Haydari: A Turkish recipe

A recipe

I am still very enticed by the thick thick yoghurt and its flexibility. It is quite entrancing, the uses that it can be put to. Do you have a favourite use? I would love to hear it.

Haydari is a thick dip and spread made from strained yoghurt which is called suzme in Turkish. It is very much like the Middle Eastern labne. Spread it on toast or flat breads, or serve with salads or chargrilled vegetables and tofu.

Haydari

Source : inspired by Turquoise
Cuisine: Turkish
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 0 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
500g thick yoghurt (strained yoghurt, or use a thick Greek yoghurt)
1 clove garlic
1 tspn salt
0.5 cup finely chopped dill
1 long green chilli, seeded and shredded
sweet paprika to serve
extra virgin olive oil to serve

method
In a large bowl, add the crushed garlic and salt to the yoghurt and then beat in the dill and chilli.

Taste and adjust the seasoning if necessary.

Chill covered until ready to eat. Garnish with a sprinkle of sweet paprika and a drizzle of olive oil.

A recipe

People are Saying:

Turkish Haydari – recipe
By myamii
The other day I came across this yummy-looking recipe on A Life (Time) of Cooking, so I thought I’d give it a try. It was fabulous! We all loved it, and my son (who is almost 1.5 years old) was trying to drink it out of the bowl.

Middle Eastern Series

Ways with Yoghurt:

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


Possibly Related Posts:

Broad Bean Pate Hummus Dukkah Thick Yoghurt and Tahina Dip


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:

This Month May in Review Home Made Tomato Paste Recipe Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe Urad Tamatar Soup Gratineed Tomatoes with Cheese Recipe Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Dal Makhani Oberoi Style Recipe Spicy Turkish Red Lentil Soup Dried Capsicums Seasonal Cooking November Cashew and Peanut Butters Chickpea pizza

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 06 Early Winter, Breakfast, Dairy, Fast Food, Middle Eastern, Salsas, Purees, Pates and Dips, Spices and Herbs, Tofu, Yoghurt and Paneer, Turkish, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Haydari: A Turkish recipe

  1. Keerthi says:

    There is a thick yogurt style cheese available in Germany called Quark, which I cant have enough of. Whenever I see your posts about Thick Thick Yogurt, I see a chance to use it in different ways.

    Yes, quark I sometimes buy at the Farmer’s Market. It is good, but very expensive here. I am glad that my love of thick thick yoghurt has inspired you.

  2. Lucy says:

    I think it’s the very reason why a vegan diet seems so difficult!

    I add little nuggets of it to trays of roasted vegetables, but mostly, eat it just as is.

    Me too, I love cheese and yoghurt quite a lot. And ghee. Roasted veggies, yum. Maybe with some salt and rosemary.

  3. arundathi says:

    Allen, of Eating Out Loud, has some great recipes using a thick Greek Yogurt. Check them out:

    http://www.eatingoutloud.com/2008/06/spicy-radish-sandwich.html

    and

    http://www.eatingoutloud.com/2008/06/vegetarian-kale-collard-greens-pea-soup.html

    How good are they! Oh, both look so delish. Thanks for the links, arundathi.

  4. FoodJunkie says:

    Add some grated cucumber to make Greek TZATZIKI!

    Oh, yes, I do a Turkish version of this, which I will post one day soon….

  5. Nupur says:

    Your pictures look gorgeous!
    My favorite use of thick yogurt: using it in place of sour cream in burritos and tacos.

    On tacos – yes! Great use of it. Thanks for the idea, Nupur.

  6. lakshmi says:

    superb. we are great fans of curd, a tamilian meal is never complete without curd. we’re crazy about thayir as we call it. and i am a sucker for recipes like this. making it tomorrow. :)

    How did it go, lakshmi. I love this and have made it quite a lot. Easy to whip up once there is thick yoghurt in the fridge.

  7. Mallika says:

    Thick Greek yogurt is one of my favourite ingredients. I love how you can cook with it and eat it on it’s own. Your dish looks lovely…

    You are so right, Mallika. Thanks for your lovely comment.

  8. Mansi says:

    neat ideas there ! I generally use greek yogurt for making dipping sauces too:)

    Hi Mansi – try draining for a couple of hours. It will make all the difference. Can I come to your place to try your dips? Mmmm. mmm.

