Pomegranates in Australia? Sometimes. A Turkish Recipe

I had a hard time finding pomegranates that were as tasty as those I ate in Tamil Nadu and Kerala in India earlier this year. There, they are so flavoursome, sweet, served by the bowlful for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Here, early in the season, I found only wild pomegranates in the shop. Small, tart, hard, inedible. Later, much much later, I found some that approach the deliciousness of the fruit of India.

I had a hard time peeling those little suckers. Pulling out each beautiful ruby gem. Removing the bitter white pith that surrounds them. It is a job best done in the sink, wearing an apron and with a chopping board that doesn’t mind being stained ruby red.

I am so glad to have found edible pomegranates here. There is a wealth of recipes that I have been collecting. I may have to wait until next year to find more, but these fruit will be on my table again.

I love this salad. It is precious – time taken to shell the fruit, to roast the walnuts, to shell the pistachios, to chop the nuts. It is precious in its vibrant red and green. It is precious in its wonderful ingredients. And it is so jolly gorgeous.

Green Olive, Walnut, Pistachio and Pomegranate Salad

Source : Turquoise
Cuisine: Turkish
Prep time: 1 hour
Cooking time: 10 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
0.25 cups walnuts
0.5  cup pitted green olives, washed to remove salt, and coarsely chopped
0.25 cup unsalted shelled pistachios, chopped coarsely
0.5  cup pomegranate seeds
2 small shallots, peeled and finely diced
1 red chilli (or to taste), seeded and finely chopped
2 – 3 Tblspns shredded parsley leaves
1 Tblspn extra virgin olive oil
1 Tblspn walnut oil
splash of pomegranate molasses
juice of 0.5 lemon
sea salt
freshly ground black pepper

method
Preheat the oven to 180C. Scatter the walnuts onto a baking tray and roast for 5 – 10 mins until they are a deep golden brown. Tip the nuts into a tea towel and rub well to remove as much skin as possible. Chop them coarsely and then toss them in a sieve to remove remaining skins.

Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl and toss gently. Leave to stand for 5 minutes or so before serving to allow the flavours to meld. Gorgeous.

People are Saying:

And here’s a super recipe from A Life (Time) of Cooking, one of my favourite food blogs, while Elise at Simply Recipes has collected some wonderfully inventive recipes on how to use pomegranates. I’ll have to raid the supermarket shelves for more pomegranates!

The Pomegranate Series

Selection from the Salad Series

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:

Siem Reap New Market Autumn is Coming Eggplant with Sesame and Soy Buttery Steamed Rice Golden Dal Chickpea and Ginger Salad Sweet Potato Curry Summer Coolers Pink Strawberry Frappe Spicy Turkish Red Lentil Soup This week in North Adelaide Okra - Cooking in Kerala

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 07 Mid Winter, Lentils, Grains, Rice and Nuts, Pomegranate, Salads, Spices and Herbs, Sunday Afternoon at Home Cooking, Turkish, Vegan, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Pomegranates in Australia? Sometimes. A Turkish Recipe

  1. Rashmi says:

    This is a beautiful recipe.
    Thanks for making and sharing this gorgeous salad.

    Thank you Rashmi. It is very very delicious. I have a confession to make. There was some left over. I had it for breakfast yesterday. With some thick yoghurt and fried haloumi. It was amazing.

  2. kathryn says:

    My oh my what a beautiful recipe. I haven’t bought a pomegranate for ages – years and years I think. Recently I saw Nigella Lawson making a salad. I was only half watching, but I’m sure she tapped the cut pomegranate, to get the seeds out. With the end of the knife handle on the outside skin.

    Am not feeling 100% confident of that memory though. With or without this, your salad looks glorious and it’s tempting me to get back into pomegranates.

    It was my experiences in India that made me seek out this gorgeous ruby gem again – and my first experiences were not very good. I am glad I perservered.

  3. kathryn says:

    YES – here it is – Nigella’s method for using pomegranates (it’s at the end of the recipe): http://www.channel4.com/food/recipes/chefs/nigella-lawson/pomegranate-meringue-mountain-recipe_p_1.html

    I am certainly going to give this a try next time. Thanks, kathryn. I really appreciate that you took the time to search this out.

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh, what stunning photos. Gorgeous indeed. And serving it for breakfast works for me.

    Thank you Lisa. I must admit, it was a luscious breakfast.

