What a Cracker: Oatmeal Crackers, A recipe (eggless)

Fav Man

One of the things that the most precious man in my life loves to eat is “Ditties” or Oat Crackers (Oat cakes). I don’t bake very often these days, and no longer cook with eggs,  but today I reintroduced myself to the oven, grabbed the organic rolled oats from the pantry, and got to work. All for you, man of my heart.

Oatcakes

I love these little circles of oatmeal, blandish but a great base for cheeses, chutneys, tangy spreads. I hope that lovers of oatcakes and oat crackers will not mind when I say that they taste a bit like unseasoned cardboard. Maybe a wry smile from them? But I found that I really like them, and they are especially delicious with celtic sea salt sprinkled over the top.

The recipe was adapted from Joanna’s Food. Joanna has a real sense of exploration in her cooking, and had made several oatmeal based dishes. What I loved about this one particularly is that you make your own oatmeal in the blender. Thanks Joanna.

Oat Crackers

Oatmeal Crackers (Oatcakes)

Source : inspired by Joanna’s Food
Cuisine: Scottish??
Prep time: 15 mins
Cooking time: 15-18 mins
Serves: 4 – 6, depending on their use

ingredients
250g rolled oats
a pinch of bicarb soda
1/2 tspn salt
1 Tbspn melted butter or olive oil
less than 100ml very hot water – just off the boil

Method
Heat the oven to 200C.

Place the oatmeal in a blender or food processor and whiz until they become medium-coarse or fine crumbs, according to the texture you want in the biscuits.

In a large bowl, mix the oats with the salt and bicarb soda.  Stir in the melted butter or olive oil.

Add the water very slowly – stop as soon as the dough begins to come together. The amount will depend on your oats and the humidity of the day.

Bring the oats together into a ball, then roll them out as thin as you can. I halve or quarter the mixture for easier handling.

Using a cookie cutter, glass or jar, cut out little rounds from the dough.

Place on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for 15 – 18 minutes. Before I put them into the oven, I like to sprinkle a few grains of Celtic sea salt on the top of each cracker.

Watch them carefully towards the end of the cooking time; they should be just beginning to turn brown at the edges.

Cool on a wire rack, and enjoy.

Other Oatcakes:


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:

Cucumber Salad with Herbs and Poppy Seed Potato Spinach Palak Makhana Recipe Clare - Click Yellow for Bri Sesame Cucumber Salad Recipe Pears and Thick Yoghurt (How to make thick yoghurt) crab apple jelly recipe Tomato Bruschetta. Just right for Autumn (and Spring) Siem Reap New Market Chickpea, Almond and Sesame Spread Eating in India Golden Dal

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 10 Mid Spring, Biscuits and Crackers, British, Lentils, Grains, Rice and Nuts, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to What a Cracker: Oatmeal Crackers, A recipe (eggless)

  1. Watch Winder says:

    I love oatmeal cookies. This recipe looks great. I cannot wait to try it.

  2. Maninas says:

    Good to have you back. Hug

  3. Sarah Miller says:

    I made your oatcakes, and just wanted to let you know that they’re absolutely wonderful with everything – cream cheese and hummus especially! My only problem was that they went too fast, and I only got three!

    - Sarah

  4. easy recipes says:

    I never tried using olive oil in this type of recipes, Its a good idea.

  5. Srivalli says:

    Your love of the life is really so adorable!..can understand why you rediscovered again..:)..nice to know that there is no egg in this..will try my hands sometime!

  6. Cynthia says:

    Sounds exciting to go with the bases you mentioned.

    What a handsome child.

  7. Pingback: Home Made Crackers – a Fall Leaf Festival for Fab Frugal Friday « Fab Frugal Food

  8. Meagan says:

    These look fantastic!

  9. caroline cannings says:

    just found your blog as many do, by accident whilst hunting for a recipe. Mine was for oat crackers and your delightful page came up. Serendipity. I forgot the recipe and today’s jaunt in the kitchen and meandered around your site. What pleasure. Thank you. I too love travel, photography and food. I spent 2 years living in New Delhi and have instilled the delight of Indian cuisine into my children – 4 English living in the States.
    I shall pop in from time to time to browse, be inspired and relax

  10. Sally Chattin says:

    I also cook without eggs as well as wheat and yeast due to food allergies.

    I made a similar version of this except as bread. I use about 3 tablespoons of oil, a lot more baking powder, no soda, and cook it on top of the stove in a Cuisinart anodized pan and it is wonderful. especially in the morning with coffee.

    I had a serious chocolate craving one night so used my basic recipe for the stovetop bread, except added cocoa powder and sugar and I had a moist, fudgy chocolate decadence cake, cooked right on the stove.

    I also love that the oats are good for cholesterol and arthritis as well as being my favorite form of flour anymore!

  11. Mary Weibling says:

    I love these. I always grab one on my way out the door on my way to the gym. I’m going yo add some spices in today’s batch.

  12. Pingback: 1998, Breakfast Suggestions from The Archive | Heat in the Kitchen

  13. Pingback: Thick Yoghurt Tahina Dip with Herbs: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  14. Kris Hughes says:

    I’ve been making these a lot since I went wheat free. I used to live in Scotland, and these are really very close in flavour and texture to Scottish oatcakes. However, I have to use about twice the water you suggest. I just roll them out into a baker’s half sheet and cut them in squares, however. Not very traditional, but much easier. If you cut them before baking, they simply pull apart slightly, and you get a bunch of nice rectangular crackers.

    • Ganga108 says:

      Thank you Kris. I love hearing how you are using the oatcakes. Oats, like flours, will vary from place to place and brand to brand, so it is not surprising that you use more water. I am glad that you find a way to make them work for you. All the best.

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