  9. Aparna says:

    New to me, looks real good.
    My favourite way of eating thick yogurt still is with rice and mango/ lime pickles.:)

    Hi Aparna,
    Yes, just plain on the side is wonderful. I fell in love with this style of yoghurt first in North East France years ago, and never really understood what I was eating. It is quite sour there, and you add sugar to it. Then in India, where curds are ubiquitous. And SOOOOOOOOO O O O wonderful. Oh yes!

  10. victoria says:

    Another general term for this is “yogurt cheese” and I love to make it and season it differently depending on the seasons or the mood. This looks delicious!

    Hi victoria. It is a lovely name – yoghurt cheese. I like to call it thick thick yoghurt because it is so evocative of what it is. Better than ‘strained yoghurt’ or ‘drained yoghurt’…. I can see that this will be on my table for ever…

  11. This looks delicious and would be so welcome here right now – it is so warm and muggy….

    Thank you recipes2share. I am thrilled you came by. Your site is looking fabulous. What a journey!

  12. romaspace says:

    Nice recipe. Thanks for introducing me to Turkish food.
    Dalia ( in Hindi) is more commonly known as ‘Broken wheat’. The Indian store near you will most probably have a pack. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

    Hey RomaSp, thanks for letting me know. Your blog is coming along nicely! I will watch with interest. Thanks for the emails – always nice to make personal contact, although I am not good at responding quickly :-(

  13. Rashmi says:

    I can never turn vegan because my life would be incomplete without Yoghurt and cheese !

    My fav way of using thick yoghurt is to make a coleslaw with cabbage and carrots, with salt, sugar and pepper.

    Hi Rashmi, Yes, I agree. Although once I thought I would never give up eggs, and now, here I am, can’t stand the sight of them.

    It sounds delish with cabbage and carrots.

  14. Cynthia says:

    I don’t know that I’ll be able to find this type of yogurt here, may have to strain what I find and try making this.

    Straining is good. It produces better thick yoghurt than what you buy. I am sure you will enjoy the process, AND the end result. Good luck, Cynthia.

  15. Lisa says:

    I would really like to try this. I’ve become quite interested in Turkish cuisine and I’m wanting to try my hand at thick yogurt.

    I am sure that you will love this Lisa, and it is so very easy.

    My local coffee cafe guys are Turkish. We talk food A LOT. And there are several really good Turkish food blogs around.

  16. Maya says:

    Love Greek yogurt!!. Your recipe looks wonderful. It would be great with crudites – yum :)

    Hi Maya, yes it would be good with crudites. Thanks for a great idea.

  17. lakshmi says:

    i had a bowlful :D – added zatar (that i got from a local restaurant) – superb – i love yogurt

    :-) I understand! I eat bowlfuls too. Zaatar is a great touch.

  18. Ramki says:

    This goes straight into my 1001 Raitas cookbook. Thanks for the recipe !

    Hey thanks Ramki. I appreciate you linking it in.

  19. Kitchen Goddess says:

    I’m doing a ‘Turkish’ dinner later this week and this will definitely feature. I’m bookmarking this recipe, thank you ;)

    Oh, that’s nice. You will love the recipe – so easy and delicious. Enjoy your dinner, wish I was there…

  20. Srivalli says:

    Oh my!..what a beautiful bowl ganga..I am in love with that!

  21. vajorie says:

    Normal plain yogurt + feta cheese should do as well.

  22. haydari says:

    Never add water to the mixture, taste deteriorates.

  23. Foodie says:

    Not to mention this is one of the best companions of rakı!

  24. Pingback: 1998, Breakfast Suggestions from The Archive | Heat in the Kitchen

  25. Pingback: September 2000. Olympics Food from The Archives. Cheesy Raw Veggie Dip. | Heat in The Kitchen

  26. Pingback: June, 2003. A Yoghurt Curry. Yodelling around The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  27. Pingback: Rose petals and yoghurt: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  28. Pingback: Thick Yoghurt Tahina Dip with Herbs: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  29. Pingback: Beautiful Food for June: Recipes for Southern and Northern Hemispheres | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  30. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for December – Early WINTER – Northern Hemisphere. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  31. Pingback: December, 1996. Many-Varied Pesto, variations on a theme. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  32. Pingback: Monday Morning Vegetarian Inspiration: What is for Breakfast? | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  33. Pingback: How to Make Strained Yoghurt Cream Cheese PLUS Labneh, Shrikhand and 5 Other Ways to Use It | Wholesome Cook

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

