Peppered Rice: A recipe from Sailu’s Kitchen

There are so many recipes for rice, especially rice flavoured with other ingredients. Carrot Rice. Lemon Rice. Curd Rice. Tamarind Rice. Sesame Rice. Coconut Rice. Green Mango Rice. I see them, and I drool over them and I never actually get to cook them. It is a sad thing, really, as I love rice.

The other night, I saw a recipe for peppered rice and knew (why? No idea) that I needed to cook this right away. And I did. It was easy to make and the aroma! WOW! It is an exquisite dish, flavoured beautifully with the pepper – the flavour is so well balanced, not too hot but hot enough (it is pepper after all). Pepper here is the main ingredient, and the rice is the carrier.  I loved this dish. I got it ready to photograph.

Then the lights went out. A major blackout meant that my house glowed gloriously in candle-light for hours and hours.  It was a beautiful thing, and as I froze without the heating or even an electric blanket in this, the coldest weather for several years, I loved being without lights, TV, radio, computer, telephone, CD player. Luxurious.

I even took a photo of the rice by candle light! The colour might be a bit off, but the taste was not.

Usually I will post a recipe, even if I have cooked it from another blog, because I always tweak it. But this recipe from Saliu’s Kitchen is complete. No tweaking required.  And there is a wonderful discussion of pepper and its properties in the post. So rather than repeat it, the link to the recipe is below.

Take heed of the recipe’s warning. This dish is about the pepper. If you use old, tired, ready-ground pepper that has been sitting on your shelves for years, your dish will suffer. Use only freshly bought, whole black pepper which you grind yourself. It will make this a dish truly from heaven.

Miriyala Annam: Peppered Rice

Source : from Saliu’s Kitchen
Cuisine: Indian
Prep time: 20 mins to cook the rice which can be done beforehand or cooked concurrently with the spices
Cooking time: 10 mins to make the spice mixes
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

The Recipe
Click here for Pepper Flavoured Rice from Saliu’s Kitchen.

We ate it with a quick fresh tomato chutney – half a dozen or so tomatoes, quartered, into a pan with a Tblspn or two of water, 1 or 2 apples diced, about an inch of ginger chopped, salt (no pepper if eating with Peppered Rice), a little sugar if the tomatoes are tart, about 1 tspn of good red wine vinegar and a drizzle of pomegranate syrup. Cook until the tomatoes are collapsed and the apples have lost their crunch. Yum.

And with some quince mash that I made in Autumn – quinces cooked overnight in a very slow oven with a sugar syrup and a spice mix including star anise and black pepper. Then mashed with a tiny bit of vinegar, and some salt and pepper. A delish ruby red chutney that keeps for ages.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:

Horsnell Gully and Mint Paneer Recipe Shrikant recipe Creme Fraiche Recipe Making Roasted Garlic Oil Autumn is Coming Lotus Cambodia Travel A Rockin\' Award Pears and Thick Yoghurt (How to make thick yoghurt) Ginger Garlic Lentil Soup Recipe Wonderful Links. Tempting 12 Links Tempting Links 11

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 08 Late Winter, Indian, Lentils, Grains, Rice and Nuts, Spices and Herbs, Vegan, VEGETARIAN. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Peppered Rice: A recipe from Sailu’s Kitchen

  1. Srivalli says:

    what a beautiful picture J!..I think without power we can actually get some much wanted peace and quietness…:)..

    I love pepper rice..and its so quick too

    You are so right, Srivalli. Peace and quiet – I loved the evening. And it was enhanced by Sailu’s great dish.

  2. Cinnamon says:

    Love the first pic…. Peppered rice sounds easy and quick!

    Thank you, Cinnamon. Thank goodness I keep so many candles in the house!

  3. sangeeth says:

    great pics ….very yummy recipe

    Thank you. The rice was so veyr good.

  4. romaspace says:

    Awesome photography!!

    Thank you so much. The candles were beautiful, and the mood in the dark very serene.

  5. Hima says:

    Beautiful picture but I don’t like power cuts though. I love sailus blog, no wonder you enjoyed the dish.

    When they happen often they can be annoying. I try to put them to good use, enjoying the quiet and totally relaxing.

  6. arundathi says:

    i love pepper rice too. a beautiful photo of the dish!

    :-). we think alike.

  7. Your photo of pepper rice is very inviting.Makes me want to prepare it too.

    I hope that you do make it. I love it with a tomato chutney or sauce. Last night I had it with some tomatoes that I had sliced and layered with onion in a dish, drizzled with garlic oil, topped with breadcrumbs and baked until cooked and crisp on top. It was gorgeous with the rice.

