A pizza will do the trick

Autumn!

The other day a friend wanted some company to the Farmers Market on Sunday morning. Although I was not in need of anything, it is always a treat to go IF you arrive early. And arrive early we did.

What I didn’t realise is that I would be the chief bag carrier, while my friend shopped and shopped and shopped. :) Ooo-eeey, those shoulder muscles! Yet it was a joy. She was shopping for a large family gathering that night, and I could tell the meal was going to be huge. Being of Italian extraction (my friend) added to the sense of food-occassion.

When I had a moment, I bought some sweeeeeet autumn cherry tomatoes, some rapé, and my favourite organic pizza dough. Squeezed them in on top of the other shopping. Day-dreamed of pizza.

Now I have to confess that during our scorchingly hot summer, I have not wanted to do a lot of cooking. My days in the heat started with cooling thick thick yoghurt and fruit, chopped and mixed through the yoghurt with maybe a drizzle of honey.

My afternoons began with a huge smoothie of fruit, nuts, LSA powder, linseed oil, evening primrose oil, turmeric, psyllium, an Ayurvedic tonic and anything else that took my fancy on the day. It is certainly a wonderful way to get your daily dose of so many things.

My evenings began with a wonderful wrap, with as many fresh veggies as I could stuff in, with some cheese or nut butters, plus anything else healthy that I could think of.

While I don’t recommend this for others (I am not a nutritionist), for me that combination made me feel great! Clearly it was right for my constitution and health level and the extreme heat. As an unintended side effect I lost a little weight as well without feeling hungry. (If I got hungry in between I ate nuts.)

But now the weather is cooler, and my body is asking me for other things, warming, energy providing foods. So after the expedition to the Farmer’s Market, I made pizza. And oven dried tomatoes. And cooked some rapé.

Haloumi Pizza

Haloumi Pizza with Oven Dried Tomatoes and Steamed Rapé

Source : inspired by the moment
Cuisine: Italian in style
Prep time: 10 mins + time to make dough and tomato sauce
Cooking time: 20mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how big you make it

ingredients
tomato pizza sauce – use a store-bought one, or, like me, make Lucullian’s Pomarolo (I make it in bulk and keep it in small containers in the freezer. It only takes a moment to make.
3 or 4 tomatoes, or more depending on the size of your pizza
250g haloumi
dried herbs (optional)
pizza dough (make Lucullian‘s, or buy a good, organic pizza dough – left over dough will store in the freezer, so make or buy plenty)
bunch of basil
extra virgin olive oil
half a handful of rocket or spinach leaves

method
Bring your pizza dough to room temperature. Roll or stretch it out to fit your pizza pan or tray. It can be a square tray or shallow metal dish if you don’t have a suitable round one. I don’t roll the dough – good dough will stretch and it is so easy to do.

Oil your tray lightly and stretch your pizza dough over it. Allow to rest for 5 minutes or so, and restretch if it has shrunk a little.

Very lightly oil the top of your dough and spread over several tablespoons of your tomato sauce.  Slice the tomatoes and layer them around the pizza on top of the sauce. If I am using roma tomatoes, I slice them lengthwise. You could use halved cherry tomatoes too.

Grate the haloumi and sprinkle it over the tomatoes. If using dried herbs, sprinkle these over the haloumi. You could also use fresh rosemary or thyme.

Bake in a 200C oven for 20 minutes.

While the pizza is baking, make some basil oil by blending up a bunch of basil with about 1/2 – 3/4 cup of olive oil. Add the oil slowly, until you have a consistency that will pour well, like a slightly thick salad dressing.

When the pizza is cooked, pour over the basil oil and top with the rocket leaves. Serve and enjoy!

Oven Dried Tomatoes

Oven Dried Tomatoes

To oven dry tomatoes, see the recipe here.

Steamed Broccoli Rabe

Steamed Rapé

Source : inspired by the moment
Cuisine: Italian in style
Prep time: 4 mins
Cooking time: 10 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
Bunch of rapé (broccoli raab)
3 cloves garlic
Dried chilli or peperoncino (red pepper flakes)
squeeze lemon
extra virgin olive oil
salt and black pepper

ingredients
Peel and chop the garlic and sauté very gently in olive oil for about 10 minutes so the oil does infuse the flavours. You will need a very low heat for this. Don’t burn the garlic – if it begins to colour, go onto the next step.

