Tempting! Fabulous Links to Fantastic Food

Tempting! June

So much to cook, so little time. Some of my favourite recent finds. Enjoy! (PS for more pics of borlotti beans, click here.)

Bring me the Spice

  • Recently, as part of a regular travel post theme, I featured, I traditional vegetarian feasts on banana leaves in south India. In one of the meals we were served a wonderful golden yellow dal which was magnificent and became my favourite. Jugalbandi took up the challenge, talking about sadhyas (the banana leaf feasts) in Tamil Nadu and Kerala and explaining how parippu (lentils) are used and cooked in South India. They also provide the recipe for Naadan Parippu (Lentils, Kerala Style), that magnificent dish I ate on my recent trip.
  • Jugalbandi again. They have the most wonderful looking Sag Gonglu (Greens with Turnips). Madhuran’s Eggless Cooking has a Beet Greens Dal.
  • One of my favourite Indian restaurants in Hong Kong makes the best Puri. I order it every time that I visit. It looks exactly like this Alu Dahi Puri Chat, from Hooked on Heat.
  • Another Indian favourite is rasam. This one will cure anything  as well as taste delicious – Garlic and Pepper Rasam from Quick Indian Cooking.
  • The Big Bite explains the tadka (spices cooked in ghee or oil to be added to a dish at the end of cooking)! She unravels the mysteries of the tadka, and explains how it works with different types of dishes.

Vegetables

Tempting! June

Sweet Things

  • It is citrus season here, with wonderful fruit at the markets. Mandarin Jam anyone? From The Traveler’s Lunchbox.
  • Talking of citrus, how about making an icecream with coconut and limes. Eggs on Sunday will have you singing that song (She put the lime in the coconut….).
  • I think I might have mentioned this one before, but I will do so again and it is right on topic. French Citrus Fruit Jellies, from Zoe Bakes.
  • Do you remember cooking bananas with butter and sugar? We used to wrap them in foil and bake in the oven or on the BBQ. Well, For the Cook in Me brings them back, except this time she cooks the bananas in ghee.
  • I was not sure whether to put this into Sweet Things or under Vegetables. Mac and Cheese make an avocado icecream. It looks delicious…

Salty

  • Raw Epicurian discusses salt. I use Celtic Sea salt, here called French Grey Salt, and have also tried the Himalayan Salt.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Roasted Rosemary Pears Recipe crab apple jelly recipe Chickpea, Almond and Sesame Spread Simple is Best


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Lotus Cambodia Travel A Rockin\' Award Clare - Click Yellow for Bri Cucumber Salad Recipe Indian Custard Recipe Home Made Tomato Paste Recipe Porridge with thick yoghurt Recipe Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Recipe Tempting Links This month in my Kitchen - November Cucumber Salad Simple Tomato Salad - YUM

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 06 Early Winter, Links, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tempting! Fabulous Links to Fantastic Food

  1. bee says:

    are those cranberry beans? they are beautiful.

    They are! We call them borlotti beans here. Found some fresh in the markets the other day. The colours are simply stunning.

  2. Mallika says:

    You’ve gt a veritable feast going on here… you’re little photos are gorgeous too.

    Thanks Mallika. I appreciate your thoughts. Thank you.

  3. I also know them as berlotti and they are just beautiful! You have so many great links again. I’ll have to pick your brain soon as I’ve received some very interesting spices and I feel a bit out of my depth. You have so much knowledge about spices.
    and thanks for the mention..
    ronell

    Hey, yes, ronell, email me and I will see what I can do…

  4. Ingrid says:

    Nice line up of links and thank you for including me. I am another one who appreciates the beauty of berlotti beans. I’m inspired to create a dish with it. Looking forward to visiting your site more often.

    Hi Ingrid, so glad you found us here. The beans are very special. I look forward to your dish!

  5. TBC says:

    Those beans are simply stunning! I don’t think I’ve ever seen this before.
    Do they retain the color even when cooked?

    Unfortunately, they don’t retain the colour. The beans inside are also striped like the outsides and look so fantastic. But the red leaches out as the cook. Still, they are so tasty, no one minds.

  6. Mansi says:

    I have never seen these before!! forget cookign with them!:) but now you’ve both intrigued and inspired me to lookout for these:)

    Hi Mansi, I hope that you manage to find some…

  7. rachel says:

    I love the pics of the Borlotti beans…especially the pink streaks.

    Such beauties. I could not resist them.

  8. Srivalli says:

    those beans look so lovely..and of course your links are always exciting to check out!

    thank you – quite colourful beans, aren’t they. I love having them around.

  9. Madhuram says:

    The beans look so beautiful. God is definitely one modern artist!

    Thanks for taking the time to recipe hunt and posting them here.

    Thank you Madhuram! Siva definitely has a wonderful palette of colours as he paints our lives in his wonderful dance of creation.

  10. jaya says:

    Hi,
    just Came here and found some wonderful links,
    You Have linked sadhyas recipe, I would like you to visit this link also , you will like it .

    http://kitchenmishmash.blogspot.com/2008/04/sadya-vibhavangal-learn-to-make.html

    I am glad that you came, Jaya. That is one great link.

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

