Gentle Autumn Vegetables in Wine. A Recipe.

Autumn in AdelaideOh how seductive are Autumn mornings. Full of golden light, rayed so jaw-droopingly beautifully through the leaves. Plants in autumn reach up lovingly to the sun, after months of shrinking away from the heat of summer. Long tendrils holding flowers wave in the breezes and welcome your passing smile — they nod knowingly in that gentle breeze. Chives and spring onions are flowering. Geraniums as red as lipstick. Mint and lemon verbena. Bog sage. Curry leaf. Earlier, my Lemongrass flowered — the first time ever!

The gentleness of Autumn is so welcome after the grieving for summer is done.

How fitting then to find a recipe of matching gentleness, a warm salad of wine poached baby veggies, needing nothing else but the magnificent flavours of plants, leaves, wine and the very best of oils. Oh Ottolenghi, you understand Autumn.

Autumn in Adelaide 2

Some notes on the dish

Ottolenghi pairs this dish with a caper mayonnaise. As I don’t use eggs in my cooking, I left out the dressing. I loved the taste of the vegetables unconfused by other tastes. As an afterthought, some capers scattered over the cooked vegetables could be a great addition.

I did add some green peppercorns to the poaching liquid, and a couple of juniper berries. These were in my kitchen at the time and complimented the flavours well. The juniper grounded it a little without overwhelming the flavours (if you add them, use only a couple of berries). And I loved the addition of green peppercorns.

You can be flexible with the vegetable mix used in the dish, but keep away from strong flavours. Hence the use of baby vegetables. In the recipe below I give the fairly standard mix. However, I did add the tiniest of Brussels Sprouts (very hesitantly as the flavours can be strong) — they were Ok as they were very small, but I might not recommend that generally. I did however, add some teeny tomatoes, halved, right at then end of cooking. Gorgeous. Oh, and some halved, small green beans.

I would almost serve this as a separate course, so the gentleness can present itself in all it’s glory. Enjoy!

Poached Baby Vegetables

Poached Baby Vegetables in Wine

Adapted from Ottolenghi’s Plenty
See also: Yotham’s Version
Preparation Time: 20 mins
Cooking Time: 2 hours
Serves: 4 — 6, depending on serving size

Ingredients
these are not exact measurements
200g baby carrots, scraped but leave 2 – 3 cm of the tops
100g baby fennel
1/2 or more bunch fine asparagus
100g baby zucchini
150g baby leeks
4 or 5 baby tomatoes
2 Tblspn chopped dill to serve

Poaching Liquor
600ml White wine, neither too sweet or too dry
200ml good, extra virgin olive oil, just over 2/3 cup
150ml lemon juice, about 1 ave lemon
2 bay leaves
5 green peppercorns, whole (optional, but don’t use black peppercorns or ground pepper)
2 celery sticks, cut into batons
1/2 onion, halved again
1 tspn salt

Method
Wash the veggies but don’t trim them too much. Leave ends, and some of the stalks/leaves. Cut them longways into halves or quarters, depending on size. Aim for similar sized pieces. Thin veggies like asparagus don’t need to be cut.

Place the wine in a wide pan and boil for 2 or 3 minutes.

Add the other poaching liquor ingredients and simmer gently for a minute. Add the harder vegetables first, ie the carrots and fennel. After 3 or 4 minutes, add the other vegetables and continue to simmer for a further 3 – 4 minutes. In the last minute, add the halved tomatoes.

Now the vegetables should be cooked but still crunchy. Using tongs, lift the vegetables from the poaching liquor onto a deep plate. Spoon some liquor around the vegetables. (You can keep the remaining liquor in the fridge or freezer to use again.)

Garnish with some fronds of dill and some prepared capers.

I love to eat this as it is. If you would like an egg free dressing, join me in looking for a tangy, garlicky one. I will let you know if I find one.

Autumn in Adelaide 3

The Salad Compendium


More Cooking, Food and Recipes:

Clare - Click Yellow for Bri Sesame Cucumber Salad Recipe Indian Custard Recipe Home Made Tomato Paste Recipe Butter Glazed Apples Recipe Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Recipe Lotus flowers - 10 pictures meme Tomatoes Stuffed with Rice Recipe Rosamatta Rice Creme Fraiche Recipe Pears and Thick Yoghurt (How to make thick yoghurt) Roasted Rosemary Pears Recipe

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 03 Early Autumn, Asparagus, Carrots, Celery, Cooking the Books, Fennel, French, Leeks, Tomatoes, VEGETARIAN, Zucchini and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Gentle Autumn Vegetables in Wine. A Recipe.

  1. Soma says:

    What is there not to love in this recipe. I can almost taste and bite into them. And a book and some alone time for me on that gorgeous chair.

  2. That’s a really interesting recipe! I never cook with wine (as I never seem to have it around because I don’t drink), but this sounds so flavoursome!

    • Ganga108 says:

      I don’t drink wine, Maria — its not that I dont like it, rather it doesnt like me. However, cooking with it is a different matter. It is quite delish.

  3. Lucy says:

    and i am grieveing for that sunshine so much more this year considering the lack of summer we had…beautiful food. maybe a nice pesto-like dressing with a little thyme in it might be fun? that first photo…lovely.

    • Ganga108 says:

      Aah, Lucy, yes it felt like summer never properly arrived. Already we have heaters on and the heavier doona on the bed. Time for a holiday in Bali, methinks. :))

  4. Srivalli says:

    What a delightful recipe!..I love the serene feeling your pictures reflect!

  5. kathryn says:

    What a lovely recipe Ganga, that poaching liquid sounds delicious. I have to say I’m mildly addicted to bay leaves at the moment. I love your new banner across the top, such gorgeous colours.

    • Ganga108 says:

      Thanks, Kathryn. Yes, I love bay too. Such a wonderful, wintery, earthy taste. I love them combined with juniper berries too, for the same reason.

  6. Harini says:

    Ganga, I love the description in the opening paragraph. Makes me feel nostalgic for the Season gone by! Autumn is my favourite season too. It makes me feel like I am standing on the brink of Spring, especially when I sniff the air. I like the idea of the liquid. I usually toss them in just o/o and herbs but next time I will try your version. And yes I would gladly join you for a herbal tea and some of that platter, on that chair – Oh God! What a glorious vision!

  7. Pingback: June, 2004: Kombu Baked Vegetables. from the Archives. | Heat in The Kitchen

  8. Pingback: Bill’s Spring Vegetable Soup with Winter Vegetables. From The Archives. July, 2002. | Heat in The Kitchen

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

