Yoghurt, Feta and Mustard Dip

Take some yoghurt, feta and mustard and you have a dip for a Summery day.

Yogurt and Feta Dip

Gathering the thick thick yoghurt, some home made mustard, a smidgen of honey, and a copy of Turquoise, Greg Malouf’s mustardy creation was manifested. It can be a dip, sauce or dressing and the combination of flavours is quite synergistic – beyond what you might expect.

You might like to try other Yoghurt dishes here and here, and other Dips here and here. All of our Turquoise dishes are here. Be inspired by our Spring recipes here and here.

Yogurt and Feta Dip

Let me just say that the dip disappeared exceedingly fast.

Thick Thick Yoghurt, Feta, Mustard and Honey dip.

Source : inspired by Turquoise
Cuisine: Turkish-style
Prep time: 5 mins
Cooking time: 0 mins
Serves: 4 – 6 people, depending how you use it

ingredients
220g feta cheese (Turquoise uses sheep’s feta)
150g thick thick yoghurt (read here if you are unfamiliar with thick yoghurt)
1 large tspn Dijon mustard
0.5 – 1 tspn mild honey

method
Soak the feta in cold water for about 10 minutes to remove excess salt, changing the water twice.  Dry it with a teatowel or paper towel.

Use a food processor, blender or using an immersion blender. Crumble the feta and mix with the other ingredients. Blend until very smooth and creamy. Cover and chill until ready to eat. It will keep for up to a week in the fridge.

Use as a dip, dressing or sauce e.g. over steamed or roasted veggies. Enjoy!

Yoghurt and Fetta
With dried herbs

 

browse some ways with Yoghurt

 

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

26 thoughts on “Yoghurt, Feta and Mustard Dip”

  1. Gosh this looks good Ganga. In that bottom photo, what’s the herb (?) you’ve sprinkled on top? Lovely idea anyway, particularly like the thought of pouring over steamed veg.

    And makes me think I need to pick up Turquoise again and have another good look through.

    Like

    1. Glad you like it Kathryn. I thought you might!🙂 The herb is just a pot of dried herbs that I keep on my kitchen bench. Anything that lasts long enough to dry goes in there – curry leaves, rosemary, mint (if it dries Ok), sage, lavender, lemon verbena, lemon grass, ….. anything goes into the mortar, gets ground and goes into my herb pot. (I have a similar pot for spices and add the last bits of my spices when I buy a new lot)

      Like

  2. Feta cheese may be difficult to get in India, anyway keeping the recipe in my favorite folder in case I get my hands on it (feta cheese)some day. Looks interesting and tasty to try out.

    Like

  3. Ganga, I made this sauce today, and it really is so good! So good, that I have a teeny problem – I cannot figure out what it would go well with. I tried it with roasted carrots, and also with some whole wheat crackers, but it was like putting two strong personalities together – they overpowered each other.

    Do you have any suggestions or favorites that work best with the sauce?

    Like

    1. Hi ya, I am glad that you like it. Yes, the mustard gives it a tang indeed. It would be great over green salads, drizzled into wraps with more salad based ingredients.

      I think it needs veggies that are less strong tasting. I think baked potatoes would be great! Maybe over roasted and mashed sweet potato. Simple steamed veggie mix with potatoes.

      You didnt like it with crackers? I eat it mostly as a dip/spread. If it is too strong, try adjusting the mustard down a little. Dijon should be a fairly mild mustard – if yours is stronger, start with a little and add until your desired taste is reached.

      Like

Welcome! I hope you are enjoying what you see here. Thank you so much for your comment and your thoughts.

