Cooking in Kovalam | Kerala, India

An essay in pictures

Kerala Kitchen

Okra - Cooking in Kerala

Spices - Cooking in Kerala

Kovalam Chef - Cooking in Kerala

Kovalam Chef - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

Food - Cooking in Kerala

 

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

37 thoughts on “Cooking in Kovalam | Kerala, India”

  1. this is a great photo essay. i love the intense concentration on the chef’s face.

    thanks, dear bee. He is so gorgeous isn’t he. AND cooks with a lot of dedication. I was so lucky to have this cooking experience.

    Like

  2. Pictures can speak volumes!
    That particular okra dish is one of my favourites, just that I slice the okra thinner.

    and they are such amazing okra. I can’t buy them like that here…

    Like

  3. whew!! yes yes yay ya yay wow!

    i feel i am home, in the arms of lovers.. thank you a thousand times!

    the life (time) of food and cooking..

    rock on! i will check in every week..

    the internet is, truly, amazing

    hugs and kisses..

    Like

  4. Wow, looks delicious. Normally you just hear about how beautiful Kerala is, who knew it was delicious as well. Look forward to catching up on all these old posts! Have you made it to Thailand yet for some cooking? Chiang Mai has some amazing courses where you even hoof it out to the country side to meet elephants and pick your own produce.

    -Tony

    Like

  5. Ofcourse, kerala offers some amazing and tasty food. That is why Kerala’s favourite “puttu and kadala curry” was voted the best food in the world by Travel and Leisure magazine. My favourites are kappa, paalappam, and one made with jackfruit (before it becomes sweet and I cant remember the name). But personally, i feel that some north Indian dishes also taste really great.

    Like

  6. Mmm! I loved the food in South India! I remember the first time I went I was fairly young/inexperienced. This one night I was trying to eat dinner in this little tiny village in the middle of nowhere. It seemed like half the village showed up to watch me drop rice on myself, the floor, and everywhere else but my mouth. I tried to just smile and pretend not to notice as this giant circle of people around me stared and pointed, unabashedly laughing at me trying to eat with my hands. It was all good natured but embaressing anyway! I had a banana leaf plate piled with rice and six or eight little things of liquidy stuff–at first I didn’t know what to do with it!

    Like

  7. This blog is wonderful. I love love LOVE the press, and I love seeing what you’re experiencing! Great work..
    I will bookmark this page.
    Thanks for this.

    Like

  8. I just ate and am full to the brim, but these pics sparked my appetite all over again. I’ve always heard that Indian cuisine is founded on a “spirituality” if you will, in which all the various exotic spices and herbs are specifically used to trigger a number of taste sensations. Apparently, it’s working on me!

    Like

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

