Not another Pumpkin: A recipe for caramelised roast pumpkin

Pumpkin for Roasting

I don’t want to see another pumpkin recipe. Not another pie or scone or cookie. No more photographs of pumpkins in fields or paddocks. No more lamenting the passing of the pumpkin. I am over pumpkins.

Until, well, there was this lovely butternut pumpkin there, looking so special. You see, in Australia, we are not familiar with the huge variety of pumpkins available elsewhere, so everything is a pumpkin to us. Even squash. I don’t understand the difference really, having only grown up with pumpkins and not squashes. Seeds are similar, they are yellow or orange and they have a tough skin, right? Some skins tougher than others. Our Queensland Blue pumpkin, for example. Need to take an axe to that one.

But the butternut, sweet natured and thin skinned. Easy to deal with. Delicious in taste. My favourite.

So, this one that I mentioned, came home with me and sat on my bench for a week. Then I saw Caramelised Roast Pumpkin. I saw more than that. I saw Caramelised Roast Pumpkin Risotto!!!

But first I had to roast the pumpkin.

Ingredient Notes

Butternut Pumpkin: I make this with butternut, because it is quite sweet and it mashes easily.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve as it is. This is so very very yummy.
  • Make a caramelised roast pumpkin salad.
  • Use in a risotto, mashing it slightly before incorporating into the rice.

Roasted pumpkin

Caramelised Roast Pumpkin

Source : From my old Food_Matters web site
Cuisine: European
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 40 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
1 butternut pumpkin / squash
1 head of garlic
olive oil
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Optional spices and flavourings: cumin, rosemary, bay leaf, oregano, marjoram, cinnamon (small amounts)

method
Garlic TooI am quite rustic in roasting pumpkin. I cut the pumpkin into cooking sized chunks, leaving the skin and seeds on. I think they add more flavour. Sometimes the chunks are quite large, sometimes, if I am going to use the pumpkin in a salad, I might remove the skin and seeds, and cut the pumpkin into 3.5 – 4.5 cm squares.

Place the pumpkin in a roasting pan and drizzle with olive oil. Tuck the garlic in between the pieces of pumpkin and sprinkle salt and black pepper over the top of the pumpkin and garlic.

Add any optional flavourings if you are using them – stalks of rosemary, oregano or marjoram, some cumin seed, a few bayleaves tucked amongst the pumpkin. Not necessary. Lovely if you have them.

Roast in a 250 degree Celsius oven for 30 – 40 minutes, until it has a lovely caramelised brown surface.

If you have left the seeds in, you can easily remove them with a spoon. For use as a side dish, I serve with the skin on. For risottos I scrape the flesh from the skin and into the risotto. For chunks of pumpkin, the skin will pull off easily.

Serve immediately, or serve at room temperature, or use in salads or risottos.

Yum!

Enjoy!

Namaskaram.

From The Pumpkin Series


More Food, Cooking and Recipes:

Risotto! Dried Capsicums Beans Galore A Tomato Feast Eggplant and Miso Crimson Beetroot and Berlotti Bean Fry Risotto! Chickpea in all its glory Chat Masala Chickpea Chat This Week Dukkah Eggplant Curry Peppers and Salad Baked Apples Simple Tomato Salad - YUM

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.
This entry was posted in 12 Early Summer, French, Pumpkin, Spices and Herbs, VEGETARIAN and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Not another Pumpkin: A recipe for caramelised roast pumpkin

  1. kathryn says:

    I always find it interesting reading about pumpkin and squash on US blogs. There’s so much variety, and many have such wonderfully strange names. For a girl originally from the UK who’d never eaten pumpkin until she arrived in Australia at 18, it makes for fascinating reading.

    My favourite is Kent and I love it roasted with coriander and fennel seeds and dried oregano. I have been known to eat this straight from the pan. Any survivors are added to salads and risottos. Roasted pumpkin also makes the best soup!

  2. bee says:

    have you tried this? steam/cook the butternut squash. blend it to a smoothie with milk, sugar, and some almonds. chill and enjoy. it is a complete, delicious meal.

  3. mansi says:

    Yeah, I’m not a pumpkin fan either, but I tasted this delicious pumpkin bisque one day and just had to make my own Roasted Pumpkin and Onion Bisque, and I have to tell you, roasted pumpkin tastes amazing!

  4. RedChillies says:

    Beautiful pictures. I have never tried roasting pumpkin, in fact any veggies for that matter. Gotta try

  5. Kimberley says:

    ok – I can’t wait for the Holidays to be done with so i can try this – I love risotto and I love squash. Right now I’m running around doing holiday stuff and lovin’ it!

  6. Cynthia says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such an appetizing picture of roast pumpkin.

  7. VegeYum says:

    Hi everyone, I have been playing with my family this week, so am very late in catching up on comments.

    kathryn, yes, I am with you regarding US pumpkins. I just can’t imagine so many varieties.
    bee, I am going to try that one day soon – after the holidays. It sounds amazing.
    mansi, oh yes it does! Right now, I have two more pumpkins sitting on my counter, ready to be roasted.
    Thanks, RedChillies. Hope you get to try. It is so simple.
    Kimberly, let me know how it turns out.
    Cynthia, thanks. funny how pics can make us hungry just looking at them.

  8. Janet Ching says:

    I am just about to put the pumpkin in the oven. I have a question. What do you do with the garlic afterwards?

    Hi Janet, you can use the garlic in whatever dish you are making. If you leave the skin on the garlic when you are cooking it, just squeeze the soft garlic clove out of the skin. I comes out like toothpaste out of a tube!

  9. jess says:

    Heya!
    I’m fourteen and was looking for a recipe to cook for mum and I came across this one. I love cooking; the best part being watching the people you serve it to loving it!
    I tried this recipe and loved it. So did mum.
    Thankyou heaps for such a simple, fantastic recipe!

  10. jo says:

    The roasted butternut squash is so outraegously delicious and simple to prepare. I did sprinkle some mexican chili powder on top in addition to salt and black pepper. I had to walk out the kitchen so I wouldn’t eat more before dinner.

    Thank you

  11. Pearl Dixon says:

    Wonderful recipe ideals!

  12. G'wyla says:

    I’ve been wanting to try new things with pumpkins and came across this recipe. Its in the oven as I type this and so far it smells great! I’m looking forward to how it tastes. I ended up using oregano, marjoram, and some cinnamon. It is to be my contribution to a potluck tonight…

    Thanks for the Idea!!

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

