Parsnip and Carrot Mash

A quick, wintery mash

Parsnip and Carrot Mash Recipe

Parsnips at this time of the year are beautiful, soft and tender (see the soup made yesterday). This is a great mash using both parsnips and carrots.

Parsnips cook quicker than the more dense carrots, so you can either add the parsnips a little time after the carrots, or, like me, love the texture of mashed parsnips with partly mashed carrots.

You might also want to try Broad Bean and Butter Bean Mash. Browse our parsnip recipes here and here, and the  carrot recipes here and here. Be inspired by our Winter recipes here and here.

Parsnip and Carrot Mash

It is so very easy. Take about 2 or 3 good sized carrots and the same number of good sized parsnips. If they are small, use more. Peel and slice them, and steam or boil them together until cooked. Mash them together with a large piece of butter, about 1 – 1.5 Tblspns. Add salt and pepper and serve. Delicious.


Save

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

21 thoughts on “Parsnip and Carrot Mash”

  1. You know, I have not cooked much at all with parsnips. I used them in a root vegetable cobbler once, but that’s about it. I wonder if they’re more popular overseas than here in the U.S. You have definitely piqued my interest with your last two posts. I may have to seek some out at the grocery store next time I’m there.

    Maybe this winter you can look for good, fleshy ones and try them again. They are an English veggie, really, and do well in cold weather. Keep a look out and maybe they will come your way.

    Like

  2. Hello, Thanks for visiting and your wishes for my mom. This is my first visit to your blog. I went through the Ghee-Whiz post. Its very descriptive and so useful! Look forward to try many recipes from here. Thanks.

    I am glad that you came by. I look forward to your next visit.

    Like

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