    Sometimes I just get the day upside down. Like tonight – it is a super cold day here. I am off to a class tonight so had to eat early. I had bought some new organic oats today – so a huge bowl of porridge laden with fruits not only filled my tummy but made me warm and toasty as well as giving me an energy boost. Perfect.

  5. Dee says:

    This is one of my favourite templates , I was thinking of having this , but the others were not fine. I love the colours of the salad , would just eat it for the colours!!! we make a pomegranate pulao and its yumm to taste

    Your blog is looking great – they are doing a great job. I can imagine the pulao – what a joy it must be.

  6. What an intriguing salad! I’m gawking at the vibrant colours. I would love to try this but have a hard time coming by pomegranates. Nevertheless, I’m bookmarking this one, just in case.

    Great! I hope they turn up for you. Sometimes it happens. Like today, I found some black kale. We just don’t get kale in Adelaide. But today – the kale devas shined on me.

  7. bee says:

    you come up with e most incredible combinations of flavours. glad yu can find poms you like, finally.

    I search them out for you, bee – the incredible combinations. :-)

  8. Suganya says:

    Beautiful J. I once made a similar salad, and also added bulgur (soaked). It was quite filling.

    Oh, I bought some bulgur today. I intend to play with it over the next few weeks and see what I come up with.

  9. Núria says:

    This combo takes my breath away… absolutely love all the ingredients and this salad must have been a killer!!!

    I bet the mangos (for example) we eat here in Spain have nothing to do with the ones from where the fruit is original.

    You are so right. It is a bit like eating Indian food here and eating it in India. It is so much more delish to eat in the place where it originates – I am sure that weather and soils and so forth impact the flavour of the ingredients.

    having said that, this dish is also amazing made in Australia.

  10. Ingrid says:

    What a lovely recipe, it is so beautiful and the combination of flavors …. I can image it is simply delicious. Thanks.

    Yes it is. I love it, although it takes a bit of time, it is not arduous work. And worth the effort.

  11. arundathi says:

    wow – that looks stunning. am always searching for unusual salad ingredients, and this is just up my alley. lovely.

    Great! Pleasure to be of assistance. :-)

  12. Cynthia says:

    I am completely mesmerized by the first photograph. So colourful, so vibrant, so full of life!

    Thanks, Cynthia. One colourful salad indeed. The red and the green are quite a contrast.

  13. FoodJunkie says:

    Pomgranates are not in season at the moment in Greece, but I’ll definitely make your salad when they will be!

    I hope you do – it is something to be experienced.

  14. This looks delicious! I’ll certainly be trying it come fall when pomegranates are in season here in northern california.

    My mom taught me a quick way to remove the seed from a pomegranate — cut it in half, then over a large bowl pound the back of the fruit with a hammer, ice cream scoop, meat mallet etc — the seeds pop out like magic!

    Hi Jen, I heard this just recently! I will try it out.

  15. Alexa says:

    That looks so beautiful. what a great salad.

    Thank you Alexa.

  16. Pingback: Pomegranates « World Foodie Guide

  17. Kitchen Goddess says:

    When I can get hold of a pomegranate (wrong time of year here) I’ll be making this. Thank you for sharing :)

    My pleasure! I hope you eventually get to make it.

  18. Pingback: World Foodie Guide » Blog Archive » » Pomegranates

  19. quebec2 says:

    Lovely! The easiest and cleanest way to get the pomegranate seeds free is to fill a large bowl or pot with cold water, place it in your sink, and peel the pomegranate skin & membranes away with your hands UNDERWATER in the bowl. The fruit sinks, and the pith floats. Genius!
    I have also made a similar ‘salsa’ at Christmas with pomegranate, crumbled feta and chopped avocado. Similar principle, beautiful mix of color, and good on a chip or cucumber slice, etc.

  20. تعلم البوكر says:

    I LOVE THIS BLOG!!!

  21. That is an insanely gorgeous looking salad. Next time I come across pomegranates here (which is not often) I am making this for sure. Thank you so much for sharing it.
    Sue

  22. Pingback: Early September, 2012. Orzo! Bless you! (A salad) « Heat in the Kitchen

  23. Pingback: Ingredients: On Almonds, Sweet and Bitter. From the Archives. | Heat in the Kitchen

  24. Pingback: March, 2002. Beans with Pecorino Salad. Pottering around in The Archives | Heat in The Kitchen

  25. Pingback: May, 2003. Ganga’s Fig Salad. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  26. Pingback: Haloumi and Orange Salad. Two Variations on a Recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

