Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Molasses

Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Recipe

In this Indian Summer weather,some dried tomatoes with pomegranate molasses / syrup, seems perfect, especially if eaten with thick thick yoghurt.  Also perfect but a little different are dried tomatoes with sumac. Drying tomatoes concentrates the sugars, and this makes them a perfect foil for pomegranate or sumac.

You might like to also make Haloumi Pizza with Sun Dried Tomatoes, Oven Dried Tomatoes with Sumac, and Du Puy Lentils with Oven Dried Tomatoes. All of our Middle Eastern recipes are here and here, and the Tomato recipes here and here.  Find inspiration in the Autumn recipes here and here.

Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Recipe

Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate

Cuisine: Turkish
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 5 hours or more
Makes:500g, or double the recipe for a kilo of dried tomatoes

ingredients
1kg small roma or vine-ripened tomatoes
50ml olive oil
1 Tblspn pomegranate molasses
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

method
Set the oven to 50C.

Cut the tomatoes in half, either across the fruit or lengthwise. Place them in a shallow baking dish.

Whisk the oils and pomegranate molasses together and lightly brush each tomato with the mixture. Sprinkle each tomato with pepper and salt.

Place in the oven and bake for 5 hours or more, until the tomatoes have shrunk and shrivelled. Remove from the oven and cool.

The tomatoes will last 10 – 14 days if kept covered in the fridge.
Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Recipe

 

 

 

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

20 thoughts on “Semi Dried Tomatoes with Pomegranate Molasses”

  1. This sounds delicious. I gave the Turquoise Malouf book to a friend for Xmas but haven’t looked at it properly myself. I might just have to lash out. I have been on the hunt for pomegranate molasses myself you will see in my blog.

    Oh,lucky friend. You MUST get yourself a copy. It is a wonderful book.

    Like

  2. that sounds amazing. hmm with the real indian summer here, i might even be able to do “sun”dried rather than in the oven.

    Thanks.

    WOW. Real sundried tomatoes …. how novel.🙂

    Like

  3. I might give it a g with ready sun dried tomatoes. But the pomegranate will be tough to get hold of here. Enjoy your Indian summer!

    Great. Can’t get pomegranate molasses in London? I am sure you can… what about petticoat lane? (where the Indian/Pakistani/Bangladeshi shops are – have I got the right area?)

    Like

  4. I just love the flavour sun-dried tomatoes lends a dish..I make mine minus the pomes..sounds nice though

    They do, don’t they. I also sometimes use sumac. That gives it a nice flavour too.

    Like

  5. Firstly ,love the pictures ! The semi dried tomatoes look so enticing. I must try this pom molasses !

    Thanks, Dee. They were D E L I S H.

    Like

  6. I often make dried tomatoes, but have never thought of pairing them with pomegranate syrup … thanks for sharing

    Joanna

    Hi Joanna, its a nice pairing. Hope you get to try it.

    Like

  7. Wow. pomegranate and tomatoes. I can’t even imagine what that tastes like. Don’t suppose you can email me one?
    I have never heard of Kewra before but have just picked up Pom Syrup (or was it Molasses?) I always wondered what the difference was.
    I also just got some Sumac for the 1st time – yes, there is a new Persian market in town and I am sooo excited.
    Your entry looks like a great summer nibbly, thanks!

    Hi Natashya, glad you left me a comment, thanks. Certainly I will email one – it is on its way. Have fun with the Pom Syrup, and with Sumac. Now that is amazing stuff. An new Persian market? Lucky you.

    Like

  8. Thanks for this new (to me) idea for flavor cominations. The photos in your blog are amazing.

    Hi Jude, thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I really appreciate that you have taken the time. Hope you get to try this.

    Like

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

