Spicy Rustic Red Lentil Soup with Thick Thick Yoghurt: A recipe

Spicy Turkish Red Lentil Soup

In my palette of dried beans and lentils, it is the red lentil that is used least of all. I am not sure why. Its colour is lively, it is so easy to cook, does not require previous soaking and it falls to a wonderful creamy mush as it cooks. Perfect for when there is never enough time.

In my palette of dried beans and lentils, it is the red lentil that is used least of all. It is one of the four pulses commonly available as I was growing up – red lentils, split peas,  yellow split peas, barley – and was often thrown by the handful into overcooked soups and stews, left bland and forgotten at the bottom of the dish in an era when spices and herbs were not to be found in any Proper Country Australian Housewife’s kitchen. These women knew how to cook vegetables and meat for their men, but not “these dried things”.

Let that change. May my palette now include this wonderful orange – red lentil.

Spicy Turkish Red Lentil Soup

Spicy Rustic Red Lentil Soup with Thick Thick Yoghurt

Source : inspired by Turquoise
Cuisine: Turkish
Prep time: 15 mins
Cooking time: 50 – 60 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
250g red lentils
2 Tblspn olive oil
2 carrots, diced finely
1 onion, diced finely
2 cloves garlic, chopped finely
1 tspn paprika
1 tspn cumin
1.5 tspn sweet paprika
1 Tblspn tomato paste (or use home-made tomato paste)
1.5l vegetable stock
finely grated rind of half a lemon
sea salt and freshly ground pepper
1 tomato, seeded and diced

thick thick yoghurt (or use Greek yoghurt, creme fraiche, cream or feta)
herbs of choice, chopped finely

method
Sauté the carrot, onion and garlic in the oil over a low heat for 3 or 4 minutes. Add the paprika, sweet paprika and cumin, and continue to cook over low heat for 6 – 8 minutes or until the vegetables begin to soften.

Stir in the tomato paste and cook for another minute or two. Add the lentils and stock and bring to the boil.

Cook for 20 – 30 minutes, until the lentils are mushy and the vegetables cooked. Stir from time to time. Add the diced tomato and cook for another 10 minutes.

Beat the yoghurt with the herbs, or cut the feta into cubes and roll in the herbs.

Serve the soup with feta cubes or a large dollop of thick thick yoghurt.

People are Saying:

Nesse dia – em que eu sabia que queria sopa para o jantar, mas nem tinha ainda pensado muito nisso – andava a passear pelo TasteSpotting, um paraíso voyeurista para foodies, quando dei de caras com esta sopa. Tirando a bolota de iogurte ou natas, era perfeita (sim, nós não gostamos muito dessa coisa dos lacticínios na sopa). E resolvi experimentá-la.

A sopa é deliciosa, extremamente aromática e cheia de sabor. Não só não ouvi nenhum bleargh, como ouvi muitos hmmms! A sopa agradou, as torradas também e o jantar foi um sucesso! Esta é, sem dúvida, uma adição ao meu reportório de sopas, a repetir muitas e muitas vezes!

[Translated from Portugese by Google] On that day – that I knew I wanted soup for dinner, but had not yet thought much about it – walked the walk by TasteSpotting, voyeurista a paradise for foodies, when the guys gave to this soup. Apart from the tusk of yogurt or cream, was perfect (yes, we do not like that very thing in the milk soup). And decided try it out.

The soup is delicious, extremely aromatic and full of flavor. Not only does not hear any bleargh, as I heard many hmmms! The soup pleased, and also the toast dinner was a success! This is undoubtedly an addition to my repertoire of soups, repeating over and over again!

A new (to me) blog that’s about food. It’s beautiful and the recipes are delicious. This is a photo of today’s recipe offering, the photo is hers.

The blog is called A Life (Time) of Cooking. Even if you don’t cook, it’s beautiful to look at. So. Go. See.

Food Gawker is the place to go for foodie inspiration.
While there I came across spicy rustic red lentil soup.
“I HAVE RED LENTILS!
I COULD COOK THAT!”

I said to myself.

After all I quite like dahl, I made that once. (True bro!)

And while my picture is not very inspiring, it is proof that I cooked something off the interweb. Trust me it was delicious.

Read some more:

The Soup Series:

Ways with Yoghurt:

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Golden Dal Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Tomato Soup Yogurt and Feta Dip


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Recipe Porridge with Honey Glazed Apples Recipe Home Made Tomato Paste Recipe Indian Eggless Custard Recipe Cucumber Salad with Sesame Recipe Tempting Links Lotus flowers - 10 pictures meme Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe Cumquat Kumquat Marmarlade Sambar Spices Eggplant and Miso Recipe Its a Wrap

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 05 Late Autumn, Lentils, Grains, Rice and Nuts, Middle Eastern, Soups, Spices and Herbs, Turkish, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Spicy Rustic Red Lentil Soup with Thick Thick Yoghurt: A recipe

  1. Kalva says:

    Wow looks delish!!!

    Thanks, Kalva. Glad you liked it.