Add the rapé to the pan with the oil and garlic, and gently sauté until it begins to wilt, about 3 minutes or so. Toss it so that it cooks evenly.

Add a little water, 1 to 2 tablespoons, cover the rapé with a lit and allow to steam on a  low-medium heat. Toss the greens with tongs every minute or so and allow it to steam for about 3 to 4 minutes.

When it is cooked, squeeze some fresh lemon juice on it, add salt and pepper to taste, and sprinkle with some peperoncino or dried chilli. You can add some Parmigiano cheese too if you like. Serve and enjoy!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

StumbleUpon Toolbar


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:

Baked Apples Zucchini Curry Beans Galore Cumquat Marmalade Tofu Squares Lunch at Danyses Broad Bean Pate Golden Saffron Tea Ghee Making Spicy Turkish Red Lentil Soup This week in North Adelaide Okra - Cooking in Kerala

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 03 Early Autumn, Dairy, Italian, Spices and Herbs, Sunday Afternoon at Home Cooking, Tomatoes, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to A pizza will do the trick

  1. Swarna says:

    Looks scrumptious, do you its ok to substitute paneer for halloumi?

    • Ganga108 says:

      I do think it would work! The good thing about this recipe is that you can add or subtract what you like – a little garlic, some slices of zucchini, finely chopped onion – anything that will cook in the oven in under 20m and is not too watery.

  2. Looks good! I have never attempted halloum in a pizza. Great idea, though.

  3. After all that healthy summer eating, the pizza is well deserved and not just any pizza…yours looks so inviting and delicious and even healthy! As does the steamed rape…all wonderful!
    Ronelle

  4. jenny says:

    I am going to hide this page from my hubby…
    if he sees this he’s gonna be after me telling me to make this..
    RUN..:):).Jokes apart..the recipe sounds do-able:)

  5. foodlovers says:

    looks tempting dear nice one

  6. I never tried Haloumi on a Pizza. Tastes great, for sure.

  7. Veggie Belly says:

    wow! wow! wow!! im drooling over this! LOVE the haloumi and broccoli rab combo!

  8. Aparna says:

    That pizza looks gorgeous. Its still quite hot here and the kitchen is the last place I want to be, most of the time! :)

    Haven’t been seeing you. Hope you’re doing fine.

    • Ganga108 says:

      Hi Aparna, all is well. The pizza is gorgeous and I have made it again and again. Most recently for my daughter and family and added wet garlic, steamed broccoli and some bocconcini. Yum.

  9. Spice Rack says:

    Wow! I wanna eat that pizza. You are right Aparna, that pizza really looks gorgeous. I really pizzas with spices.

    Making a pizza is never easy but it is fun, all you need to make sure is that you have the right flavor and your spice rack is complete with spices and herbs.

  10. wow.. pizza looks awesome.. drop in at my site whenever.. following you

  11. Bordeaux says:

    Pizza is rarely a bad idea. Especially when using such fresh ingredients and being creative. Loved the pictures.

  12. Soma says:

    This is so my kind of dish and I could have the tomato and the rape all by itself.

  13. seopawan says:

    I think this is Pizza is completely different from the one we eat at PizzaHut Restaurants or other market place. It look more natural and hygienic. Nice snaps and well explained process that anybody can create it at home.

    Thanks!

  14. This pizza is incredibly gorgeous! I’ve made focaccia before; I think pizza might be the next attempt. Yum!

    http://noshesthoughtsreves.blogspot.com/2006/05/focaccia-dail-asperges-fraises-romarin.html

  15. Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  16. Pingback: July 1998. Sesame-Lemon Bread. Rummaging in The Archives | Heat in the Kitchen

  17. Pingback: July, 2002. Schiacciata with Cheese Topping. Diving into the Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  18. Pingback: July 2002. Pizza Dough. Rustling through the Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  19. Pingback: September 2000 and March 2003. Three Recipes for Greek Grilled Cheeses. From The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  20. Pingback: August 2002. Parmesan Toasts. Heaven from The Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  21. Pingback: What I was thinking about in The Kitchen in October, 2007 | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  22. Pingback: Bread to die for – Pane di Prato: A recipe | A Life (Time) of Cooking

  23. Pingback: Monday Morning Vegetarian Inspiration: Breads for the Week | A Life (Time) of Cooking

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

