Tempting! Fabulous Weather, Fabulous Food, Great Hints

I found a prepared but unpublished post from late last year. I hope you don’t mind if I post it now. They are still great links.

I am not going to post these links in the future – but you can join me on Twitter to keep up with goodies that I find.


I wanted to start with a wonderful post from Arunchala Grace on Palm Leaf People, people from everyday Indian life created by an artist in Tirruvannamalia.

Cheesy

  • This weekend I  have been thinking about grilled haloumi a lot. Then I saw this Grilled Cheese with Cranberry. From Paulchen’s Food Blog.
  • Like cauliflower? Then try my Cauliflower Walnut Cream. OR go to Coffee and Cornbread to try Dill and Colby Cheese Mashed Cauliflower.
  • At the local Indian restaurant, just down the road from me, I eat two things – paneer tika and masala dosa. All the rest I can make myself just as well, but these, they are exceptional. Now, Tonguetickler shows how to make Hara Paneer Tika. It looks exceptional.
  • Have a look at Fankauser’s Cheese Page. How to make all sorts of cheeses and yoghurt. As well as Root Beer!?. Be careful, there are a few very non-vegetarian links there. Avoid those.

Spicy

  • Morsels and Musings writes about sorbat susu, an Indonesian ginger milk drink. Sounds delicious.
  • From the same author comes a Tamarind and Peppercorn broth. Mmmm. Spicy.
  • Then a spicy tomato sambal, a sauce or spread from north east India. From My Food Blog. Quick to make, she ate it all on toast for breakfast. And what about a spicy eggplant spread? From Fat Free Vegan.
  • Khichuri / Khitchdi is a wonderful, comforting, easy to digest dish, great at any time but especially when you are recuperating. This version is from Quick Indian Cooking.
  • I have featured a lot of Indian spice mixes in this Tempting! series. Here is an Ethiopian spice mix. Melange Barbere, from Rosa’s Yummy Yums. HOT.
  • A couple of writings on cloves, that warm but earthy spice that makes such a difference when used in tiny amounts. First, a post from Supreme Spice Blog. The second post is from Ayurwhat? I like reading her blog, as a reminder of the quieter things of life and to keep focused on a wonderful peacefulness.
  • And WHF elucidates the great benefits of Ginger.
  • Lisa’s Kitchen has a beautifully aromatic Black Bean Indian Curried Soup. While you are there, have a look at her roundup of No Croutons Required.

Grainy and Nutty

Sweet

Hints

  • Foodielicious shows how to freeze parsley for use all through winter. I have done this myself and it works so well. Freeze some peas and corn as well. In bottles. Lunch in a Box has the method.
  • While on peas, Chocolate and Zucchini shows how to shell them.
  • Want to extract your own coconut milk? My Food Blog shows how, using the weirdest implement. Well, actually, it is not weird in the coconut growing countries. I first saw one of these years ago in a local Indian shop, but they don’t sell them any more. I have seen them in India tho, and a similar one in Bali.
  • After that, create your own Lemon Balm Syrup, from Paulchen’s Food Blog.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:

Potato Spinach Parsnip Soup Palak Makhana Recipe Stewed Parsley Tempting 7 Salsa Verde Recipe Spicy Turkish Red Lentil Soup This Month May in Review Lotus Cambodia Travel Lotus flowers - 10 pictures meme Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe Urad Tamatar Soup

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in Links, VEGETARIAN. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tempting! Fabulous Weather, Fabulous Food, Great Hints

  1. Arundathi says:

    thanks so much for the links! good to see you here and good to know you’re on twitter. following you now…! :-)

  2. Lucy says:

    Lovely links – I’ve loads of lemon balm (it’s going mad) and bought some frozen cranberries yesterday. Paulchen’s blog will keep me busy this week.

    Let me know how you go with Twitter, will you? I’m completely bamboozled by it, and want to know how on earth it works!

  3. Pingback: Holiday Lizzies, a colorful pico de gallo, space food sticks and other food notes. « Food Near Snellville

  4. Thanks for the shoutout!

  5. д§mд says:

    so much :)

    I’d exactly the same bag with me :)

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

