Home-Made Tomato Paste: How to make

Home Made Tomato Paste Recipe
Every Autumn I use the wonderful juicy autumnal tomatoes to make my own tomato paste, which I then freeze. The recipe comes from a book on life in Tuscany, which I have since lost track of. And rather than bottle it, I freeze it in small bits, ready to bring out and pop into any dish that needs it. It lasts all winter.

I usually store in individual small containers, but you could freeze in an icecube tray and then put the cubes into ziplock bags. The cubes will be ready for you to pop straight into the pan when required. Come to think of it, that would save a lot of space and I might do it that way this year.

Home Made Italian Tomato Paste

Source : from my old Food_Matters Site
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 60 mins
Cooking time: 90 – 120 mins
Serves: all winter

ingredients
3 Tblspn olive oil
2 cups onion, finely chopped
4 – 6 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 – 2 red peppers, finely chopped
1 – 2 large carrots, finely chopped or grated
2 – 3 stalks celery, finely chopped
1 kg tomatoes, chopped into small pieces

method
Saute the onions, garlic, peppers, carrots and celery in the oil until the onions are soft and clear. Add teh tomatoes and simmer until thick, approx. 45 – 60 minutes. If you chop the ingredients finely enough it will not be necessary to do anything else. Otherwise, sieve them or blend with an immersion blender.

Divide into 2 – 4 Tblspn lots and freeze. Use during winter any time tomato paste is required, or when something needs a tomato hit eg soup, risotto, paella etc.

Read some more:

The How To Series

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Tomato Paella Tomato Rasam A Tomato Feast Chickpea in all its glory


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Baked Chickpea Snack Recipe Making Roasted Garlic Oil Coffee in India. Yum. Travel Recipe Tempting Links and Strawberry Recipes Pearl Hummus Salad Recipe Rolls Rice Broad Bean Pate This Week in November Dukkah Eggplant Curry

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 05 Late Autumn, Italian, Preserves, Sunday Afternoon at Home Cooking, Tomatoes, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Home-Made Tomato Paste: How to make

  1. janetching says:

    Hi there, I like your photos very much, so professional, certainly increase my appetite.

    Hi Janet. Thanks a lot. Hope you don’t mind, i have added your url to your comment so that people can find your new blog.

  2. victoria says:

    A really good idea. I love freezing things in ice cube trays. Makes meals quick later.

    It sure does, victoria. In the past I have chopped parsley and frozen in cubes, juiced lemons and stored lemon cubes. So handy, and ziplock bags of ice cubes in the freezer save so much space.

  3. TBC says:

    The pic says it all! :D

    I freeze a tomato-onion paste (which I use in a lot of North Indian dishes) in my ice tray . It was a very nice tip I got from one of the other blogs.

    Oh, the tomato-onion paste sounds wonderful – do you have a recipe? I am loving the ice cube trick too.

  4. Lisa says:

    What a great idea to make your own tomato paste. I’ve come across the idea before to freeze little bits of it in ice cube trays. I find that I often end up wasting half a tin or so of paste. Will try this.

    I am finding the ice cubes so very handy. I do recommend it.

  5. Lucy says:

    Briliant thought!

    That top photo is divine!

    Thanks, Lucy. I love pics of empty pots and their suggestiveness, rather than the reality. Pics of cubes of frozen tomato paste could never be as inviting…

  6. Srivalli says:

    thats a lovely idea…should try this method..though we use up so much that we got to make it fresh every time!..that picture is really tempting!

    Fresh every time! Wow. That is a lot of tomato cooking :-) . Thanks for your lovely comments. Isn’t it interesting how an empty bowl or pot can be very evocative.

  7. lakshmi says:

    this is very useful and handy. we prepare tomato paste and freeze it too (my mom does it actually :) ) – http://theyumblog.wordpress.com/2007/09/28/tomato-paste-prepared-in-micro-wave/

    I added your link to my post. It sounds an easy way to prepare tomato paste for freezing, too.

  8. macchu says:

    Perfect pic!..loved the recipe.Just yesterday brought a big can of tomato paste.Next time will try u’r recipe..

    What a pity. Never mind, you can make this when your tomato paste runs out.

  9. arundathi says:

    what a simple and lovely idea – i’m definitely going to try this. thanks.

    Hi arundathi. Glad you are going to try this. It is such a help during the winter months.

