Peperoni in Padella | Red Peppers and Olive Oil Salad

A simple dish with sweetness of red capsicums for the heat of summer

Peppers in Oil | Heat in The Kitchen | Italian Recipes | Vegetarian

On hot days you need quick and easy food that is light and cooling. Make some Red Peppers in Oil and then go to the beach.

You will also enjoy Capsicum with Feta and Kidney Beans, Grilled and Oiled Eggplants and Peppers, and Sweet Red Pepper Salads. Perhaps even try drying capsicums for winter snacks. All Capsicum recipes are here and here, and Salads here and here. Our Italian recipes are here and here. Find inspiration in our Summer recipes here and here.

Peperoni in Padella (Peppers in Oil) | Italian | A Life Time of Cooking

You can also cooked them to the other side of coloured, peel the capsicums and then deglazed with red wine vinegar. They may look slightly on the darker side of red, however the taste is phenomenal.

Peppers in Oil | Heat in The Kitchen | Italian Recipes | Vegetarian

Peperoni in Padella (Peppers in Oil)

Source : inspired by River Cafe Cookbook 2
Cuisine: Italian
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 35 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
8 large ripe bright red peppers
4 Tblspn Olive Oil
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 – 3 Tblspn herb wine vinegar or excellent quality red or white wine vinegar

method
Wash and dry the peppers. Cut them into halves and remove all seeds and the white membrane on the inside of the peppers. Cut in halves again. You may need to cut them again, depending on the size of the peppers. I usually use the natural segments of the peppers as a guide to where I should cut.

Using a large frying pan or low-sided large saucepan with a lid, heat half the olive oil and place some pepper pieces in one layer. Cook over a medium heat with the lid on, turning the pieces as they begin to colour and become soft. Remove when cooked with a slotted spoon and keep warm.

Repeat with a second batch of peppers and continue until you have cooked them all. Use extra oil if it is needed.

Drain off the oil and keep it in the fridge for use in salads and other dishes to add a nice red pepper flavour.

Return all of the peppers to the pan, reheat together and season with salt and pepper. Deglaze the peppers with the vinegar.

Eat hot or cold. They make a perfect addition to the Cucumber Salad with Poppy Seeds, with some red lentil and carrot patties.

peppers

 

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

19 thoughts on “Peperoni in Padella | Red Peppers and Olive Oil Salad”

  1. And to you! I am so jealous. It’s cold, grey, rainy and windy here in London.

    Freezing in Europe, boiling in Australia! We need to moderate this some how…

    Like

  2. Wow, I wonder how 40 degree celcius would feel like, it’s below zero here in Basel, Switzerland. I have an excolleague moved to Adelaide and said she keeps sweating at 44 degree. Best to go to the beach to enjoy the breeze and water. I have always wanted to make peppers in oil as my Turkish friend made me one with eggplants as well for my birthday party but I never get round to try it. You remind me to try it one day.

    Hi Janet, yes when I worked in France and it was -9C and Adelaide was over 40C, I found it really hard to remember what high heat felt like! Its a strange thing.

    Like

  3. Eek! I am on the other hand not jealous. I have a friend in Melbourne who’s also boiling, and at 38C in Manila (though with 100% humidity), I don’t feel like moving a muscle!

    Like

  4. My God! That’s like being in an oven.
    Any temperature that could do that to the the railway lines…………..
    I’m lucky to be enjoying cool misty mornings and pleasant sunny days.

    I thought that only the desert got this hot in January. Even my summers don’t get this bad, though it can be pretty hot in some parts of India.

    And you actually found the energy to cook up something. Looks delicious.

    Its hot enough to cook a slow roasted chilli pot in the sun, I swear. The hot weather continues…

    Like

  5. You should have made a sorbet instead!

    You are so right! I will get to it before the next heatwave hits. Today is our first day below 35C for over 2 weeks (8 Jan).

    Like

  6. Living in a hot climate is why much of my cooking ends up on the stove top instead of in the heat-generating oven. Your blog is beautiful – I could look and read about the food all day.

    Thanks, Devorah. I appreciate your comment. Yes, I am primarily a stove top cook as well.

    Like

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

