Mint Paneer

Paneer in a lovely mint sauce

Mint Paneer Recipe

Mint Paneer is a variation on Palak Paneer, where the gravy is made from mint leaves rather than spinach. The paneer adapts remarkably well, being an adopter of flavours rather than a determiner of flavours.

You might like to browse our other Paneer recipes here. Or you might like our Indian recipes here and here. Be inspired by our easy Autumn recipes here and here.

Horsnell Gully and Mint Paneer Recipe

Of course, use your home made paneer. Or failing that, you can buy it even in our local supermarket these days. Times have changed – a year or two ago I had to take a trip across town to get paneer from an Indian grocery.

Mint Paneer RecipeMint Paneer

Cuisine: Indian
Prep time: 10 mins
Cooking time: 10 mins
Serves: 2 – 4 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
250g paneer cut into cubes
0.5 cup mint, chopped
1 – 2 green chillies, depending on your palate
salt to taste
0.5 tspn cumin seeds
4 green cardamom pods
0.5 tspn Garam Masala
0.25 tspn red chilli powder (or less, depending on your palate)
2 Tblspns cream
1 Tblspn ghee

method
Wash and combine mint leaves, green chillies, and cardamoms and grind in a blender.

Heat the ghee in a pan and saute the cumin seeds until fragrant. Add the mint paste and fry for a minute or two. If there is water in the paste, allow the paste to become almost dry, but not brown.

Turn the heat down, as cream may curdle if it is boiled. Add salt, garam masala, red chilli powder, cream and paneer cubes. Stir well, and cook for 3 – 4 minutes. Serve hot or warm.

recipe notes
I used creme fraiche (Katte Malai) instead of cream. It can tolerate heat and also adds a nice sour note to the dish. It was perfect.

Mint Paneer Recipe

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

13 thoughts on “Mint Paneer”

  1. Vegeyum, thank you for these beautiful holiday posts. I’ve loved the time you’ve taken to stop, contemplate and talk about your life in a fuller sense. And the recipes at the end of each have also been wonderful.

    But enjoy the rest of your holiday. No matter how much you love your blog, there is a time to move away from it. A time to pursue other ventures, plans and projects.

    Thank you so much Kathryn. My contemplation won’t stop, and hopefully it will get deeper. My cooking won’t stop either. But I want to do it more in silence for the second week.

    It has been wonderful to write this week and even more wonderful that the writing (and photographing) has been supported.

    Like

  2. feeling bad tht ur holiday posts r getin over..as always nice pics,,,and delicious recipe…will bewaiting for ur post…:-)

    Oh my regular posts will continue. Thanks for being around for my holiday ones….

    Like

  3. I have really enjoyed these posts! I understand what you say about writing…sometimes it is easy and other times it is not…enjoy the rest of your holiday!🙂

    Thank you Ginny. I hope over time to post some more like this, but we will see how busy life gets again…

    Like

  4. Bhoooo…its coming to end…I enjoyed these so much J…wish you would do these atleast once a week…as usual your pictures are breathtaking…

    that mint paneer looks awesome!..will make it sometime..thanks, my friend and come back with more!

    Oh Srivalli, don’t feel sad. I am glad that you enjoyed them. I will try to do them more often, but being busy and this type of introspection are hard to combine. Your comments keep me going, and make my day, truly. Thank you so much.

    Like

  5. i’ve loved coming here and listening to your thoughts. its made me be a little more introspective as well.

    Blogging in the Recipe Marathon that I’ve been a part of, has required me to do so everyday. In the beginning I was complaining like crazy and now find its a little time I take for myself and it gives me a nice break in the day.

    I hope to see you continue blogging often if not everyday.

    Hi arundathi. Thank you so much. Introspective is good as long as it does not degenerate into self indulgence or self centredness. It is a discipline to blog every day, isn’t it. I am missing it now.

    Like

  6. Loved this post, very relaxing; its good to be away from the world and experience life in solitude, at least for a while….thanks for the lovely pics, they sure made my day!

    Hi Mansi, thanks – the bush around here is so good and so close to the city, really. It was a perfect day for walking.

    Like

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