  8. vanamala says:

    Wow wonderful pictures…..lovely dish

    Thank you vanamala.

  9. Nicisme says:

    That rice looks fabulous! I love the photos, well done!

    Thank you! The candle light added a touch of its own, I think.

  10. Mansi says:

    this really looks like a neat variation! thanks for the inspiring take on Sailu’s recipe:)

    Thanks, Mansi. Sailu sure is a great cook.

  11. masalamagic says:

    lovely picture even with the candlelight!

    Thank you! And the taste was equally as good.

  12. kathryn says:

    And still, even in the dark you manage to take some wonderful photos. Dish looks lovely.

    Thanks, kathryn. Am loving your daily posts. It is a pity that it is too busy here at the moment to put some things into action. But soon, soon…

  13. Tim says:

    This looks terrific — if only I had some curry leaves so I could make it myself for lunch.

    It’s so weird knowing that the blackout you’re talking about is the same one everyone at work was grumbling about on Monday!

    It is weird, isn’t it. But it is nice to read a blog where you KNOW that you can get the ingredients and even know where to get them. Hope you get to try this.

  14. janetching says:

    The rice looks so yummy. Wish I can sample it already. BTW, I have just passed on the Brilliante Weblog Award to you even though your blog is already so popular : )

    THank you so much Janet. I am sure that I don’t deserve it! I will respond to it shortly, as time permits.

  15. noobcook says:

    lovely photos of the candles in the dark … how do u take such gorgeous pics with the lack of light?

    This peppered rice looks perfect … and I simply love love love black pepper … gonna bookmark the recipe ;)

    Thanks noobcook. You will love this if you love black pepper. And the photos – I used a long exposure. Don’t you love the rings that you can see around the candles?

  16. Aparna says:

    The lack of light has given your pepper rice a lovely tone.
    Bet the warmth of the rice made for the lack of power.:)

    Oh it did indeed. It was deliciously firey!

  17. Cynthia says:

    I’m gonna try this too. I love Sailu’s food!

    Well, the entire island had a black out from 1.15 a.m. to 3.17 a.m. this morning – I noted the times because it was torture for me. The place was hot and uncomfortable. I could not sleep. I sat up staring out one of the windows praying for light to come back so that I could turn on the fan.

    You will love it! Mmm, blackouts in hot weather are difficult. At least in cold weather you can always go to bed to keep warm.

  18. Ramki says:

    Fresh roasted cumin is powdered and mixed in with Pepper rice and is served as Milagu – Jeera Sadham in some temples in Tamilnadu – absolutely divine !

    Great idea! I will add this next time I make it. Cumin is my favourite spice.

  19. Kitchen Goddess says:

    I love the first picture :)

    Pepper rice sounds so good. I made saffron rice for the first time a few days ago and it was amazing!

    Candles photograph so well – I also love that first photo. Thanks for letting letting me know. Saffron rice is good too. Saffron is such a great spice, I love using it.

  20. Sophie says:

    We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email me if interested. Thanks :)

    You can view our blog here:

    http://blog.keyingredient.com/

  21. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "cuisine" - JabberTags

  22. Pingback: User links about "spices" on iLinkShare

  23. ushaiza says:

    Would you please give the rcipe for the quiince ms? It sounds wonderful!

  24. Pingback: Tweets that mention Peppered Rice: A recipe from Sailu’s Kitchen | A Life (Time) of Cooking -- Topsy.com

  25. Pingback: November 13th, 2011. Perfect Rice and The Balcony. « Heat in the Kitchen

  26. Pingback: Tamarind Rice (Puliyodharai Saadham) : A Recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  27. Pingback: Ven Pongal: a recipe for Festivals | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  28. Pingback: Masala Lemon or Lime Rice (Masala Elumichai Sadham) : A Sth Indian, Tamil Recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  29. Pingback: Urad Dal Garlic Rice, a Recipe for a Winner Rice. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  30. Pingback: Seasonal Cooking for August: Wherever you are | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  31. Pingback: Ingredients: A Note on How To Cook Rice | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  32. Pingback: Mango and Lemon Rice with Mango Seeds. A Recipe. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  33. Pingback: Cumquats Rice. December 24, 2013 | Heat in The Kitchen

  34. Pingback: Monday Inspiration! Kitchari, warm and nourishing. And Other Rice Recipes. | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  35. Pingback: Ingredients: A Note on Rices. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