  2. Pingback: Tastespotting will be back: News « A Life (Time) of Cooking

  3. victoria says:

    I love all lentils but the red lentil does hold a special place in my heart. I like the mushiness. Makes wonderfully thick soups and stews. Just like this one. It looks delicious.

    I am convinced! I am not sure why I never cooked much with them.

  4. Srivalli says:

    wow..G..that cup looks delicious!…:)

    Thank you Srivalli. It was really nice eating it from the cup.

  5. manggy says:

    I’ve never seen red lentils, in fact I’ve only ever seen green ones, and rarely at that. Your soup has a really cool fiery color!
    Congrats on the recognition!

    Hi manggy, glad that you could visit. Never seen red lentils? Where have you been??? :-) Hope you discover them soon.

  6. Priya says:

    Looks delicious! Red lentils can be put to use in a good way!

    Thanks, Priya. They really are very good.

  7. Aparna says:

    Your soup looks and sounds full of flavour. I can see it would lend itself wonderfully to soups.
    I love masoor dal and it makes some great accompaniment to chapathis.

    Hi Aparna, thanks. It makes a lovely thick soup. Yum, with chapathis. I must try this.

  8. Trupti says:

    Soup looks delicious

    Hi Trupti. Thanks for your lovely comment.

  9. Pravs says:

    masoor dal is full of flavor and soup with it will be great. Very nice pic of the soup. Thanks for linking to my mixed dal recipe.

    Thanks, Pravs. Glad you liked the pic. Your dal looks wooooonnnderfuuuul.

  10. Maninas says:

    hey you may be able to submit this to Lisa’s (from Lisa’s Kitchen) lentil soup event! :)

    Too late, too late. :-(

  11. Lisa says:

    As Maninas notes, this would have been just perfect for this month’s no croutons required. Alas, the deadline is now passed, but I must try this recipe.

    Hi Lisa, I am sorry that I missed the deadline. I am not good with events. But maybe next time…. By the way, your roundup is amazing.

  12. Alexa says:

    Red Lentils are a favorite in my house. Your soup looks delicious!

    thank you, Alexa. I hope that you get to make the soup. I love working with red lentils now – so easy to cook. Currently I have a sweet potato and potato soup with kale and red lentils. Delish.

  13. Susie says:

    Yummo, I just made this soup!!I had a whole packet of red lentils that I usually throw in stews and Chilli con carne, so it was great to creat a meal around them.
    I didn’t have any sweet paprika but I added some cayenne pepper for a bit of extra kick and threw in some tumeric because I love it and its good for you. I’m so glad I found your recipe! Thanks from the bottom of my stomach!

    Hi Susie, wow, you made the soup. I like your variations. It is a great soup, isn’t it.

  14. love this combo of flavors. Some of my favorites. I will try it out.

    Great! Glad that you like it.

  15. Pingback: Sopa de lentilhas « Caos na Cozinha

  16. Pingback: Hungry in Berlin » Blog Archive » Dönerspende Diaries: Lentil Soup, Türkisher Art

  17. Vyoma says:

    I tired it today. it turned out really delicious. all my friends loved it. perfect. thank you.

  18. Aparna says:

    I made this lentil soup and it was lovely. http://mydiversekitchen.blogspot.com/2009/08/rustic-red-lentil-soup-with-yogurt.html

    Have posted it at usually have red lentils in my kitchen so this is going to get made a lot. :)

    Thanks.

  19. worldsight says:

    You have truly a wonderful Blog! Thank You

  20. Pingback: Tried and Tasted : A Life(Time) of Cooking - Round up | Health Foods Blog

  21. Pingback: Spicy Red Lentil and Tomato Soup : Andrea Meyers

  22. MaydayAdeby says:

    Hey there i was just introduceing myself here im a first time visitor who hopes to become a daily reader!

  23. Robert says:

    Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. :)

  24. pbg says:

    Pretty nice site you’ve got here. Thanks for it. I like such topics and everything connected to this matter. I definitely want to read more on that blog soon.

    Anete Benedict

  25. Pingback: December 4th, 2011. Time for Summery Tomato Soup. And Parsi Sev. « Heat in the Kitchen

  26. justjhoom says:

    Your soup looks fantastic! Have posted a link to your recipe with my own recipe for Thai/Indian red lentil soup. Do take a look when you have a chance. I have also recently published a cookbook on Healthy Indian food.
    https://cook2jhoom.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/post-diwali-round-up-and-a-successful-thaiindian-soup-experiment/
    Best wishes, Cheeku Bhasin

  27. Pingback: Post Diwali round up and a successful Thai/Indian soup experiment! | Cook2Jhoom

  28. Pingback: Feb 25th 2013. Easy Summer Cold Soup with Spices. | Heat in the Kitchen

  29. Pingback: August, 2003. Bayagyaw (Burmese Split Pea Fritters). Rummaging in The Archives. | Heat in the Kitchen

  30. Pingback: July, 2002. Vegetable Stock. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  31. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for December – Early WINTER – Northern Hemisphere. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  32. Pingback: Taking Stock: A Note on how to Make Vegetable Stocks | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  33. Pingback: Salty, Garlicky Labneh/ Thick Thick Yoghurt | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

