Warm Beetroot and Carrot Salad with Indian Spices | Beetroot Bhajji

A delightful salad with an Indian flavour profile

Beetroot Salad

I have been loving raw beetroot salad recently. Take a young beetroot and a carrot. Grate both. Drizzle with olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. You can add some ginger if you want. It is wonderful, healthy and very “eliminating” too, if you know what I mean.

And then I came across an Indian version of this salad. Mustard seed, curry leaf, urad dal, cumin seed.

Are you looking for more beetroot recipes? Try Sweet Beetroot Halwa, Beetroot Fry and Baked Beetroot. All of our Beetroot recipes are here and here. Our Indian recipes are here and here. Or find some inspiration in our Summer collection here and here.

Beetroot Salad

Recipe Notes

Beetroot can be quite juicy, and the juice can stain. Don’t wear white while making this, and do wear an apron if you have one. Wash your chopping board immediately after grating the beet or cooking the dish, so that it does not stain.

To remove any remaining stain on a wooden chopping board, cut a lemon in half, sprinkle the stain with some salt, and rub with the cut half of the lemon. Also, just squeezing some lemon juice onto the stain and leaving for half an hour will get rid of the stain.

Beetroot and Carrot Raw Salad

Cuisine: Indian
Prep time: 7 mins
Cooking time: 5 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
6 – 8 young small beetroot (red beet), grated into matchstick-like pieces
3 – 4 carrots, grated into matchstick-like pieces (optional)
1 Tblspn Ghee
1 tspn black mustard seeds
1 tspn urad dal (white, not black)
1 tspn cumin seeds
0.5 tspn asafoetida
2 green chilli, or to suit your taste, chopped
curry leaves
juice of 0.5 lemon
green coriander (cilantro), chopped
salt

method
Heat the ghee in a frying pan. Add the mustard seeds and urad dal. Allow the mustard seeds to pop. As the popping begins to subside, add the asafoetida, chillies, cumin seed and curry leaves.

After 30 seconds or so, add the shredded beetroot, carrot and lemon juice. Stir to mix through the spices and ghee. Cover and allow to cook for about 3 or 4 minutes. The dish should be very raw still, little more than warmed through.

Add salt to taste, and mix through the coriander. Serve in a lovely serving dish that shows off the colour of this wonderful salad.

If you want, you can add a little shredded coconut. Another option is to stir through some yoghurt.

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

28 thoughts on “Warm Beetroot and Carrot Salad with Indian Spices | Beetroot Bhajji”

  1. I have to be honest – I’m not a big fan of beets. However, this recipe looks & sounds so good that I might have to give it a try!

    At least I know that my beet-loving bf will eat the left-overs (if there are any)!

    Thanks!

    Hi jd, I think you would like it. My first introduction to raw beets was an Indian lady whose husband brought her in her lunch when she was running courses. It included perfect, whole, peeled, home grown raw beets. They were delicious! Quite a different taste to cooked beets.

    Like

  2. Beautiful salad. I’m a huge beetroot fan. I make a very similar salad with just raw carrot – never thought to use beetroot as well. Yum.

    Hi kathryn, I love the combination of beet and carrot. Be sure to use the younger, smaller beets, though. Oh, and watch the beets, they can stain your cutting board. The other day I was making this dish for my parents, and the beets were really juicy. As I was grating them, the juice was flying everywhere. Lesson: don’t wear white and do wear an apron!

    Like

  3. Thats the way I like it too. I usually combine beets with grated carrots too.

    Hi Suganya, congratulations on your first blog birthday! Your pics are lovely.

    Isn’t the combo of beets and carrots divine!

    Like

  4. hi
    Thanks for trying my beetroot bhaji
    your version is great too!!!

    Hi mahek, I love this and have made it twice already. Thanks for your inspiration.

    Like

  5. Savory is the only way I like beets. I love this recipe and have made something similar, beetroot kofta. Have you ever tried yellow beets? They are just as colorful, but they don’t have a strong stain…unless you add turmeric to them. ; )

    Thanks for joining WHB!

    I haven’t tried yellow beets – they are nowhere to be seen here. But I will keep looking. Looking forward to the WHB roundup.

    Like

  6. I keep hearing about raw beets and how tasty they are, and this certainly does sound good. I need to try them! (And good advice about not wearing white!)

    I must add pomegranate to the list of coloured food – after “shelling” one the other day….”

    Like

  7. This looks really good. I am looking for other variations of cooking beetroots, my neighbour has given us some self grown ones.

    Like

  8. I love to cook seasonally and absolutely love the sweet beets and carrots that show up in the farmer’s markets in winter – thanks for the recipe!

    Like

  9. Nice Recipe,

    I just read and article of growing Beetroot so now I know what to make once I have grown it.

    Regards,
    Jim

    Like

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