  10. Suganya says:

    And you tease us with an empty pot :(

    :-)

  11. janetching says:

    Hi Aum, no I don’t mind at all. Thx for helping. I eventually solved the tech problem I mention earlier, I need to learn writing html. New to me but fun. Now I hope I can write more posts after having my blog structure i want. Cheers

  12. Kitchen Goddess says:

    I will try this as we have loads of tomato and pepper plants in the garden this year. Thank you for the recipe :D

    Yay! You can make TONS of this, for use throughout the rest of the year. I also sometimes give some away to friends. It makes a very unusual but much appreciated gift.

  13. Ginny says:

    What a great idea! I love it!

    Thanks, Ginny. I have been making this for many years now. Why, just yesterday I popped a frozen cube into a soup that I was making.

  14. Pingback: Spicy Rustic Red Lentil Soup with Thick Thick Yoghurt: A recipe « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  15. Pingback: how to can a tomato at home

  16. Gary B. says:

    I have been wanting to make my own tomato paste for sometime now! I love to make chilis and sauces from scratch, and am trying to stay away from all canned goods. All the recipes I have found have called for 24-48 tomatoes, and I do not want to make that much at one time! Your recipe only calls for 1 kg.! I have not tried your recipe yet though; it just seems oversimplified. I imagine that the tomatoes still need to be blanched and cored, right?

    That’s right – small batches are just fine. Why cook large amounts and stress yourself out? No, I don’t blanch and core. I am a rustic cook, which leaves flavour maximised. I chop the tomatoes into small chunks and this works well. If you don’t chop them small enough you can always meuli the results or give it a whiz with the immersion blender. This is a traditional Italian recipe, and it works so very well. Hope you try it out.

  17. Rita says:

    What is “kg” ie How many tomatoes?

    A kg is a kilogram. Its a metric unit used in most of the world. It equals around 2.2 pounds. Good luck with your tomatoes.

  18. janetching says:

    Hi there, great way to make use of my garden tomatoes.

    Great – I hope that you managed to store some in the freezer for winter

  19. RobertS says:

    I used 35kgs of tomatoes last year and the whole family loved it! My 13 month daughter also eats it with pasta :)

    Next week I will be buying 50kgs of tomatoes and 15 kgs of red pepper, 250 pieces of garlic….etc….just to enjoy this lovely fresh taste all winter long.

    Thank for this lovely recipe

  20. Pingback: Tomato Paste – Done! | Finding Summer

  21. Knorr Soups says:

    Ganga, thank you for this wonderful recipe and for demonstrating the ways and means of using the freshest and best ingredients to remain healthy. Tomatoes are easily available everywhere, and if we could simply buy them in bulk and prepare the tomato paste to store them for several months, we can easily avoid store bought stuff that uses God knows what! For some expert tips and suggestions on healthy eating habits visit http://knorratseven.blogspot.com/.

  22. Cure says:

    I receive a problem subscribing to your RSS Feed… It says feed is activated, nonetheless I never get updates in my feed reader… Any Ideas?

  23. swiss says:

    Hi,I discover that your blog is extremely beneficial and helpful,it’s so helpful to me, you’ve done a great job. I’m a frequent visitor to your blog and can return again soon.

  24. hpmini 21 says:

    Excellent!

  25. Alicia Keys says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. Who knew it was this simple to make tomato paste? The ice cube tray is a good trick! That works for freezing herbs too.

  26. Pingback: Mid September, 2012. Nut butters, Pickled Lemon Slices, Channa Dal, Goda Masala and Other Things « Heat in the Kitchen

  27. Pingback: June 7th 2013. What to do with a BBQ? And a Slow Cooker? AND a Dehydrator? | Heat in the Kitchen

  28. Pingback: Fresh Squeezed Bloody Mary with Rosemary Infused Vodka & Goat Cheese Olives | V

  29. Pingback: Masala Mung Wadi – Golden Lentil Drops in a Tomato Garlic Sauce. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  30. Pingback: Beautiful Food for June: Recipes for Southern and Northern Hemispheres | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  31. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for December – Early WINTER – Northern Hemisphere. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  32. Pingback: Go Spanish! Go Spanish! Tomato Paella: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  33. Pingback: What I was thinking about in The Kitchen in October, 2007 | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  34. Pingback: Plump Ruby Bites: A Recipe for Slow Oven Dried Tomatoes with Sumac | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  35. Pingback: Italian Tomato Sauce. From The Archives. January and March, 1998. | Heat in The Kitchen

  36. Pingback: Ingredients: A Note on My 1 Rule For Tomatoes. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

