Tender: A recipe for Capsicums

Flowers

Tender. What a great name for a book. And what a book it is. Nigel Slater speaks so engagingly and comfortingly about his garden near Highbury Barn in London. He cooks my style of food – homey, so so simple, yet packing incredible flavours. Despite being British in style he loves to use Indian spices and experiment with flavour combinations.

When I say “British in style” I don’t want to conjure up images of old-fashioned British food like chip butties and steak and kidney pie. I do imply, though, that the food is cold weather food – root vegetables, cabbage, oven cooked food. For even a hot day in the UK does not pass muster as a summer day in Australia. Nigel would argue that some of his food is for the hotter seasons, but his recipes are not, say, like Bill Granger’s, built with the 30C – 45C degree heat of good ol’e Aussie summers where it is hot enough to cook a falafel on the sidewalk and everyone who is sane heads for the beach.

Having made myself clear about that, I love the food in this book. And yes, it does include dishes that will work in our summer too. Especially if cooked beforehand and perhaps served cold. I mean, who wants to turn on the oven when it is 43C outside and 30C inside?

I do so love Nigel’s food, and want to feature 3 or 4 of his recipes over the next month or so. There are some beauties and I hope you get to at least browse through this wonderful book in the bookstore or library.

Thank you my dear Amberjee for sending me this book as a thank you gift. Its pages are becoming well-worn!

Baked Peppers

Baking Capsicums

I love this dish, so simple and yet so surprisingly flavoursome. It has joined our list of  “make and make and make again” dishes that take no time to prepare and can cook while other dishes are prepared, or verrryyy  laayyyyte on a hot hot evening to be used the next day for a picnic on the beach.

The original recipe stuffed the capsicums with tomatoes only, but I added a couple of extra ingredients.

Baked Peppers

Baked Peppers for a Summer Picnic (or Lunch)

Source : inspired by Tender
Cuisine: Modern British, Italian in style
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 45 mins
Serves: 4 – 8 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
4 large peppers
12 – 16 small or cherry tomatoes
150g or so of fetta
1 tspn dried herbs – rosemary, mint, etc or mixed eg an Italian herb mix (optional)
2 – 3 cloves garlic, peeled
black pepper
olive oil
a handful of basil leaves

method
Heat to oven to 200C.

Cut the peppers in half lengthwise and discard the seeds and any white pith/core. Put the peppers, cut side up, in a roasting tin or baking dish.

Cut the tomatoes into halves or quarters, depending on their size, and season with a little sea salt and black pepper. Not too much salt as the feta will add salt to the dish.

Divide the tomatoes between the peppers. Cut the feta into small cubes and distribute between the peppers and tuck in between the tomatoes. Sprinkle with the dried herbs, if using. Cut the garlic into large pieces and tuck into the peppers as well.

Drizzle some olive oil over the peppers and bake until the tomatoes and peppers are lusciously soft, about 45 minutes to an hour.

Blitz the basil leaves with about 70ml olive oil in a blender or use a mortar and pestle. Pour over and into the peppers.

Serve hot, warm or cold. You could even have them for breakfast. Enjoy!

Baked Peppers

From the Capsicum Series

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:


Doodh Wale Allo Recipe Marinated Zucchini Salad Thick Yoghurt and Tahina Dip Cucumber Salad with Herbs and Poppy Seed peppers Beetroot Halwa Potato Spinach Palak Makhana Recipe Okra - Cooking in Kerala Siem Reap New Market Autumn is Coming Eggplant with Sesame and Soy

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 01 Mid Summer, Book Review, Breakfast, British, Capsicums, Dairy, Italian, Salads, Tomatoes, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tender: A recipe for Capsicums

  1. Manggy says:

    I haven’t seen this book yet but judging from your enthusiasm, I really need to search it out! :)

  2. kathryn says:

    I have Tender, but hadn’t yet noticed this recipe Ganga. Plus I’m going on a picnic tomorrow, so this is perfect timing. What a lovely, summery dish it is. And I like your adjustments – a bit of fetta and garlic *never* goes astray.

    • Ganga108 says:

      Hi Kathryn, the recipe is in the peppers section, along with one for peppers stuffed with Israeli couscous – those lovely balls of deliciousness.

      I think bocconcini would go well in the peppers instead of feta too.

      Last night I made them with organic peppers and tomatoes and just used garlic, tucking fresh rosemary sprigs in and around the peppers. Oh deliciousness!

  3. Lucy says:

    Oh, I made this last week and LOVED it! Well, the tomato-stuffed version from Tender, right at the beginning of the chapter. Don’t know how I missed this…It was my first venture into cooking from the book and am waiting for my photos to come back (ah, the waiting with film!!!).

    Beautiful images, Ganga and wow! what flavours. Hooray for summer (never thought I would ever say that, but things clearly change!).

    • Ganga108 says:

      Yes, you are right Lucy – when I said “near the end” I was thinking of a baked aubergine dish that I made from the same book. I have corrected my comment to Kathryn.

      Isn’t it so wonderful and full of flavour! I can’t wait for your photos. Yes, film takes time (and costs money :( )

  4. bergamot says:

    Looks really good…very appetising

  5. notyet100 says:

    i am cravin for some of this now,..

  6. captainsolo says:

    Looks delish! I am such a fan of Nigel Slater´s, I made his white chocolate and cardamom mousse on Saturday and can highly recommend it (mine was topped with pistachios).

    • Ganga108 says:

      Wow that sounds good captian. I don’t cook with eggs, so it is not one that I will try. But there are so many good things in Tender. I can’t wait for his second volume to be available.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Tender: A recipe for Capsicums « A Life (Time) of Cooking -- Topsy.com

  8. Srivalli says:

    Ganga, the recipe looks awesome..I am sure its more pretty because it has come through your hands..I love the third picture!..

  9. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  10. Divya Vikram says:

    Looks so colorful and appetizing! Healthy too.

  11. bugys says:

    Some very interesting recipes here, and a very interesting blog too.

    I will have to bookmark this and stop by more often.

    thanks

  12. Great presentation. I love the line of green ontop of the red!

  13. S Lloyd says:

    Awesome recipes!
    PS: I would like to one day build a documentary of world’s best food cities top ranked restaurants (I have just done this for Montreal). What would you consider as the top 10 of all restaurants in your area

  14. Spice Rack says:

    Although it look a little burned but I know the herbs and spices really did the trick to bring out the flavor.

  15. weighty says:

    gonna send this to my mom

  16. Pingback: April 2003 and September 2000. Two Roast Pepper Soups. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  17. Pingback: December, 1998 and October, 2003. Two Recipes for Roast Pepper Sauces. Romping Round The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

