pingback: Ingredients: On Almonds, Sweet and Bitter. From the Archives. | Heat in the Kitchen

  22. Pingback: Spring here, Autumn there. Everyone Cooking. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  23. Pingback: Haloumi and Orange Salad. Two Variations on a Recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  24. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for May: wherever you are. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  25. Pingback: May, 2003. Yazarf Sabzi (Iranian Bowl of Herbs). From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  26. Pingback: Cucumber Curry to die for: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  27. Pingback: September, 1998. Ganga’s Hot Tomato Cream Salsa. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  28. Pingback: Zahtar for Me, Dukkah for You: A Recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  29. Pingback: Two Cucumber Salads. From The Archives. January 1999 and 2003. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

